UPDATED 7/3/14: BATTERY PURCHASED. REVIEW.

Postby BrotherHood » February 19th, 2014, 12:14 pm

I currently use a maintenance free Rocket battery purchased from Laughlin and De Gannes in 2011. I have recently started to get very slow tumbles of the engine and the battery seems to have almost no reserve time. In this regard, I am on the market for a replacement battery before this one completely dies out.

Things to note:
- I currently have an everyday audio system: Two amps (Cadence Ultrashock A5+HC Mono & Quantum Audio 4260) powering Two JBL 12" and two Ciare 8" respectively. I plan on adding two 6" midbass speakers and upgrading the four channel mids amp. Occasionally, I may 'park and play' once or twice a month for about half and hour for the most. This is not necessary as I do not mind idling while playing music.

- I have HID in headlamp and fog lamp (which only requires quite some power to start up but a lot less once it has warmed up.)

- I plan on adding some other 'small power draw' lighting accessories such as an LED roll.

Doh fraid to call 'big name ting' like Optima, XS Power, Stinger.

Vehicle is a Lancer CS3.

Criteria:
Big pole
Ample reserve time
In Excess of 900 cranking amps
13/14 plate
$1000 - $1400 budget.
Longevity
Reliable
Good reviews
Good warranty
Something with the potential to last about three (3) years or more.

Come alyuh, feel free to post advice, opinions, reviews(good and bad) and your suggestions.
Last edited by BrotherHood on March 9th, 2014, 1:18 am, edited 6 times in total.

Re: CHOICE OF NEW BATTERY

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 19th, 2014, 1:05 pm

Never had a problem with Track batteries in 10 years of car ownership and 4 cars.

Postby BrotherHood » February 19th, 2014, 1:24 pm

Does Track have a sealed maintenance free battery?

Postby wagonrunner » February 19th, 2014, 1:47 pm

:shock: @ everyday audio system. :lol: :lol: and yuh get any beach / river fete DJ wuk? :lol:

Check out these.
http://www.targetsolutionstt.com/sub-product/atlas-batteries/

Postby BrotherHood » February 19th, 2014, 1:57 pm

wagonrunner wrote::shock: @ everyday audio system. :lol: :lol: and yuh get any beach / river fete DJ wuk? :lol:

Check out these.
http://www.targetsolutionstt.com/sub-product/atlas-batteries/

:lol: the box with the double 12" does be in the car about 90% of the time. Other 10% is when I need the trunk space, eg. airport run etc. No river lime wuk yet but if something come up, u go be the mic man na :lol: :lol:
About the link, thanks, but in my search before I made this thread, I didn't like the couple reviews I saw for the Atlas. I might have good luck with it, you never know, but I won't feel comfortable buying it.
I made this thread because no other battery related thread could assist me.

dreadman

Re: SUGGESTIONS FOR & CHOICE OF NEW BATTERY

Postby dreadman » February 19th, 2014, 2:25 pm

i use bosch....never had any complaints and for 3 yrs warranty it gd. u go get a 900ca for around 1400

Postby BrotherHood » February 19th, 2014, 3:09 pm

dreadman wrote:i use bosch....never had any complaints and for 3 yrs warranty it gd. u go get a 900ca for around 1400

How long you have that Bosch? The three year warranty is something I could deal with.

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » February 19th, 2014, 3:55 pm

That 3 year warranty is 18 months replace 18 months get a discount on another battery eh. I think. Sold my last car with a Bosch in it without any problems before that. Before the bosch, the only other battery I bought was a turbo because my battery died and that's all I could have gotten at the time but it lasted a couple years.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » February 19th, 2014, 4:01 pm

For that system you want to run i recommend 2 XS power batteries, a 26oo and a 3100. In addition to that 0 guage wires front to back with a big 3 upgrade. Also at least a 80-90amp alternator....my 2cents

Postby BrotherHood » February 19th, 2014, 4:34 pm

That system run on the current Rocket battery for the lifetime of the battery quite comfortably.

dreadman

Postby dreadman » February 19th, 2014, 4:36 pm

yup its 18mths full replacement and 18 mths pro-rated. my last bosch battery lasted a lil over 3 yrs. my bro in law battery lasted almost 3 yrs....so for me its a good battery but d downside is dat every 3 mths u hada get it checked by authorised dealers.

Postby BrotherHood » February 19th, 2014, 6:20 pm

Going every 3 months for maintenance checks is not a down side for me at all. I had to do it for the first year of having my current battery.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 19th, 2014, 7:54 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Going every 3 months for maintenance checks is not a down side for me at all. I had to do it for the first year of having my current battery.

currently have a bosch in our pick up, no complaints. Previously had an AC Delco, no complaints with that either. If you can do the 3 month check up then more power to you, I did it for the first couple of checks and then life/ work got in the way :/
Have heard great things about Optima batteries as well.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » February 20th, 2014, 8:18 am

op you want to park up and play music for that kinda time you need to calculate your current draw not only with the music but with the other accessories that you want to run. The optima batteries amp draws down quickly and will take longer than an XS to recharge. Nothing against optima, but i had 5 yellow top optimas in my car running a 2 12 pioneer system with 3 amps, and it was never enough to last more than 20 minutes of play (stock sr 80amp alternator). I have 3 XS in my car now (120a14v Bosch alt) and i play for 3 hours at a time with a 1 12 system. Guys remember op wants to run a multiple amp system and park and play. It is not an average car without add any on. From the time you say music, the first thing to fix is your current, and remember that just because your voltage reading high, doesn't mean things cant damage from low current. Talk to a experiences music technician before you spend bad $.

