tyres

Back2Studio

Re: tyres

Postby Back2Studio » December 24th, 2011, 3:12 pm

Bought 205 45 16, 83V AA A, 340 Kumho Ecsta XT tyres @ Service Centre San Fernando, on Thursday. Been through some paces with them and they working out great so far.

Postby X_Factor » December 24th, 2011, 3:45 pm

^ price for 1?

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » December 24th, 2011, 8:59 pm

$600 for 1

Postby X_Factor » December 24th, 2011, 10:10 pm

nice, thanx...the gf needs 205/50/16's soon
will give them a call

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 24th, 2011, 11:16 pm

thats an excellent price studio....post up a pic or two......

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » December 25th, 2011, 7:25 am

Yeh takin pics this weekend, 2 things though...
1) Tires were actually $650 for 1 but I ask for a best price and they give me it for $600.
2) I initially asked for 205 50 16 but they did'nt have it so I went with the 205 45 16.
So be guided accordingly.
Put the tires through some more paces, they are currently inflated with regular air @ 30psi and are performing quite well, no noise whatsoever and excellent grip around corners(Then again car has front and rear strut bars). Nontheless tires still new. Perhaps a run at Solodex might be a better test of their ability.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 26th, 2011, 3:45 pm

got me a pair of dunlop direzzas dz101 up front. 205/40/17... must say. pretty good. but i want an opinion from a user on a comparison to the toyo proxes!

Postby A172 » December 27th, 2011, 3:50 pm

Been using my Toyo Proxes R888 205/50/15 for a little over a week now

Dry:
Excellent. Only tested it at 30psi daily driving but the hotter it gets, the better it feels. Eg. My 3rd gear(110kmph - 160kmph) lasts 3 seconds and it's perfectly straight, smooth acceleration with no torque steer or wheelspin. Obviously this would be better when dropped to 10psi. Grips and goes with a proper launch as well. Plus it makes this cool droning noise in the 180-220kmph range :mrgreen:

Wet:
I'm not a ricer so I drive under 70kmph in the wet highway driving, still no hydroplaning to speak of.

Overall:
Excellent tires for the money.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 27th, 2011, 4:05 pm

^^Good review man. I have a feeling that geometron was talking about the T1R proxes though :)

In my experience, the T1R's are far better tyres in terms of ride and noise level, than the DZ101. In the wet, I never found the DZ101 to be confidence inspiring in emergency braking (to me, ABS locked up alot easier).

A172, you using the R888's daily? I assume you'd use them for "special' conditions only?

Postby A172 » December 27th, 2011, 5:24 pm

Nah my tuner used his 888's daily for the past year pumped to 35psi for everyday use and it only recently started slipping....for 2k a pair I think that's GREAT service. :)

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 28th, 2011, 8:50 pm

^^Yuh lie :shock: :shock:

1K per? For a near R-compound grip? That's a gr8 price!

That's for 15" though....but say what :o

Postby A172 » December 28th, 2011, 8:53 pm

yupp, $850+vat for one

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 28th, 2011, 10:40 pm

Good deal on the toyo R888 but If the Eagle F1 goes back on sale @ ASL for anything under $700 in 15" its probably a better deal than the toyo...

Postby A172 » December 28th, 2011, 10:53 pm

better deal with regards to what? traction?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 29th, 2011, 1:34 am

I would expect the R888 to have more absolute traction, but for daily use the F1 will probably come relatively close in terms of traction while being a lot more user friendly on imperfect and loud surfaces...

The only reason I said that the Eagle F1 would be a good deal is because it can be purchased occasionally for 40-50% less than the R888..
To each their own of course, but it is just my view...

---

As an aside, I have an unlimited budget on some 16" tyres and CANNOT find any good touring tyres in the entire country... Michelin and Bridgestone seem always out of stock and the Goodyear Assurance they are importing is the wrong model...

