X2....Life Span B-series

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

pornstar4777

X2....Life Span B-series

Postby pornstar4777 » May 25th, 2007, 9:01 am

what's the lifespan on a b-series motor?

over 100,000kms good or bad?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » May 25th, 2007, 9:12 am

i have one doin 135,000

mitsu

Postby mitsu » May 25th, 2007, 1:11 pm

From my experience BAD.....

mines doing 126,000.. got to do a full rebuild,,

My engine runs hard so I guess it was due sooner or later :oops:

paz

Postby paz » May 25th, 2007, 9:07 pm

^^^ local or Fu ...we can never be sure of the milege of FU bseries ...even if the come in a car the milege is always turned back ...i know of local SIR''s with proper maint... with over 150 000 kms two with over 170 000 kms

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » May 27th, 2007, 1:11 am

sounding feasible....anyone else?

Postby X2 » May 27th, 2007, 8:40 am

120,000km to 200,000km before possibly needing to rebuild a bottom end.

Remember, scheduled maintenance and parts replacement will have an engine running for even longer.

For instance... aside from the regular fluid changes...you need to change the timing belt and water pump at 90-100k... tranny fluid at the same time, changing out seals and so on will increase the lifespan. The stock bottom end, once cared for can easily see 200,000km, but redlining it in and out daily and not watching your maintenance routine can wear rings and bearings abnormally quick... which puts you into a rebuild by 120-150k. Other items like valve spring fatigue due to excessively aggressive driving can see things happening like dropped valves and so on happening on or before 100k (rebuild time) .

Not that this is typical, but a good friend of mine clocked 200,000 MILES on a B20 from the early gen preludes... althought this is not the same B series that we're talking about... (this engine was not as good as these B's), but proper care let this engine clock unbelieveable numbers and even found it's next owner without needing a full rebuild !

If u talking about a foreign used engine... if it passes 100k km... do a full compression and leak down test and change out the major components like oil pump, water pump, belts, etc for safety. You don't know what it's been thru.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 27th, 2007, 8:34 pm

was the price on a complete rebuild ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 27th, 2007, 9:05 pm

299 wrote:was the price on a complete rebuild ?

i got ALL de seals from ADAH303.

for the B16A - all 16 valve seals, 1 cam seal, 1 tappet pan gasket, 4 plug seals, 1 distributer seal, oil pump seal, TB gasket, IM gasket, exaust gasket and de 2 gear box axel seal cost me under $1500 ( cant remember de exact price)......................... oh yeah, they were all original HONDA

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 27th, 2007, 9:59 pm

ok wat about piston, rings, bearings Etc wat is the price of these ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 27th, 2007, 10:36 pm

299 wrote:ok wat about piston, rings, bearings Etc wat is the price of these ?

it all depends on bore, brand and CR on pistons............. do some reserch, cause there is JE, CP, SRP, OEM etc
bearings is OEM, clevite, ACL, etc

What you want to build is all up to your pocket cause prices vary alot.

Postby X2 » May 28th, 2007, 1:50 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

for the B16A - all 16 valve seals, 1 cam seal, 1 tappet pan gasket, 4 plug seals, 1 distributer seal, oil pump seal, TB gasket, IM gasket, exaust gasket and de 2 gear box axel seal cost me under $1500 ( cant remember de exact price)......................... oh yeah, they were all original HONDA

GREAT price !

As far as piston rings... there are only a few choices and the biggest manufacturer would be nippon, who makes the rings for the big companies like JE/SRP and others including most of the OEM manufacturers. You can also opt for Total-seal... which is more pricey.

But Nippon chromoly rings are great and are the biggest brand name around.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » May 28th, 2007, 6:24 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

no headgasket?

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » May 28th, 2007, 9:02 pm

damnnnnnnnnnnnnn

i did complete rebuild and type out everythign here and lost it.. i at work, so i cant type it over rite now..will do it a next time

basically i rebuild my B16A at 236K . still standard size rings, bearings etc.. no major wear..just changed seals..rings.. etc

Clerique

Postby Clerique » May 28th, 2007, 10:22 pm

Civic Dude wrote:basically i rebuild my B16A at 236K . still standard size rings, bearings etc.. no major wear..just changed seals..rings.. etc

:shock: :shock: :shock:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 28th, 2007, 11:07 pm

Cleriq wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

no headgasket?

well all de other stuff was mainly B16A nah, but de B20B headgasket cost meh $500 by P.T. Motors in Petite Bouge

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » May 31st, 2007, 7:45 am

OK..at work again, 6:30am ..but I think i got some time to type this over

Brief History of the Engine, B16A ( 1996 ), cuz I know it may be good info to some of you fellas.

