Workshop Manuals

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2010, 2:57 pm

ok so.........
while google is your friend and the innernetz is your friend, there are some good reasons to invest in a good shop manual, the type made by Haynes, Chilton, etc
A couple reasons:
Most, if not all the information and instruction the enthusiast will need to do basic maintenance and repair on his car

Everything explained and illustrated in a Haynes manual was actually done before putting it in print, so you are not at the whim and fancy of google 'experts', red herrings of sarcastic twits (such as I) and inaccurate / unreliable advice from strangers on a forum

Pics and step-by-step descriptions of procedures

Torque data, tolerances, gaps etc all in one neat package

Good list of tools you will need to keep in your toolbox

Tricks for repairs unique to your car...for example, draining, refilling and bleeding the coolant system on the MINI requires removal of the air box, battery box, ECU and thermostat. There are special bleeder valves to play with as well...
The Haynes manual was invalubale in getting me thru that process
The one thing it didn't tell me was there is wiring harness that traps the thermostat so it takes some doing, and that the clip that holds the harness in place will be corroded and snap off in my hands, not to mention the factory cable ties will all be brittle and need to be replaced

I have found these manuals invaluable in the garage, and bought one for the MGB, MINI, Corolla, Mazda B1600 pickup, and Peugeot 206

For those who may have not seen a repair manual, here's some shots from the one I got for my wife's AE111 Corolla

Basic maintenance

Vital info

Torque specs, gaps etc

Repairs by category

Great photo sequences to help you along

Some of the drawbacks include:
Not so useful for frankensteins
Don't always cover JDMs etc
Even the 206 manual does not cover the engine on the 206SW variant we have, so I had to order a 307 manual just for that
Sometimes there may be an easier method than outlined in Haynes, but usually they give the best option
They don't always make it clear how damn hard something is to loosen (especially suspension bits)
When they say 'reassembly is reverse of disassembly, sometimes it's a wee bit harder

At the end of the day, these manuals save time, guessing and costly mistakes, and they give an overview of a job so you can decide if it's within your limits
It's also a good check to know if the mechanic is really bullshitting you

I order directly from Haynes, but Amazon is a good bet too
and at about TT$200 - 250, u can't go wrong

Re: Workshop Manuals

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 28th, 2010, 3:02 pm

i have the workshop manual for the ignis ... and has been of tremendous help.

Postby pete » December 28th, 2010, 3:34 pm

i have the swift manual as well

Postby wagonrunner » December 28th, 2010, 10:26 pm

agreed.
Nissan FSM's are the healing

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 30th, 2010, 12:43 am

I have posted the link for the complete workshop/service manual for the J31 Teana/Cefiro in the nissan board sticky......with that you could virtually take apart your J31 and put it back together....it is THAT detailed.....everything/anything that needs to be done and in the steps required are there......but damn Nissan made changing stuff like spark plugs so fkn complicated and expensive....grrrrrrrrrr

loromo

Postby loromo » January 7th, 2011, 7:11 am

Looking for the Nissan Cube 2004 Service (workshop) manual.
Thanks for your help.

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2011, 7:37 am

you might have to order the Nissan Micra manual
check out these guys here
http://forum.cubeownersclub.co.uk/topic/1789

and manual here
http://www.haynes.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stor ... &langId=-1

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2011, 7:41 am

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 8th, 2011, 7:57 am

^^^anything for me? :(

Postby MG Man » January 13th, 2011, 8:20 am

wah yuh want?

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » January 15th, 2011, 7:41 pm

MG, where'd you get your corolla manual? I have the one with the purple cover.. Which is all I'm seeing on the Haynes website.

Postby MG Man » January 15th, 2011, 9:24 pm

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » January 17th, 2011, 5:14 pm

Nice!! Done order it already! :D