Fuse getting hot and melting.

Sundar

Fuse getting hot and melting.

Postby Sundar » August 6th, 2016, 11:17 pm

280c headlights changed to four hi/lo beam lights. Wired it so hi works on separate relay from lo. Same supply for the #30 pin. Battery to fuse, fuse to #30 on each relay. #30 to each light from the seperate relays accordingly. Problem is the fuse heating up and melting. Assistance?

rmrunner

Re: Fuse getting hot and melting.

Postby rmrunner » August 6th, 2016, 11:44 pm

too much current draw. What wire size are you using from the battery?

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » August 7th, 2016, 12:47 am

Double check you grounds could be little loose and causing arcing.

Sundar

Re: RE: Re: Fuse getting hot and melting.

Postby Sundar » August 7th, 2016, 9:44 am

rmrunner wrote:too much current draw. What wire size are you using from the battery?

12gauge I think. Should I seperate the supply for left and right? That's how the oem had it.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 7th, 2016, 9:45 am

trini iceman wrote:Double check you grounds could be little loose and causing arcing.

I'll do that as well thanks

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » August 7th, 2016, 11:07 am

Sundar wrote:
rmrunner wrote:too much current draw. What wire size are you using from the battery?

12gauge I think. Should I seperate the supply for left and right? That's how the oem had it.

Since its off the same supply, the total current for everything will be pulling from this wire. Feel the wire also that is leaving the battery is that wire getting hot also? A clamp on Multi meter would be the best instrument to verify the inrush current when the lights are switched on and in operation.

12AWG is rated for 20Amp.

In my opinion you should try using a 10AWG piece from the battery with a 30Amp fuse. Also the current rating on your relays should match the 30A. Headlights do draw alot of current. Also make sure your ground connections are on bare metal and not on painted surfaces. If all that fails, its a problem with your circuit wiring. If you can post a pic of the circuit, we may be able to assist better.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 7th, 2016, 12:02 pm

Yea was supposed to purchase another multimeter.... sigh. The wire gets a little warm. Maybe it to much on one fuse. I'll use the 10 Guage for the supply. Thanks

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 8th, 2016, 12:14 pm

Btw any recommendations for good electrical tape. Even the 3m tape gets loose and brittle.

Hibrydsoul

Postby Hibrydsoul » August 9th, 2016, 11:16 pm

Try not to rely on electrical tape alone. There are heat shrinks and rubber tape that are better suited for wires that are located in heated areas such as the engine bay.

Sent from my SM-N910H using TriniTuner mobile app

D March Guy

Postby D March Guy » August 9th, 2016, 11:48 pm

The connection in the fuse box maybe slack so take a precision flathead screwdriver and close in the gap so the fuse will fit tight, this used to happen to my brother c32 and that was the problem

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 14th, 2016, 5:21 pm

D March Guy wrote:The connection in the fuse box maybe slack so take a precision flathead screwdriver and close in the gap so the fuse will fit tight, this used to happen to my brother c32 and that was the problem

I did over the whole light circuit except the park light. Separate two way switch to two relays. However same supply used for bright and dip. Haven't done anything on my brother's car yet. I'll update when I can.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 14th, 2016, 5:24 pm

Hibrydsoul wrote:Try not to rely on electrical tape alone. There are heat shrinks and rubber tape that are better suited for wires that are located in heated areas such as the engine bay.

Sent from my SM-N910H using TriniTuner mobile app

Thanks I'll look for this.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 15th, 2016, 9:01 pm

sundar use an inline fuse holder (the one used for music) with a 30 amp glass fuse with a 10g or 8g power wire for the input to the fuse. If that does not work try the ANL fuse holder instead. That would not melt.