Foren used car RORO got it at 32K ( and we KNOW that may not be TRUE milage ). Used Castrol GTX 20/50 ever since. Maintained by milage, oil change every 4000-5000km ( usually 6-8 weeks with my run ) hiway run mainly. the car is auto, so not much redline drive, prolly only when pull off and it kicks into second. Last Timing belt change at approx 105K .

Car was at 236K. ( yes.. 236K @ Cleriq...lol :mrgreen: ) when I did my rebuild

First time any major work was being done. The engine was in extremely GOOD condition when it was opened ( i was there from start to finish of rebuild ) No major wear on block. Main and connecting rod bearings almost like new.. all specs were checked using plastic tape on bearings.. Both head and block where slightly 'skimmed ' to ensure flatness on surfaces. Valves grinding for proper seal ( seating ) and piston bore was "honed" ( nut sure of the spelling )

Some parts werent necessarily supposed to be changed, but I changed them anyways as I had already bought them.. e.g distributor cap, rotor, radiator cap, torque convert and axel seals, etc

ALL specs were checked as specified by the workshop manual ( Service limits )

List of parts changed.
1. Piston Rings ( standard size were needed )
2. Timing belt
3. Tensioner
4. Water Pump
5. Complete Head gasket set
6. Crank case gasket
7. Cams (both) and crank shafts (back and front ) seals
8. Torque converter seal
9. Axel seals
10. ALL " O " rings .. trust me.. there are quite a few
11. Thermostat
12. All 3 belts .. a/c .. Alt and power steering
13. Fluids... Power steering, Transmission and radiator coolant
14. Crank Main bearings ( all 5 sets ) ( due two bearings slightly scratched, prolly by some foreign object in the oil from its appearance )
15. ALL rubber hoses on the engine quite a few too.. radiator, water by-pass etc
16. Distributor cap and rotor
17. Radiator cap
18. Crank shaft pulley key
19. Fuel filter
20. A/C belt tensioner pulley bearing
21. Vtec Seals

I cant think of anything else rite now. The rebuild was done almost 2 weeks ago.

ALL parts were from HONDA except the 3 small belts ( Gates were used )

as for prices ! I bought everything (except main bearings ) out of canada. MUCHHHH CHEAPER !!! I cant remember all the prices as I had bought some parts since last November and lost the bills.

I had to buy the bearings here cuz they are "colour coded". so ONLY when the engine was opened and checked, it was then I had to get them. I paid $1440 by ANP !!!! and Classic Motors didnt have them.
just for info, when I called honda in canada, I woulda paid $765 TT , but I couldnt wait as I was pressed for time to get back the car.

So there it is, i am presently in the " break-in " stage.

Laters ( 7:35am..lol ) :mrgreen:

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » May 31st, 2007, 7:57 pm

X2 thanks for input and you guys missed 200,000 miles by X2........things sounding promising

ek4ever

Re: X2....Life Span B-series

Postby ek4ever » October 22nd, 2013, 2:02 pm

Anymore high mileage B series???

My 1999 EK4 is doing 285,000 kms never opened the engine and it still pulls like crazy. Using full synthetic oil since I got it at 73,000 kms and only Honda genuine parts fluids and service parts over the past 10 years.

Car gonna be 14 years old in December and still enormously fun to drive ... one of the best cars Honda ever made

Postby X2 » October 23rd, 2013, 8:59 am

Have no mileage figures... but my engine has been running, racing and autocrossing for 10 years now. Probably 100k km of abuse... time for some new piston rings.
Last edited by X2 on October 27th, 2013, 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 23rd, 2013, 3:31 pm

^^ thinking it's time for a new car but also toying around with pulling the engine and doing a complete top-to-bottom rebuild....new paint job and ready to enjoy for a next 10 years. Chassis still solid and suspension is just over one year old (MOOG springs, Eibach dampers and ES bushings all round)

only thing that really have me thinking of selling is gas price ..... seriously considering going diesel

**JSJ**

Postby **JSJ** » October 26th, 2013, 9:57 pm

i sold a ek4 recently doing 340***km, not too sure how much previous work was done on car but it had the original engine the car came with. it pulled well (auto) for the year i had it. it was a 1996-1998 model.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 30th, 2013, 8:27 am

Mine was at 196000Km before my accident
It wasn't driven very hard though and i got it at 161000Km

Most of the Rubber parts on the engine will give up at that mileage though; Seals, Hoses O-Rings, my pcv valve shattered upon removal.
Be wary of thermostat sticking close and boiling the water out of your cooling system...I saw my temperature gauge start to climb but i was already home when this happened...that will almost certainly require headwork if you don't catch it quickly
Was leaking more oil than i was burning and i was losing about 1 quart every 7000km. After patching the leaks it was down to about .4 quart every 7000Km.