Postby BrotherHood » February 20th, 2014, 9:57 am

wickedbreed wrote:op you want to park up and play music for that kinda time you need to calculate your current draw not only with the music but with the other accessories that you want to run. The optima batteries amp draws down quickly and will take longer than an XS to recharge. Nothing against optima, but i had 5 yellow top optimas in my car running a 2 12 pioneer system with 3 amps, and it was never enough to last more than 20 minutes of play (stock sr 80amp alternator). I have 3 XS in my car now (120a14v Bosch alt) and i play for 3 hours at a time with a 1 12 system. Guys remember op wants to run a multiple amp system and park and play. It is not an average car without add any on. From the time you say music, the first thing to fix is your current, and remember that just because your voltage reading high, doesn't mean things cant damage from low current. Talk to a experiences music technician before you spend bad $.

Thank you very much. Now while I would like to park and play, it would only be occasionally or rarely, say twice max per month for a half an hour for the most. In this regard, I do not think I would need more than one battery. Park and play for me is not a must as I have no problem idling while playing.

I just want one good battery that will meet my needs. So far it seems to be XS Power, Bosch and Optima.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » February 20th, 2014, 3:46 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
wickedbreed wrote:op you want to park up and play music for that kinda time you need to calculate your current draw not only with the music but with the other accessories that you want to run. The optima batteries amp draws down quickly and will take longer than an XS to recharge. Nothing against optima, but i had 5 yellow top optimas in my car running a 2 12 pioneer system with 3 amps, and it was never enough to last more than 20 minutes of play (stock sr 80amp alternator). I have 3 XS in my car now (120a14v Bosch alt) and i play for 3 hours at a time with a 1 12 system. Guys remember op wants to run a multiple amp system and park and play. It is not an average car without add any on. From the time you say music, the first thing to fix is your current, and remember that just because your voltage reading high, doesn't mean things cant damage from low current. Talk to a experiences music technician before you spend bad $.

Thank you very much. Now while I would like to park and play, it would only be occasionally or rarely, say twice max per month for a half an hour for the most. In this regard, I do not think I would need more than one battery. Park and play for me is not a must as I have no problem idling while playing.

I just want one good battery that will meet my needs. So far it seems to be XS Power, Bosch and Optima.

For the amps and the system you stated I am guaranteeing you that you need at least 2 batteries and at least an 80A alt as to not cause damage immediately, or even over time to your equipment. Not saying that it will not work with one battery, because it will, but you will be suffering for current. but as I said this is just my 2 cents. If you do decide to go with just 1, then I strongly recommend the XS power 3100. provided that it can fit in your engine bay.

Postby BrotherHood » February 23rd, 2014, 12:58 pm

What about AC Delco?

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » February 24th, 2014, 10:50 am

Ive heard good things about the AC Delco batteries and as much as from popular feedback that is a good battery, Im not sure how good it stands with music in a vehicle. I never had any experience with them at all.

Postby turbosingh » February 24th, 2014, 10:53 am

Optima ftw

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » February 24th, 2014, 10:59 am

definately not optima....dont make that mistake at all...or you will suffer from low current for thr rest of your battery life...lol oh goaar read my post dem from above na, lol I had 5 optima in my car and still suffer fro current

Postby SR » February 24th, 2014, 11:56 am

How can you compare a system with an 80a alt to a system with a 120a alt....

Postby SR » February 24th, 2014, 11:58 am

Op what is the alt rating in the car at present and total rms power of the amps in the system

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2014, 12:00 pm

I have a stock 90A alternator and an AC delco that falls within the op budget. Going in 3 years and had an incriminator ia20.1 in there for sometime and later on powerbass asa1000.1dx. Mids amps fuse ratings never exceeded 40A soooo.....

hindian

Postby hindian » February 24th, 2014, 12:06 pm

What about Die Hard? I use these on the company fleet with no problems whatsoever and all are maintenance free...

Postby BrotherHood » February 24th, 2014, 12:08 pm

SR wrote:Op what is the alt rating in the car at present and total rms power of the amps in the system

Stock CS3 lancer alternator. I do not know what rating it is. 600rms max and 1080rms max mono and mids respectively.

hindian wrote:What about Die Hard? I use these on the company fleet with no problems whatsoever and all are maintenance free...

Where can I get a Die hard to purchase? The reviews on these are very good IMO.

hindian

Postby hindian » February 24th, 2014, 12:16 pm

I usually purchase them at Ramcharitars auto supplies on Pasea road Tunapuna 662 4665. It's about 5 mins drive from the highway on your left hand side... What size you looking for tho?

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2014, 12:19 pm

We can't estimate the current draw from max power claims on amps.

The fuse rating can however allow us to make a reasonable estimate of the current draw.

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » February 24th, 2014, 1:12 pm

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=447168&p=7808948#p7808948

Cant go wrong with XS Power Batteries

Check out the video, which shows the very very small D 375 starting a big Dodge Diesel engine, this battery is very compact and weighs only 12 pounds

Postby BrotherHood » February 24th, 2014, 2:18 pm

nervewrecker wrote:We can't estimate the current draw from max power claims on amps.

The fuse rating can however allow us to make a reasonable estimate of the current draw.

Two (2) by 30amp fuse on the Quantum Audio. No fuse on the monoblock

hindian

Postby hindian » February 24th, 2014, 3:35 pm

This is the type i'm referring to except its the maintainence free type...

Ramcharitars has the 13 plate, maintenance free deep cycle version to this for $1190 with 12 months warranty but i've never had to replace one before three years of usage everyday. I manage a small company fleet of 10 vehicles and a machinery fleet of abt 20 diesel powered generators, lighting towers etc and i only buy deep cycle die hards for them and they never gave any problems.