Thursday, October 2nd, 2014



- It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 4:26 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Jump to:  


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
strykr
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:34 pm 
Offline
Ricer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Sangre Grande
Just wanted to know if it was possible to change my stock intake manifold to something aftermarket or if a b16 or b18 manifold id compatible. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.


Attachments:
File comment: My stock Intake Manifold.
Feb08036Medium.jpg
Feb08036Medium.jpg [ 90.64 KiB | Viewed 266 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on Twitter
Top
 Profile  
 
embryo
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:02 am 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:57 pm
Posts: 123
yes you can! all b series are identical ....well except maybe the gsr b18


Top
 Profile  
 
Crazymofo
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:44 am 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 1:12 pm
Posts: 114
Non-vtec heads use a different manifold than the vtec heads. You'll have to get an aftermarket manifold for the B20A/B20B or B18A/B18B non-vtec engines.

Example:
http://store.skunk2.com/engine-tuning/p ... d-571.html

B16A and B18C (type-r) manifolds require some modification to fit but it can be done. Would require removing the engine from the car since you'll have to weld the water ports (from head to manifold) shut on the engine since the B16/B18 manifolds don't accomodate them.

The B18C GSR manifold is different to all the others and wouldn't work because the intake ports on the head are aligned differently afaik.


Keep in mind that the special silver block on top of the stock manifold creates more low and mid end power, which you'll lose if you change the stock manifold.

Are you upgrading the engine in any other way? What's the reason for upgrading the manifold? Aftermarket cams etc? If not, I recommend that you keep the stock manifold.


Top
 Profile  
 
strykr
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 7:26 pm 
Offline
Ricer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:53 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Sangre Grande
Thanks a lot... nice info... but the reason i was thinking of making the change was to accommodate a tower strut, fuel pressure regulator etc...


Top
 Profile  
 
Crazymofo
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:35 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 1:12 pm
Posts: 114
You can get a universal fuel pressure regulator which can be installed anywhere (on the firewall maybe) in the engine bay via a bracket.

It's also easier (and cheaper) to modify your strut bar or obtain a different one that will clear the manifold than to change the manifold itself.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Who is online

Registered users: abusafaa, Bing [Bot], Breeds, Captain Awesome, Conrad, dezz, djruncrowd, Exabot [Bot], gastly369, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, hindian, imrangmlopez, Induseng, infotech44, Kalisnakov, kliq, maljoe, mamoo_pagal, mojosodope, nemram, Pablo660, Reamos EK9, redman crv, ryansk, Sabot, shortboss101, South Man, Swift Boy, tdavies, Touge Union, uncle sam, X_Factor, Yahoo [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
3NE-2NR