tyres

dredman1

Re: tyres

Postby dredman1 » April 5th, 2012, 9:35 pm

bushwakka wrote:for those looking for a good tyre....check the sumitomo HTRZIII.....they awesome....rated better than the ventus an all....cheaper at m. ramrattans in vistabella.....$900 for 215/45/17
Was looking for this tyre in that exact size when I needed tyres last year, as a economical "summer" tyre. Nowhere had it. Ended up going with the V12 Evos which cost a bit more.

Hopefully they have when next I ready to buy tyres - read a lot of good things about them for the price.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » April 5th, 2012, 9:39 pm

ZeroOne wrote:brought them in cost about 900 for 1, and that was with a heavy freight charge, could of got them cheaper.
Was that $900 cost for the same 215/45/17 size, and the final cost landed and cleared?

crazybalhead wrote:^^^ Very good tyres there Zero one! Can't ask for much more from a street tyre. Mine still going good after about 8 solodex events, and 16 months of driving. Upgrading soon...
X 1000000. Fully concur - the V12 Evos are the best tyres I've ever owned thus far. No regrets. Great grip and I've heard lots of comments about how long they last for a "summer" tyre. One thing I'm most impressed with about them is how strong they are, as I've inadvertently hit some of our world class potholes with them and they have no visible damage. Those same pothole hits have caused bulging on the sidewalls of some of my previous tyres.

You won't be disappointed.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 6th, 2012, 2:49 pm

Yea that is landed and cleared cost 205-45-17

The ride is much more smoother than the 14' kumhos i had before

see im loving them already.

Postby bushwakka » April 7th, 2012, 10:11 am

ZeroOne wrote:Yea that is landed and cleared cost 205-45-17

The ride is much more smoother than the 14' kumhos i had before

see im loving them already.

how o how....did u get those tyres in at such a good price? which site did u order from?
ocean freight? skybox? pleaseee.....pray tell!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 7th, 2012, 2:42 pm

^^Check PM

if the sumitomo HTRZ3 is available locally for 900 I would not recommend buying the v12's.

The Sumitomo has proven to be better.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 7th, 2012, 4:20 pm

Is the grip progressively lost with mileage with the Evo 12's? Or is it one of those tyres that are great for 5000km then have drastic degradation of everything good about them?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » April 7th, 2012, 9:09 pm

ZeroOne wrote:^^Check PM

if the sumitomo HTRZ3 is available locally for 900 I would not recommend buying the v12's.

The Sumitomo has proven to be better.
Very nice ZeroOne. And that's a fantastic price for those tyres shipped in. My 215/45/17s cost $1000 a pop back when I bought them.

I've heard good things about the Sumi HTRZIII, but I'm not sure it will be better than the Evos. I may try them next time though if they're available and if they're a cheaper.

nemesis wrote:Is the grip progressively lost with mileage with the Evo 12's? Or is it one of those tyres that are great for 5000km then have drastic degradation of everything good about them?
I've put almost 18000km on mines, and there's still no discernable loss in traction to me. Still grips like a beyotch :twisted:

Postby bushwakka » April 8th, 2012, 8:40 pm

nemesis wrote:Is the grip progressively lost with mileage with the Evo 12's? Or is it one of those tyres that are great for 5000km then have drastic degradation of everything good about them?

nope....everything that is good about the evos remains good throughout really afaik

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » April 9th, 2012, 6:56 pm

looking for some 205 50 16 Traction AA Temp A . Anything except Nexen, Triangle, Roadstone and Sunew. PM me if allyuh have anything or know where I could get tyres that meet the criteria

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 12th, 2012, 9:41 am

^^^Laughlin &de Gannes - Kumhos.

Postby Dave » April 12th, 2012, 10:01 am

Running v12's for 1.5yrs and still perform like a champ. I came from a tyre that was considered a road race tyre that inspired confidence and would make you a better driver and while the V12's are no where near those, they never felt very short of them. Tirerack's rating gave the V12 better marks than the Z3's when tested with other tyres and either one would never let you feel uneasy IMO.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » April 12th, 2012, 4:47 pm

^They available in 205 50 16? If so, where sells them?

pilak

Postby pilak » April 12th, 2012, 9:28 pm

k i've used both the htr z3 and the k110 v12 evo on a legacy. these are my thoughts:

-> Z3's last longer than the evos.

