Hott93 & V8Boys GRAND AUTO SHOW oh what a day we had!!!

Classic Cars Unlimited

Hott93 & V8Boys GRAND AUTO SHOW oh what a day we had!!!

Postby Classic Cars Unlimited » December 18th, 2013, 12:53 am

Hott93 and Classic Cars Unlimited are pleased to announce the NEW date for their

GRAND AUTO SHOW 2014

10308176_813630631999395_202800500464053894_n.jpg

Venue: Skinner Park, San Fernando.
Date : Sunday MAY 4th
Gates open 12pm til 9pm.
Tickets: $50 adults. All kids under 12 free.
All pre-registered cars with 2 occupants....free. (driver plus passenger)
All interested owners are asked to post pics of their cars, on this thread and or pm us with the details or call 382 4926, or email us at classiccarsunlimited@hotmail.com

Pre-registration starts March 1st 2014

***Quoted below is an excerpt of our press release carded for March 2014....

It has been more than 2 years since Trinidad has had an Old School car show. We at Classic Cars are partnering with Hott 93, TriniTuner and Zorce for what would no doubt be heralded as the "Best Car Show anyone had gone to in years".

So that means that this would not be JUST ANOTHER CAR SHOW.

Not only would we be filling Skinner Park, San Fernando with over 200 of the country's best Antiques and Classics, Exotics, Off Road and Rally Cars, but we'd be inviting the New Car Generation to display their cars as well.

There would be lots for those in attendance to see and do. Live entertainment, demonstrations, rides, activities for the kids, bouncy castles, RC toys, educational booths, games, comfortable seating and display areas, and of course lots of food to enjoy.

For the owners who much appreciation is due.....we’d be giving $2000 to the best Antique Car (over 50yrs old), $2000 to the best Classic Car(over 30yrs old) and $1000 to the Crowd Favourite (open class).

Various other awards and hampers will also be given to other categories as well. Best Paint, Best Custom, Best V8, Best New School and Crowd favourite.

And to one lucky person, our DOOR PRIZE is the chance to DRIVE home with a fully restored Classic car sponsored by some of our long time partners.

So now’s the time to get your "baby" ready....shined up and ready to partake in a truly historical event. Let’s help put the Old School back where it belongs...ON TOP.

Come join with us as we share the beauty of these timeless classics....see the awe and appreciation expressed by the young people as they watch, learn and marvel at the way cars used to be....and also to marvel at the Newest cars in T&T today.

We invite those with cars, vans and trucks that would like to display them to pre-register for the event and we’ll be taking names and contacts soon.

ALL cars that are entered will be free-(driver and passenger)...but there will be a small fee for competition. Tents however will have a cost and space will be designated for as many categories and makes as possible.
We have only two requirements for those who enter:

OLD SCHOOL MUSIC ONLY & PARK ACCORDING TO MAKE MODEL AND YEAR.

Clearly marked areas will be designated to the Old School and The New School.

We invite all interested sponsors to contact us early to be a part of this great fun filled day!

see last page for Entry & Competition Rules
Last edited by Classic Cars Unlimited on May 5th, 2014, 2:59 pm, edited 8 times in total.

supermanhhh

Re: Hott93 presents: GRAND AUTO SHOW April 2014 @ Skinner Pa

Postby supermanhhh » December 18th, 2013, 8:07 pm

CANT WAIT!!! SO EXCITED!!!

Postby SR » December 18th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Should be driveable by then

Postby MG Man » December 19th, 2013, 9:40 am

Classic Cars Unlimited wrote:
For the owners who much appreciation is due.....we’d be giving $2000 to the best Antique Car (over 50yrs old), $2000 to the best Classic Car(over 30yrs old) and $1000 to the Crowd Favourite (open class).

Various other awards and hampers will also be given to other categories as well. Best Paint, Best Custom, Best V8, Best New School.

what are the judging criteria for these categories?
Who are the judges?
'best' is far too subjective a word for these types of competitions
Many people spend good time and money to prepare cars for these types of shows, only to find out 'that's not what the judges looking for'
I've seen guys disappointed because they spent good money on customizing, only to be told they not original, and also seen guys disappointed because their 100% original, restored showpiece lost to something with lots of customizing.
Then you have restored vs preserved.....how will you judge a rough old car still in the original paint against a similar model that was restored to 'better than new' original condition?
Then you have to look at factors like rarity, collectability etc
I look forward to your response

Classic Cars Unlimited

Postby Classic Cars Unlimited » December 19th, 2013, 12:09 pm

Thanks much for the input guys....

