Ek3 Civic CVT tranny problem

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

sprout

Ek3 Civic CVT tranny problem

Postby sprout » August 23rd, 2006, 6:51 pm

hey people. i need help, when i shift into reverse the rpm goes to 1500 and gear doed not engage. after about 30 seconds the drive (D) indecator on the dash blinks although the car is still in reverse. the car is a 98 civic LEV the engine is d15b with a CVT trans. any help or advice will be appreciated.

r_4sr

Postby r_4sr » August 23rd, 2006, 8:06 pm

Your tranny seems 2 be close 2 d end of his life.(TYPICAL CIVIC CVT TRANNY)..Anyway the blinking drive light means that your speed sensor needs replacing..If u decide 2 get another tranny u will get d sensor wit it..IMO do a conversion!

sprout

Postby sprout » August 23rd, 2006, 8:46 pm

tanks for the reply but i tinkin bout taking it to Auto Nation when they reopen to get it checked out. i replaced the speed sensor 4 months ago with an original one

Xman

Postby Xman » August 24th, 2006, 8:24 am

Blinking "D" light means the tranny is going into failsafe mode. It may result from speed sensor fault but the failsafe design is for any problem that may harm the tranny. I have seen blinking D lights result from lack of transmission fluid to the start clutch plate .............I would recommend Chaguanas Auto Supplies as they are tranny specialist.

Postby 3stagevtec » August 24th, 2006, 12:45 pm

Good info to keep in mind... Xman, "Blinking "D" light means the tranny is going into failsafe mode."

Xman

Postby Xman » August 24th, 2006, 1:14 pm

^^^In addition the tranny limits the car to not more than 10 mph.........since the tranny may be harmed by further driving. This slow driving is to allow you to get to a safe point to inspect the problem.

Once you switch off the ignition and re-start the failsafe is cleared and you can drive normal..........but if the problem still persist it will continue to go in failsafe mode again........

sprout

Postby sprout » August 24th, 2006, 8:27 pm

all yuh really know tings yes. i am grateful for d help so i will call 2morrow. but it drives in forward fine but no reverse at all. plus i have checked the fluid level and it is fine (new Honda Z1 fluid).

jaakkoph

Postby jaakkoph » April 15th, 2010, 5:23 am

Hello. I am encountering the very exact problem. I know it has been a couple of years back, but can you please let me know what the problem was and what you did to fix it? What were the parts replaced as well....

Thanks

sprout

Postby sprout » April 16th, 2010, 12:49 am

Aye Jaakkoph
sold d car now but the problem was a malfunctioning pressure solenoid inside the cvt. took it by Jai in Aranguez and he repaired it no problem. also the blinking "D" light means different things. if your car is OBD1 then you need to jump pins (do not try if not sure which pins to jump) to read the codes or if OBD2 then scan it and it will tell you exactly what the problem is.

jaakkoph

Postby jaakkoph » April 16th, 2010, 6:38 am

thanks, sprout. it helps. so at least i know now that the problem is with the tranny itself and not with something else (ie. loose wires, tranny box, etc.).

Richard Lakhan

Postby Richard Lakhan » April 19th, 2010, 11:33 pm

USE D CORRECT HONDA CVT TRANSMISSION FLUID..MAY SOUND STUPID BUT IT DID WORK.

apool69

Postby apool69 » April 21st, 2010, 2:32 pm

CVT transmission 4 sale 4 a honda civic (d15b) it works very good had it in my car ( i went gearbox ) please pm or call 620-9041 (asking $2000 4 it)

Richard Lakhan

Postby Richard Lakhan » April 21st, 2010, 7:03 pm

huh i hav d engine and cvt tranny to for dat same price....7782598

Postby Country_Bookie » April 22nd, 2010, 12:38 am

sprout,
Where this Jai fella in aranguez located? I've had the blinking D light problem for a while now since I replaced a tranny. Everything else works normal tho.

Turbomk2

Postby Turbomk2 » May 4th, 2010, 7:34 am

Hey guys . Is the Honda Multi matic a Cvt Transmission.. Also what Oil is recomended ???

Thanx much. :mrgreen:

lmakaveli

Re: Ek3 Civic CVT tranny problem

Postby lmakaveli » July 11th, 2010, 1:36 pm

yes the multimatic is a cvt. the recommended fluid to use is the original honda cvt transmission fluid

lmakaveli

Postby lmakaveli » July 11th, 2010, 1:41 pm

Turbomk2, yes the multimatic is a cvt. the recommended fluid to use is the original honda cvt transmission fluid

Sprout, which part in Aranguez dis Jai fella located?

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » July 11th, 2010, 1:52 pm

Jai is at JENTON transmissions on the aranguez main road about four blocks before reaching the highway on the right.

richEY

Postby richEY » May 26th, 2012, 11:02 am

yo fella first your transmittion is going i had that same problem . if you want your transmittion to work in top condition this is what you have to do put a quater bottle of brakes fluid in the transmittion and have it running for 2 weeks what this does it swellls the rubbers in the transmittion and then you change oil regular.If you DRIVE light is blinking its the body trottle because the body throttle sends the signal to the transmittion if you want more info call 745-2777. good luck.

enigma

Postby enigma » May 26th, 2012, 10:57 pm

richEY wrote:yo fella first your transmittion is going i had that same problem . if you want your transmittion to work in top condition this is what you have to do put a quater bottle of brakes fluid in the transmittion and have it running for 2 weeks what this does it swellls the rubbers in the transmittion and then you change oil regular.If you DRIVE light is blinking its the body trottle because the body throttle sends the signal to the transmittion if you want more info call 745-2777. good luck.

Umm....hoss, yuh notice the date on the posts? :|

Postby S_2NR » May 27th, 2012, 12:46 am

richEY wrote:yo fella first your transmittion is going i had that same problem . if you want your transmittion to work in top condition this is what you have to do put a quater bottle of brakes fluid in the transmittion and have it running for 2 weeks what this does it swellls the rubbers in the transmittion and then you change oil regular.If you DRIVE light is blinking its the body trottle because the body throttle sends the signal to the transmittion if you want more info call 745-2777. good luck.

put brake fluid wey :shock:

and yeah this thread is old

jude

Postby jude » August 11th, 2012, 10:01 am

brake fluid?anybody haveany other thoughts on this?would this work for a non cvt transmission?

Return to “HONDA”