-> have people ever noticed that even for the same tyre size some different tyres are a bit wider than others? i noticed that the z3 in my size 215-45-17 was just a bit wider than the k110 evo. the car originally came with some re01 potenza in the same size and these were a little wider than the evo k110 when i measured them. the z3 was the same as the re01 for wide-ness.

-> the z3 was cheaper than the evo by 150 dollars for each tyre.

-> the z3 has awesome grip even for a heavy legacy. soe does the v12 evo k110 , but i prefer the z3 in this regard. it seemed to take longer before the rear of the car felt unstable.

-> the z3 i think has a noticeably stiffer sidewall so to me it feels more stable during hard drving. with the evo, the tyres felt a little squishy and so i was not as confident in them as i was with the z3. this is one thing i did not like about the v12 evo k110.

-> z3's are assymetrical inside-outside tyres. they do not use a v-shape tread. so doing a X-ways rotation is very easy, and does not involve removing the tyre from the wheel, which must be done with v-tread tres which must rotate in one direction only. this is a big factor for me, and saves alot of cost when doing rotations every 7000 km.

-> which would i buy again? both are very good, but the z3 is more value for money. it is cheaper, offers a little more performance in my view, and is easier to get.

and it cheaper to rotate.

Postby X_Factor » April 12th, 2012, 10:35 pm

whats the advantages of tire rotation?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 12th, 2012, 10:58 pm

Postby X_Factor » April 12th, 2012, 11:41 pm

well, yuh see....tell me what u think....
from a financial perspective....does it make sense to rotate tires providing they wear evenly in a 2wd vehicle?...also providing that you change them when they hit the wear indicators

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 13th, 2012, 7:53 am

well i've had a fwd vehicle where the front wheels did NOT wear evenly. the left side wore more than the right - noticeably.

So doing a cross ways rotation helped me extend tyre life. Plus as the left wore down more than the right, the car would pull slightly to the left.

Good review there pilak.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 13th, 2012, 3:17 pm

Same here, my previous front tyres did not wear evenly, the left wore out first pulling the car in that direction.

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » April 13th, 2012, 6:40 pm

who have a number for Bolo from barrackpore?

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 13th, 2012, 7:46 pm

the number of times that was asked in this thread im sure its somewhere about.lol.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » April 16th, 2012, 9:52 am

Monster 101 wrote:who have a number for Bolo from barrackpore?

Bolo-739-1650

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 7th, 2012, 2:52 pm

where do i get some 15"in the v12. Been looking but no luck. HELP

Postby bushwakka » May 7th, 2012, 3:59 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:where do i get some 15"in the v12. Been looking but no luck. HELP

ill be very surprised if u find that size in that

just speaking from my experiences....i tend to find that there are hardly any good performance tires to buy below 17". I think the tyre dealers figure that all cars that carry 16" and under are just grocery getters and they don't care about what tyres they put on.

I think u may find some proxes in that size though....

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 8th, 2012, 1:16 pm

I have 4 t1rs but i heard that the v12 better

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 10th, 2012, 1:48 pm

bushwakka wrote:
JDM_GUY wrote:where do i get some 15"in the v12. Been looking but no luck. HELP

ill be very surprised if u find that size in that

just speaking from my experiences....i tend to find that there are hardly any good performance tires to buy below 17". I think the tyre dealers figure that all cars that carry 16" and under are just grocery getters and they don't care about what tyres they put on.

I think u may find some proxes in that size though....

Yups i'm looking for some 215 or 225/60/16 and it's hard to find good tires that size. My T1R's are almost finished. Helpppp :(

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 10th, 2012, 2:09 pm

Any reviews on the Hankook H105?

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » May 11th, 2012, 10:03 am

just an update... not sure if any1 metioned this prior.. but dz101s are sheit in the wet

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 11th, 2012, 10:29 am

I had those dunlops and they are pretty good at the beginning but as soon as they reach about 80% life their grip deteriorates horribly on both wet and dry. Lots of hydroplaning on wet and felt the car loosing grip around sharp corners.

Postby Dave » May 11th, 2012, 10:49 am

i fail to believe those tyres hydroplane at 80km/h

Postby Morpheus » May 11th, 2012, 10:50 am

uttamj wrote:just an update... not sure if any1 metioned this prior.. but dz101s are sheit in the wet

^^I believe you're correct. Experienced that myself recently. :roll: