Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Re: Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Postby equipped2ripp » August 13th, 2012, 4:11 am

You would get the Amsoil gallons, there isn't the 5L Mobil1 in Trinidad... Just the quarts.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 13th, 2012, 8:02 am

equipped2ripp wrote:I bought the Pentosin @ ERM yesterday, paid $345 for the 5L bottle 5W30.
The 5W50 and 5W40 are $300. I didn't ask about any others, but I believe that's a rough pricing for all the 5L bottles.

nice where is this? any 10w30?

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 13th, 2012, 1:36 pm

Valvoline max life 20w50/ $175 for 5gl @ SJR imports in debe.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 13th, 2012, 1:49 pm

^^ you notice if he had any 5 gal 10W-30 in the Valvoline?

konartis

Postby konartis » August 13th, 2012, 2:40 pm

where in south you can get a variety of oils that you can look at, rather than asking someone for it?

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 15th, 2012, 6:41 am

NR8 wrote:^^ you notice if he had any 5 gal 10W-30 in the Valvoline?

Na, when I went back the next day they were sold out. Dude said they were restocking soon.

konartis wrote:where in south you can get a variety of oils that you can look at, rather than asking someone for it?

I'd say @ SJR in debe, only thing is they mainly have Amsoil/valvoline/shell iirc.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 15th, 2012, 9:11 am

Everyone claims to have the best oil and we have so much choices. At the end of the day, which oil is the most PRACTICAL for our road conditions below?

AC Delco
Agip
Amsoil
Brad Penn
Castrol
Chevron
Elf
Gulf
Havoline
Idemitsu
Kendall
Liqui Moly
Mobil 1
Motul
NP
Pennzoil
Pentosin
Quaker State
Redline
Royal Purple
Schaffer
Shell
Total
Valvoline
Wurth

Postby equipped2ripp » August 15th, 2012, 11:19 am

^ good point :idea:

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 15th, 2012, 11:33 am

^Whichever suits your pocket, and meets the API/ACEA recommendations for your car specified by your owners' manual.

/fin.

BTW, nice copy and paste on that list of oils aces-hit. Wurth , Agip, Elf, and Brad Penn are examples you don't get down here. Chances are you don't want stuff like Brad Penn in your Jetta anyway, due to the high zinc levels.

Most newer model cars call for SM/SN API ratings which have zinc levels around the 800-900 range. Higher numbers (around the 1200-1400 range like in BPenn, AMSOIL Signature etc) are more intended for older (USA muscle?) cars, those with flat tappets, and modified machines which don't have cat converters and so on (cat converters can be poisoned by excessive zinc which might migrate into your exhaust).

Nothing's wrong with using it, but technically, for a newer stock engine like your TSI, I don't see the point. Just stay on top of your OCI and you'll be fine.

What does your car call for aces-hit? 10W40 or something? If so, consider AMSOIL XL (meets SN), Shell Helix Ultra, Castrol Syntec, or even Kendall GT-1 (if you can get a 40 weight in it).

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 15th, 2012, 12:07 pm

konartis wrote:where in south you can get a variety of oils that you can look at, rather than asking someone for it?

Anand's Supermarket by the Creek. They have Shell, NP, Castrol, Total and other stuff in their Automotive aisles.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 16th, 2012, 8:26 am

DSM, I use Mobil1 only because it is a recommended oil...I'm willing pay less for oil that will do the same job though.

For example I have an nze using castrol gtx and magnatec etc....now I'm seeing

Total Quartz 5000 20W50 $115. @ D Car Boutique in St. James

Postby Dave » August 16th, 2012, 8:48 am

Amsoil XL runs over 10k km and is much better as per oil bible than high end Mobil plus it cheaper

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 16th, 2012, 8:56 am

^^AMSOIL XL is indeed cheaper. Mobil 1 is currently overpriced in our market. It's a group 3 synthetic...nothing fantastic. I'd faster run Valvoline Synpower, XL, or Shell Ultra, for the money (all are group 3's.....except the Synpower, which may have some PAO's mixed in).

Postby gt4tified » August 16th, 2012, 9:56 pm

In the Jeep, I stick with what the manufacturer recommends (Shell Helix 10W-40)...gallon = circa$230.00. For the car, I use a thinner oil since high compression and toight bearing clearances...Total 9000 5W-40 (Gallon =$201.xx @ Price Club, Chag.).

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 17th, 2012, 12:31 am

gt4tified.. I love the Total 9000 and I am its biggest advocate, but in all honesty it will be no "thinner" than the 10w-40.. The first value is relative to temperatures which we will never experience in Trinidad so effectively they will have the same viscosity..

That said, there is NO better deal on the market for synthetic than the Total..

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 17th, 2012, 3:24 am

CD4Accord wrote:gt4tified.. I love the Total 9000 and I am its biggest advocate, but in all honesty it will be no "thinner" than the 10w-40.. The first value is relative to temperatures which we will never experience in Trinidad so effectively they will have the same viscosity..

That said, there is NO better deal on the market for synthetic than the Total..

wow did not know engine temp is dependant on enviromental temp

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 17th, 2012, 11:44 am

Narshesheep, the "w" valve on multigrade oils are the cold or winter temperature value.. Mostly meant to give the oil a thinner viscosity for startup at cold atmospheric conditions.. An engine only runs in a certain temperature range, so once it warms up the second viscosity number is the only one of value to you..
In Trinidad, the coldest it gets is still warmer than in most places, thereby making the winter or "w" valve largely academic and of very very little consequence..

Liqui Moly is a great band of additives but this blatant advertising has to be removed by a moderator.. It us unfair to other users

Obi-Wan

Postby Obi-Wan » October 15th, 2012, 3:29 pm

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby equipped2ripp » December 28th, 2012, 10:07 pm

clean up on aisle 9 :lol:

Postby Hook » December 29th, 2012, 8:13 am

"aisle" is how d Jamaicans say "oil"

Postby equipped2ripp » December 29th, 2012, 6:45 pm

ztune

Postby ztune » January 16th, 2013, 2:33 am

Bought Valvoline 5W 30 @ Chaguanas Auto Supplies @ $43 a quart.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2013, 3:01 am

crazy_ztune wrote:Bought Valvoline 5W 30 @ Chaguanas Auto Supplies @ $43 a quart.

Which one? Synpower?

ztune

Postby ztune » January 23rd, 2013, 5:57 am

^^I can't remember exactly. I will be purchasing again this week, I will find out.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2013, 10:54 am

If its the synpower that's a good price cause I paid $225 for the big bottle one (5quarts iirc )

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 23rd, 2013, 11:38 pm

even $225 is very good for 5qt's of synthetic, I don't care what brand..
So if my Total Quartz 9000 supplies ever run out I may move on to the valvoline then..

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 24th, 2013, 11:38 am

I used the max life 20w50 before but when it got closer to its change interval (approximately 7500km) I noticed on start up my lifters would make noise for about 1min or so (Toyota 1az/rav4 doing about 220k).

Switched out to the 5w30 and the noise was decreased at start up but ill give it some time till I decide if my oil caused that. Strange doh, I refilled my empty bottle with the oil I drained and I only got about 2.5-3quarts of oil.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 24th, 2013, 4:14 pm

Now got a diesel Tuscon, using the Schaeffer's 10W 40 for $275 a gallon from Boodram's oil in Bamboo #1

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 4th, 2013, 1:42 pm

Whats the max time that oil could stay in your engine? My engine has reached 5000km after 6months. I use Quaker state Ultimate durability 10w30.

ztune

Postby ztune » February 4th, 2013, 7:37 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
crazy_ztune wrote:Bought Valvoline 5W 30 @ Chaguanas Auto Supplies @ $43 a quart.

Which one? Synpower?

went there on Saturday, they didn't have. I forgot to ask but it's red container. Where you bought yours?