One of the reasons we wanted to hold this show is the love and passion we as car enthusiasts ourselves have for the automobile and in this instance....Classic & Antique cars. After all, one of our leading personalities....."Big George" Wayne Le Blanc is a huge car nut himself....and he'll be our "Voice" before, during and after this show.

Hott93 is a very "people oriented" network.

And when we (CCU) were looking for a partner to carry our concept to the masses, they logically came to mind.
We had been to several local car shows here and saw that the Old School element had been missing from them....after all the percentage of Classic Cars (30yrs or older) and Antique Cars (50yrs & older) on the road today is dwindling.

They are becoming so rare, that sometimes owners become wary of driving them or displaying them at events.

For the past 3mths, we've been approaching many owners of these cars to determine what they would want in a car show....what would make them FEEL comfortable and welcomed.
So, with the information we've gleaned from them we've put together a formula that should satisfy a large section of the car show genre.

Hence one of our only 2 requirements are that those whose cars are invited inside the venue, kindly comply with our request that they play music that today's generation of adults (30-60) will identify with. We'll have our own DJ on the day....and that should set the "vibe" of our show.

Another thing we'd noticed in attending car shows, is the costs handed down to the cars and owners that partake in these events. We'd seen that even though they were the ones PULLING the crowd and were indeed spending thousands and thousands of dollars on their cars....THAT THEY WERE STILL paying upwards of $100 just to "enter the venue"...and that they were also paying as much as $300 just to enter a competition.

That's where we want to be different.

We'd found that by the charging the owners a FEE to enter, creates an EXPECTATION... that those who partook...generally STRIVED with extreme passion and enthusiasm to attain the top prize.
And what that usually brought, was anxiety, disappointment, bitterness and even resentment.

So with that in mind, we felt that if we invited those whose cars were show worthy, to attend for free, partake in a "show and shine" for free, that should their car NOT be picked...the resentment and hard feelings would be lessened.
We do acknowledge that the word: "BEST" is a term that some may not agree with, but when we've looked at car shows around the world....that's the term most often used.

Meanwhile we're not saying that we don't take competition seriously....we do think that at 6pm when the winners are announced that those who do actually raise their trophies and receive their cash prizes and hampers...would walk away feeling accomplished AND appreciated.

Our objective is simple. Come show your car, sit down, relax, listen to some good ol school tunes, ol talk a bit, talk about your car...with out having to SHOUT or worry about the tension of a full on competition...and at the end of the day> walk away with some cash...hey! EVEN a car!
As for the judging...we've decided that we'll select 2 representatives from each of the clubs present, to select their "Best List" of cars in each of the categories mentioned....then we'll put the cars that are most "selected" in each category before a team of seasoned enthusiasts and media personnel, to decide the winners in each category.

But, all in all, what we'd like to see is camaraderie, friendship...guys who are willing to share their knowledge and experience with those in attendance.
We hope for beautiful weather, so that those whose cars would be under their tents...would come out in the GLORIOUS sunshine and enjoy the day!

please...keep the questions coming! They'll help make for a better show.
Last edited by Classic Cars Unlimited on December 19th, 2013, 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » December 19th, 2013, 12:15 pm

you should be a politician.....all that and you haven't addressed my questions about who's judging, and what criteria are being used for each prize category.....

Postby MG Man » December 19th, 2013, 12:21 pm

Classic Cars Unlimited wrote:We do acknowledge that the word: "BEST" is a term that some may not agree with, but when we've looked at car shows around the world....that's the term most often used..

I would love to know what car shows you guys looked at.......any proper show clearly lists judging criteria beforehand
Not charging a fee does not mean that people will not go all out and spend money to try and win top honours either...

Classic Cars Unlimited

Postby Classic Cars Unlimited » December 19th, 2013, 1:43 pm

Once again, thank you for the observations.

At this stage we haven't ironed out all the details as yet...we did want to get an early start in promoting and surely the questions will help in that direction.

