ad wagon instrument panel not illuminating with park lights

Postby nervewrecker » February 22nd, 2012, 7:45 pm

what could be the cause?

fuse? the layout for box under the dash is in japanese, will the layout be the same for an n16 (nissan almera)? mine is in english.

any other possible culprits I can check if its not the fuse?

NR8

Re: ad wagon instrument panel not illuminating with park lig

Postby NR8 » February 23rd, 2012, 1:12 am

It probably is a fuse. If you can't interpret the layout, I'd say your best bet is to go through all the fuses one by one to check for a bad one.
Last month the hood and trunk lights in my B12 stopped working. I ran off and bought new bulbs (LED too eh). When that didn't work, I tried wiring, but still nothing. I really don't know how I got the idea to check the fuse box nah. Good thing too, cuz I found that the previous owner was using wrong amp ratings.

Of course if that doesn't work then you could open up the panel. But I doubt all the bulbs would blow at once.

Postby Hook » February 23rd, 2012, 1:36 am

Wrecker, wasn't your gauge cluster recently out the car for some reason?

As well as checking fuses, make sure the plugs on the cluster are all plugged in properly.

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2012, 8:43 am

nope, mine never left my car. (probably was ole talk if I said so) This is an another car, maybe something unplugged when I changed the deck for the dude, I will pull it back down & recheck. Aint much wires to check either way.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 23rd, 2012, 12:20 pm

nervewrecker wrote:nope, mine never left my car. (probably was ole talk if I said so) This is an another car, maybe something unplugged when I changed the deck for the dude, I will pull it back down & recheck. Aint much wires to check either way.

You changed a deck and the illumination on the dash went out? Chances are you grounded the illumination wire(this does be hooked up to stock deck). When this wire(+12V) is grounded the fuse that controls the park lights and that illumination on the panel is affected. This fuse is found in the engine bay(Believe its a 10A)

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2012, 12:38 pm

Thats the pink wire connected to the deck you talking about?

Was a quick deck & speaker swap late in the evening, maybe it did ground off if thats the case. I will have him check me back & recheck it. Thanks.

Postby Hook » February 24th, 2012, 6:41 am

*note to self: do not let wrecker install deck for me*

U checked it yet? what was the outcome?

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2012, 10:56 am

note to self should be edited to say *not let me install deck for you in the pitch black of the night* :lol:

I had all day to do it but my ungrateful sister refused to give me my own deck till she comes home (after the deck was removed form the ad wagon & left outside waiting for its new home. It would have been done in 5 minutes had she not phoned & made a huge fuss. I had half the mind to seize my own property & leave her with a hole in her dashboard.

Was a blown fuse, diagnosed & sorted out next morning when there was light.

Postby Hook » February 24th, 2012, 1:09 pm

awesome

Postby crazybalhead » February 24th, 2012, 4:25 pm

Nerve in B14's and the like, there is a wire that tests as a ground when installing a deck. And then when you conneckup, everything good turn on light and bam, no instrument panel/ park lights. You must ground the deck on the chassis and leave this wire alone. That fuse may blow again.

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2012, 7:07 pm

*scratches head* :shock:

I will ask him if he get any problems since, he supposed to stop by in a few minutes.

Car is pretty naked inside there though, only 7 wires for music. 3 used with the original clarion rp-9228p (deck has a built in speaker) and the other 4 taped up (no speakers in the car). I used the same 3 wires that the clarion used to wire up my Nakamichi MB-75 & connected the speaker wires to the speakers I put in.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 24th, 2012, 9:07 pm

well out of those 7 wires, since there were no speakers, the stock speaker wires must have been the 4wires tapes up together(front door speakers), and as for the 3 other wires, acc(ignition), battery & illumination wire. Ground is always on the body.

Cant rememeber the colors to good but i believe the pink wire(+12V battery wire), blue wire(+12V ignition), and cant remember the illumination wire color off hand. Just make sure the illumination wire is well secured(taped up) to prevent it grounding off and blowing the fuse again!

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2012, 10:24 pm

blue, pink & red (with a stripe iirc).

In this car the blue was the +12v (could see it cuz it was thicker than the rest so that alone is a giveaway).
Pink was +12v ignition (couldnt find a tester in the dark so I used a speaker).
And apparently the red is the illumination. Didnt realise that simple deck had an illumination feature and the body was the ground (hence no ground wire from the clarion deck & me thinking the red was the ground).
Same thing cbh mentioned above seemed to be my mistake, all that was sorted out. The fact that I could find nothing for that clarion deck online made things harder for me grrrr.

thanks guys.

Postby crazybalhead » February 29th, 2012, 12:11 pm

No scene, I bonks meh head years ago installing a deck and had the same problem. Much to SR's amusement. :/

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 2nd, 2012, 9:12 am

OP,when installing any deck in any vehicle,always put the ground wire on the body. talk done!

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 2nd, 2012, 10:31 am

What about screwing it to the metal frame that the deck is supported by? That go wok?

Postby Hook » March 2nd, 2012, 3:15 pm

NR8 wrote:What about screwing it to the metal frame that the deck is supported by? That go wok?

Not all the time. If this were the case all the time, head units would have grounded bodies and no ground wire.

In many cases, the head unit is supported by two brackets on either side of a plastic dash pocket which is not grounded as it connects to the plastic and not metal components of the dashboard..

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 2nd, 2012, 11:38 pm

Hmm, thanks Hook. I never really paid attention to where the brackets were connected. Will check it out.
I grounded my h.u. there but there are no tell tale signs of it being poorly grounded (noob here so by that I mean there are no weird sounds coming from speakers during operation.) If this does turn out to be a poor grounding spot, would it cause harm to the h.u. over time even though there are no signs?

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2012, 2:16 pm

syndicate, I usually pull the +tive because my -tive pole practically inside the fender. I have to take out the batt stand, disconnet the +tive, shift the batt & then disconnet the -tive.
hwta some of the audio guys do is run a wire to a single ground point & ground everything there to avoid ground loops. I prefer keep the ground wire short & have no noise issues, I grounded on a screw that is tapped into the metal of the cars body.