Oh well, the search continues

Postby A172 » December 29th, 2011, 9:27 am

CD4Accord wrote: for daily use the F1 will probably come relatively close in terms of traction

I literally LOL'd at this :lol: I had F1's before, they're like a nexen in front of a true semi slick.....and this comes from experience, not reading Google reviews all day.

But I agree with you wrt they might be better suited for slower cars that realistically not putting tires through any kind of abuse.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 29th, 2011, 2:10 pm

Ouch.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » December 29th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Back2Studio wrote:Bought 205 45 16, 83V AA A, 340 Kumho Ecsta XT tyres @ Service Centre San Fernando, on Thursday. Been through some paces with them and they working out great so far.

Where in San Fernando is this place?
Thanks

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 29th, 2011, 3:36 pm

it have Service Centre in Penal/Debe too?

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » December 29th, 2011, 6:40 pm

Nasrallah wrote:
Back2Studio wrote:Bought 205 45 16, 83V AA A, 340 Kumho Ecsta XT tyres @ Service Centre San Fernando, on Thursday. Been through some paces with them and they working out great so far.

Where in San Fernando is this place?
Thanks

Lady Hailles Avenue, between Lange and Southern Meats.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » December 29th, 2011, 6:41 pm

geometron wrote:it have Service Centre in Penal/Debe too?

Negative

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 23rd, 2012, 7:38 pm

I'm having some difficulty locating a decent set of 225/35R20 tyres. Can anyone recommend a retailer? I searched the thread with no luck.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 24th, 2012, 12:28 am

Just got Kumho Solus KH18 (440, A, A) in 215/55/16 for $700 each @ L&DG...

Not a stellar price but was the best quality/price compromise...

Its on a A33 maxima with the 2.0 , so probably will never be able to really give those tyres a good run out.. Fairly useless engine mated to a ridiculously heavy ride with no-feel steering...
In the end, I just want long treadlife and predictable wet and dry handling

Postby crazybalhead » January 24th, 2012, 3:07 pm

geometron wrote:got me a pair of dunlop direzzas dz101 up front. 205/40/17... must say. pretty good. but i want an opinion from a user on a comparison to the toyo proxes!

dz 101 is sheit compared to Proxes T1R's.

One of the best tyres I've ever had all round is the ventus V12's. From Daily driving to dex, very nice all round tyre.

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » January 26th, 2012, 9:32 am

dz101 are decently priced tho 600 for 1 @ tyre clinic in chag (205/40/17) just worried about nexen type performance out of them... the f1 ride pretty hard and feels like a harder compoud after a while... goodyear performance touring ride comfortably and very good grip.. continentals win tho

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 27th, 2012, 8:12 pm

Finally got my Toyos back after 3 months of running the semi slick old ones, never bought the Maxxis, too expensive for something i didn't really want.

MM actually got them exactly when they said they would.

$790 a pop :| installed and balanced.

I could have gotten something else cheaper...but...well everything else is mostly crap in my size and for my driving style..

Kudos to the MM guys. They sorted me out quickly (2.5 hrs at MM is a good day) and the alignment guy was very thorough in his checks and put my camber where i wanted it. Most places argue with me on the -ve 1.1 camber.

syntax

Postby syntax » January 27th, 2012, 9:53 pm

^^ look great man..

what was the total mileage you got of the last set

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 27th, 2012, 11:52 pm

-1.1 degrees is bad? :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 28th, 2012, 1:18 pm

Just over 59000 km in 2 years..

@ Conrad, some alignment people seem to think so. They insist on nothing less than 0 degrees even though -1.1 is well within the green on the machines. One of them even offered to sell me a camber kit to remedy my "bad" camber. My tyres will cut badly and my ball joints will suffer etc etc.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 28th, 2012, 8:58 pm

If an alignment shop recommends 0 deg camber, then you should find yourself by another shop.

MMack follows OEM specs AFAIK - which in most cases, has some degree of negative camber on all wheels for most cars these days.