But we can say this....that the criteria used will follow that which is used by other car show entities....For example:

Best Paint....to a an untrained eye, even the most average paint job can look amazing.

However, for this category...we'll take the 2 choices from our "scouts" (the 2 members from each club) and place them before the Paint Technician of our main paint supply sponsor...Sikkens and have him present his 3 choices for this category to the Judges...who by the way...we haven't decided on yet (we did mention earlier "enthusiasts and media personalities")

As for the shows attended:
Members of our team have attended many shows abroad (Goodguys, Summit Racing's Spring Festival, Hot Rod Assoc Annual....Boston, Miami, New Jersey, New Hampshire and in Canada> the Toronto Annual Summer Classic, Puerto Rico> Plazas Las Americas Clasico in Caguas. And the many we have here in T&T, Antigua, Barbados, Aruba, St kitts, St Maarten and Anguilla) and have marvelled at their contestants' cars and their show structure to varying degrees.

We expect some really beautifully restored cars, new cars and customized cars to attend....so the criteria for this would have to be high. That would mean that not only would the finish of the paint job have to be "flawless" but also the prep and underlying bodywork. (you cant have a smooth as silk bonnet and the rest of the car is sub standard)

The criteria for the awarding of the Best Classic, Antique, New School, Customized etc...would be that in each category...the very best OVERALL appearing vehicle would take the trophy in that particular category.

Remember, it's still early days yet and as the days draw nearer we'll have more details.

No doubt guys will be going all out to impress and win....and with that will bring quality to our show!
In not charging a fee, our intention and motives are simple and genuine...come have a good time, WITHOUT the costs associated with attending a car show.

I can remember some time ago, Aleem from Barely Legal and I were talking and he was telling me how important a trophy is to a Show Man. He said..."that they don't study the money or the cash prizes, they spent their money on their cars for the recognition as the best in their business" and that that simple piece of Chromed Plastic that is "a Trophy...means a lot to them".

We will do our utmost to do what's best for our attendees...but we do recognise how difficult it is to appease everyone. But, we'll try.

Classic Cars Unlimited

Postby Classic Cars Unlimited » December 20th, 2013, 10:44 pm

Just some more info:

Skinner Park although being a very large facility, we anticipate quite a lot of Cars coming to attend. From ALL OVER T&T.
And not just Classics, but today's generation of cars....you name it...they'll be there.
Sport compacts, race cars, drift cars, luxury cars, vans, wagons, even 4x4s.

BUT there is only so much space within the Park.
imagesnh.jpg
imagesnh.jpg (7.09 KiB) Viewed 350748 times
imagesnnn.jpg
imagesnnn.jpg (6 KiB) Viewed 350748 times
imagesTBQPTH3N.jpg
imagesTBQPTH3N.jpg (5.49 KiB) Viewed 350748 times

Taking into consideration, space allotted to the New Car dealers like Lifestyle and ANSA McAL, the main stage, the several sponsors, food stalls, bouncy castles will be considerable....we are giving PREFERENCE to the CLUBS like: Ford Club, TriniMini, T&T V8 Club, Freedom Riders, Street Concepts, Barely Legal AND OF COURSE the ANTIQUES AND CLASSICS....after all they are the HOSTS!

And when we say "preference"....we mean that they will be afforded good placement around the Park, well arranged displays, including tents, chairs and tables for their members to "chill out" in AND cook!

So...really good planning is needed so that there is as little misunderstandings and congestion as possible. We could tell you this though....The place is going to be packed from as early as 3pm....so "fellas, my brothers...get there EARLY!"

As the months go by we'll be getting feedback from these clubs as to the numbers they expect to attend...and then we'll make a "site plan" where each Club/Category/Make & Model will park.
Our gates will be opened from 11am so we encourage those desirous of setting up early and settling down, can do so.

Postby Team Loco » December 22nd, 2013, 7:34 am

I yearn for the day when we can return to the days of a car show that focused on the cars only and not the loud music, the cheap plastic chrome and the alco. Gone are those days

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2013, 7:40 am

We can have both. The two V8 Boys shows I attended were nice. The Meguiars shows were a good compromise between both

Postby Team Loco » December 22nd, 2013, 3:52 pm

Nice door prize too.

