Sunday, May 19th, 2013

Arima Grand Prix 2011 – April 24th – CANCELLED!

Posted By: Duane 3NE 2NR10/04/11No Comments;
Tags:Photographers: Duane 3NE 2NR
Categories: Circuit Racing, Event Coverage  Views: 1,644

Arima Grand Prix 2011 – April 24th – CANCELLED!

THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELLED
Please click here for further information

A Media Conference was held on Tuesday 5th April 2011 to announce the staging of the Arima Grand Prix, carded for Sunday 24th April 2011. This is the Brainchild of the Hon. Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, and M.P. for Dabadie / O’Meara, the Hon. Anil Roberts. And this will be staged in and around the Larry Gomes Stadium, Arima. The Event Chairman, Jameer Ali, has been able to pull together a cross-section of Motor Sport lovers, with the Event being coordinated by the MotorSport Association of Trinidad and Tobago (MATT).

Arima Grand Prix 2011 Logo

The Management Committee members of the various Motor Sport affiliates of MATT will all be playing an active part in ensuring the success of the Event. Racing will see Circuit Racing Cars, Karts, Rally Cars, Moto Cross and Drag Racing, with a few specially invited drivers also coming along to enhance the Event.

The intention is to bring Motor Sport to the doorstep of the people of Arima and environs. And honoured guests are the schools with special children in the area. It is expected that racing will be run off between 11:00 am and 4:30 pm. And then the fun continues with live performances by the Malabar R.C. School Steelband, The Rock Band MAYARO, from Vistabella, and now coming up to Arima!  And there will also be other top performers who will be revealed on the day of the Event.

Safety will be uppermost in the minds of the organizers, with all members of the public being accommodated on the inside of the Stadium, and they will also be kept at least 15 feet away from the fence. The entire course will see barriers being placed along the centre median.

With the Pit area for all competing Cars and Bikes being accommodated in the Car Park on the Western side of the Stadium, space is limited and so will be the number of competitors from each discipline.

Official Sponsors for the Arima Grand Prix 2011 are: ERLs Caribbean Ltd, Subway, LubeTech  / Total Lubricants, Castrol, NP Marketing Co. Ltd., King Kool Ltd., Blue Mountain Water, Cell Plus Ltd., Brava International, Grands Bay Paper Products Ltd, TriniTuner.com and Zorce Racing Magazine.

Below are some photos from a practice event held in March 2011.

136 Responses to “Arima Grand Prix 2011 – April 24th – CANCELLED!”

1. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

mazdamaniac wrote:
    Hi Folks,

The Arima Grand Prix carded for tomorrow has been cancelled. Further information will be posted as soon as relevant facts are confirmed. So far it appears that the police service has withdrawn their approval at the eleventh hour for the event.

any reason why the decided to?

2. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

yup….confirmed…event cancelled, i believe it was something to do with the security issues that led to the issue. sighs….would have been epic

3. User avatar

Rensh

Apr 23rd, 2011

Just great! There goes my Sunday. Anybody have anything for me to shoot orr? :/

4. User avatar

professor

Apr 23rd, 2011

Don’t let this die a silent death. We who have cars that are street legal, should still go there for around 1100 and drive slowly around the area, as a form of protest over the sudden cancellation.
    Any one else agree?

5. User avatar

Kiro_lee

Apr 23rd, 2011

steups, good thing i check here first, i was now going to call my uncle to go.

6. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

professor wrote:
    Don’t let this die a silent death. We who have cars that are street legal, should still go there for around 1100 and drive slowly around the area, as a form of protest over the sudden cancellation.
    Any one else agree?

Without facts and good reason I dont agree.. Just sayin

7. User avatar

NarendZORCE

Apr 23rd, 2011

AGP EVENT HAS BEEN OFFICIALLY CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. POLICE AUTHORITIES HAVE WITHDRAWN THEIR APPROVALS AT THE LAST MINUTE. COMMEMORATIVE BOOKLETS WILL BE GIVEN OUT AT THE VENUE FREE OF CHARGE ALONG WITH FREE ONE BACK ISSUE OF ZORCE MAGAZINE WHILE STOCKS LAST.

The event may be on again in 3 weeks once the event is re-approved. Again this cancellation was due to last minute intervention. All approvals were granted prior to the event launch.

