TTKA Karting @ ARC - 6th May 2007
Photography by Devi Nath Article by Venus Miller
After the disappointment of canceling the April 14th race meet, drivers came out hungry for victory. Every meeting gets more and more exciting and our numbers continue to grow. Just when we thought the Shifter Class would cease to exist, out came the Mohammed brothers (Marc and Richard) and the man himself, Grudge (Rajesh Haradan) they were joined by Gerard Carrington who again raced in both the Shifter and Rotax Masters classes. On the side lines was John Tannous who promised to be out for the next race meet. Even Ryan Garcia was there looking on, maybe with some encouragement from his adoring fans he’ll be back out on track to make me … oops, I mean make everyone smile.
The 100cc Class saw the introduction of 3 new drivers, Ricardo Aguilera, Jonathan Mc Kenzie and Kimberly Mc Kenzie who were well supported by their rally ace father Barry Mc Kenzie. We also saw the return of Rajiv Sant bringing the total number of drivers in the class to 8. This class proved quite entertaining with the lead changing many times. I was particularly impressed with young Kimberly who was actually holding off her competitors before her spin on the top corner and unfortunately had to pull out of the race after. Brittany Mohammed continues to improve and had at least one competitor, who shall remain nameless, struggling to get by her – right Brent?
Now on to the Cadet Class. Imagine we had 5 adrenaline pumped youths ranging in age from 7 to 10 all vying for top spot. So hungry were they for victory that the race began from the pit exit with one youngster making daring passes to get to the front of the pack. Officials had their hands full trying to get them to stop, to allow for proper positioning and a good start to the race. I overheard one daddy telling his son Ty “When yuh get out there just press gas.” Hmmm, I wonder who that could’ve been … anyone you know Gerard? All in all Bridgette Singh, Ty Carrington, Che Carrington, Amir Madan and Daniel Marquis had fun and entertained the crowd with their driving skills.
Now on to the biggie, yes the Rotax class has proven to be the most thrilling class of them all. So large is the grid now that we no longer have to combine International, Junior and Masters. The Masters class can now boast of 9 competitors. Here we saw Martin Abraham and Gordon Rooks (Mr. Tweety himself) testing their skills against the others. It was great too seeing Aslem Ali in position #1 on the podium at the end of the day.
The lone Junior competitor has now moved up with the ‘big guns’ with all of approximately 95lbs of dead weight on his kart … poor fellah. It was a baptism of fire as Brandon Steele struggled on the day with numerous problems, but fighting all the way. Ryan Peyrau also had an off day, but I’m sure he’ll be back fighting next at the next meet, same is true I am sure for new comer Gerald Aboud who also had a rough day. As usual the action was among Marc Gill, David Coelho, Shahinder Singh, Ravi Singh and returning to the scene was Gregory De Verteuil to steal the overall win on the day. Fans, I am telling you … keep an eye on Nicholas Narinesingh, ‘de man just lurking in de shadows and pouncing on people’ he is improving from race meet to race meet.
My favorite and I think the favorite of the day of everyone who was at the track would be the last race where Shahinder Singh made up for all of his mishaps for the year by skillfully maneuvering the course and patiently waiting to make, what he made look like effortless passes, to win the last race of the day. Unfortunately though, one of the weights flew off of his kart causing him to come in underweight at the scale which forced a disqualification. However spectators, family members and drivers all could not deny his prowess as EVERYONE cheered and congratulated him on his superb driving … you made me proud … oops did I do that again!?! I mean you made your family proud, especially your grandpappy – Doc.
So all you slackers (said with only love) who find it hard to make your way to the track on a Sunday afternoon, you will continue to miss out on the fun, unless of course you make the effort, which will be well rewarded. See you on June 3rd!!!!
Page 1 of 6
|