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 30th, 2013, 6:56 pm

Currently doing 211,000 km, got the car at 128,000 km and it was burning a lot of oil, about a qt every 1000 km. Drove it till 142,000 km before doing a full rebuild. 2000 EK4 BTW local

My parts were:

Engine decarbonisation kit with std size headgasket from classic motors $1550
Oil pan gasket, VTEC seals, Piston Rings std size Honda from classic motors. $600 for rings
Eight connecting rod bearings 4 black from classic at $150 each and 4 brown from autonation at $170 each
Labour was $1200
Changed rear main engine mount during rebuild $900 for OEM from autonation

All of this was done in 2008. So far with proper maintenance, no oil consumption issues. I believe strongly in preventative maintenance and oem parts only.

I am pretty sure I have changed more parts than most ppl on this forum and my car is bone stock lol

Rebuilt the transmission by Flash in Aranjuez november 2012

Paid $6500 labour and parts
Paid $800 by Jenton for part of the valve body

Transmission working smooth as ever. Transtec heavy duty clutch and plate kits Made in USA used

Rebuilt suspension/drive train

rear trailing arms $850 by autonation
all 4 stabiliser linkages $575 each from classic for rear and autonation the front for $475
rear stabiliser rubbers paid $250 for imitation crap by autonation, bought from classic for $80
rear shocks $395 each in bamboo new (tokico made in japan) there are chinese tokico floating around
2 axles $5000 OEM Honda
2 ball joints $600 for the pair OEM honda
inner and outer ends $600 555 and OCR Made in Japan

All parts are OEM Honda either from classic, autonation or imported with exceptions where stated explicitly

Rebuilt power steering pump using all oem honda seals with the oem bearing from streetwise performance on the forum for $450

At 200,000 km

Changed timing belt and all other 3 belts
Changed timing belt tensioner and tensioner spring for 1st time
Changed water pump for 1st time. caught in time would have gone bad soon
Changed valve seals ($20 each by classic, $100+ each by autonation)
Changed cam seals, front main crank seal, distributor o-ring ($10 by classic)
Changed transmission mount $475 by classic. was last one in stock got a steal of a deal
Changed all radiator hoses for 1st time with the exception of 1 hose which autonation did not have (radiator top and bottom along with the a/c heater hoses and bypass hoses)
Changed radiator to all metal 2 core from caribbean radiator works $1000
Changed 2 axle seals OEM honda from autonation

Got the timing belt kit off Ebay all OEM honda parts for US$175. The kit had the timing belt plus the 3 others, the cam seals, crank seal and the water pump

Postby X2 » October 31st, 2013, 1:12 am

excellent list there SiR8081. That info will help a lot of people.

COROLLA KID

Re:

Postby COROLLA KID » November 5th, 2013, 12:39 pm

* Fozzy * wrote:was the price on a complete rebuild ?

The price of a foreign used engine (when you add labor and parts up)

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 5th, 2013, 2:02 pm

@SiR8081 ...... why did you have to change axles??

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » November 7th, 2013, 2:04 pm

The inner joint was bad on the left side causing a vibration when accelerating and cruising around 120km/h. The inner joint was unavailable at the time and was about the same price as an axle (difference of about US$50). So I opted to change the two and done b/c I know with my luck the other one would have given out soon after. Brought them in from the USA, OEM Honda.

No scn X2. Went through a lot with this car.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 11th, 2013, 1:56 pm

Where or who is reputable for rebuilding a B16A?

I don't think I need a rebuild right now but good to know for when the time comes.

I've replaced most of the seals recently just the front engine seal and cam seals to replace next timing belt service, timing belt/tensioner/water pump every 80000kms (to be safe). Just rebuilt my ps pump (all original Honda seals). End of year I'll do a complete replacement of cooling system hoses and coolant (genuine Honda). I also flush the transmission every 30000kms with Honda fluid. Engine runs on full synthetic oil with RP long life filters together with Honda fuel filters.

All in all I think my engine is well cared for .... really don't spare any expense.... want to see how long it will last

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 13th, 2014, 8:14 pm

My b16 is approaching 190,xxx, tranny rebuilt by autonation, engine gasket and pulg seals changed, car runs great, but my be losing a little oil, any advice on a suitable body oil?

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » March 15th, 2014, 1:21 pm

I recommend using a 20W-50, that's what I use in my B16A doing 215,000 km however my engine was rebuilt at 142,000km.

How much did you pay at autonation for the tranny rebuild if you don't mind me asking. As far as i know autonation does not do tranny rebuilds. They prob sent your tranny by flash or jenton.

ek4ever,

pm me whenever you ready for a best mechanic to rebuild your b16a. Will put you on to the same guy who rebuilt my b16a and the only man I trust with my ek4. Been to so many "Honda Specialist" who take my money and leave me with the same problem I came to them to solve.

Return to “HONDA”