*********** sorry for any inconvenience caused, come get your freebies!!! *********

8. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

yup its official event cancelled due to police withdrawing their agreement for the event on sunday

9. User avatar

Aqeeb

Apr 23rd, 2011

The event was cancelled due to certain "organisations" who went to the police comissioner, however the organisers are seeking a hearing with the mayor an a new date will be announced shortly…

10. User avatar

lighthammer

Apr 23rd, 2011

sonofabeetch….
    wtf am i gonna do tomorrow now???

*sigh*.

11. User avatar

pablo_tt

Apr 23rd, 2011

And y’all wonder why we ent have a race track in Trinidad yet right?

12. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

like allyuh fraid to call name

TTASA sent a letter to the police

ask link

13. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

:drama:

14. User avatar

Porn Star

Apr 23rd, 2011

Link, you responsible?

15. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

Enter whole thread he asking why the NSO hasn’t sanctioned
    and between themselves emails were circulating

16. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

if it does happen on the 15th May or thereafter…. ah comin! (God willing)
    Sad that the agendas of some may have cause the cancellation of an event. Why can’t some just be happy for the greater good? anyway. Let’s hope it can happen again at a later date

17. User avatar

NXTREME

Apr 23rd, 2011

sorry for those guys who i know spent big money tuning for the event…

18. User avatar

SUN219

Apr 23rd, 2011

well i’ll take a shot at it SR…Mr & Mrs TTASA and their Links….or Mr & Mrs Ali together with Mr Sampath!!!????

19. User avatar

SUN219

Apr 23rd, 2011

BTW…I was wondering what would have been the PUNISHMENT for the TTASA members who would have participated in this event.

20. User avatar

link

Apr 23rd, 2011

SR wrote:

ask link

:shock: :shock:

21. User avatar

Lucian-2nr

Apr 23rd, 2011

link wrote:
    SR wrote:

ask link

now I know u have court clothes

22. User avatar

Lucian-2nr

Apr 23rd, 2011

link wrote:
    SR wrote:

ask link

Quick edit!! wow…. fast!

23. User avatar

link

Apr 23rd, 2011

SUN219 wrote:
    well i’ll take a shot at it SR…Mr & Mrs TTASA and their Links….or Mr & Mrs Ali together with Mr Sampath!!!????

24. User avatar

AutoSport

Apr 23rd, 2011

Why some giving so much power to the powerless.

25. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

i have seen the entire email trail leading up to this

hence my OPINION

26. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

oh well there goes my Sunday first event of the year I was going to attend

27. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

third world mentality. this has totally thrown off things. i invested money and time into tomorrow.
    eager to hear a good explanation from the police

28. User avatar

Death-Row

Apr 23rd, 2011

so i spent all this week preping my car for this event and now its canceled? i wash and polish since last night and cover down until tomorow also lol.

oh well, highway fuh dat yes. fack dem.

ignent behavior shall follow =\

29. User avatar

southside crew

Apr 23rd, 2011

The *crew* responsible for this..( for shutting down the event) Should be the one(s) who everyone has to know are killing the sport…

They are the /\/ $ () for motorsports but YET still they KILLED the SPORT DEAD! because they not getting money.. ( they don’t put a CENT into the event. but they want a couple thousands for the /\/$() status….

it’s time for them to go!!

30. User avatar

Reez100

Apr 23rd, 2011

who are the board members of TTSA? or the senior members of TTSA

31. User avatar

roshan01

Apr 23rd, 2011

sucks really does

32. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

33. User avatar

-sMoKe-

Apr 23rd, 2011

i finally get ma donut replaced with a steel rim after months..just for this event…an now it call off…hmphhh..this suckss

34. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

Team Loco wrote:
    third world mentality. this has totally thrown off things. i invested money and time into tomorrow.

X2, Im losing sunday pay+overtime, have to cover my a$$ monday to complete assignments plus I just dropped $$ to rent a lens JUST for this event.

35. User avatar

Lucian-2nr

Apr 23rd, 2011

kurpal_v2 wrote:
    Team Loco wrote:

X2, Im losing sunday pay+overtime, have to cover my a$$ monday to complete assignments plus I just dropped $$ to rent a lens JUST for this event.

Hard luck, I almost rented a lens but the one I wanted was sold…. damn

This event was major and I really hope that all information about why it didn’t happen comes to light.

36. User avatar

Apr 23rd, 2011

this topic is now locked

Further details on the cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix are posted here:
    viewtopic.php?f=4&t=369457&start=0
    please continue the discussion there

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

3NE-2NR