Postby ronsin1 » December 22nd, 2013, 4:13 pm

damn I wish somebody sponsor meh project so it could be ready in time for this :cry:

darrenwilson

Postby darrenwilson » December 22nd, 2013, 11:19 pm

Cant wait for this!

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » December 24th, 2013, 7:30 am

This is Easter weekend, is this the alternative, as the Easter weekend Tobago show has lost its appeal.....
Last edited by ray d saint on December 26th, 2013, 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Classic Cars Unlimited

Postby Classic Cars Unlimited » December 24th, 2013, 11:33 pm

In the months of Feb, Mar and April...we'll be giving away "free tickets" here on Tuner, and Hott93. Over 50 tickets to be won....each with a chance to win our door prize!

And on the day of the show, many of our sponsors will be handing out hampers of cool car stuff....

Like complete Paint Packages for your car, Oil, filters, car care products, batteries, tint jobs, tools and much more.

Postby MG Man » December 25th, 2013, 12:05 pm

will ppl showing their cars be eligible for the grand and other prizes?

Classic Cars Unlimited

Postby Classic Cars Unlimited » December 25th, 2013, 1:51 pm

Good question MG Man.

As long as you have a "paid ticket stub"...you are entitled to a chance to win the car.

However, ANYONE ...paid or free can receive a reward, hamper, trophy or gift coupon.

Those that "PAY" at the gate, or win FREE tickets on this site or from Hott93 are eligible to win the CAR.....or any other prize.

However, in fairness to those that DO PAY to enter...the Car will only be given to someone with a "paid" or "promotional ticket".

If those who enter the grounds for free, whether as sponsors, participants or car owners or their wives CHOOSE TO BUY A TICKET...they are then eligible to win the car.

The tickets that we sell before the show or as well as the promotional ones...will all have numbers on them, and will be exchanged for a "movie style ticket" that is torn in half upon entry to the show.
(we tear off half...you keep the other, til 5pm when we pull the winning ticket for the car from that CLEAR GLASS BOX)

So...any Club member, any patron and any one attending with their cars....can drive home the Car once they have a "paid ticket" stub.

How we sounding?

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » December 27th, 2013, 10:14 pm

Sounding like I need a sponsor from Sikkens,
so I can get my 1979 Datsun...ready for this!

d spike

Postby d spike » January 13th, 2014, 11:29 pm

Thank you, car gods. I will pour an oblation of 20/50 into a crankcase in thanksgiving...
I'm not sure if the Viva will be presentable by then, but I will certainly be most present.

moti

Postby moti » January 14th, 2014, 8:31 am

^^ It's ALIVE! :shock:

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2014, 9:04 am

nope, it's undead

d spike

Postby d spike » January 16th, 2014, 1:20 am

moti wrote:^^ It's ALIVE! :shock:

MG Man wrote:nope, it's undead

:twisted: :evilbat:

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2014, 10:42 am

Mawster Spike, are you seeking to enter your car in the show?
remember what happened last time?

moti

Postby moti » January 16th, 2014, 10:46 am

MG Man wrote:Mawster Spike, are you seeking to enter your car in the show?

Oh do tell............

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2014, 11:46 am

lol hadda careful what I say here before I get pushed off a cliff ;p
things end up on the book of faces n such

moti

Postby moti » January 16th, 2014, 12:07 pm

Stupes, like you getting soft.

Guess we will have to chat then.

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2014, 1:22 pm

getting soft is one thing, but when little people start escalating stuff off tuner and strangers begin issuing threats against me and my cars, I rather take a few steps back

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 18th, 2014, 8:38 am

:shock::shock::shock:

d spike

Postby d spike » January 18th, 2014, 12:00 pm

MG Man wrote:Mawster Spike, are you seeking to enter your car in the show?

You mean at the Queen's Park Savannah? It was just a matter of pitted contact points... at that hour, it was just easier to get Nomoss to tow me home. She was running the next morning.

It would be nice to enter, but I don't know if Clifford will put up with my rather unorthodox paint technique much longer :lol: :lol: :lol:
Seriously, she looks a bit tatty (yes MG, more so than usual) and I will need to give her a little attention. As I intend to return to Solodex this year, the soap/kerosine/water-and-slam-the-doors-a-few-times-to-shake-off-the-rust routine is intended to happen anyway...