Grounding Your Car

pups

Postby pups » August 19th, 2009, 11:32 pm

great post...im goin to do this weekend in the b14....do i need a distributor block like how jackal has it or can i jus ground off to the chassis

Postby Hook » August 20th, 2009, 2:55 am

either way is fine....I made a grounding harness like the diagram so there's only one connection and everything grounds to everything else so it's all the same potential anyway

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 1st, 2009, 4:27 pm

I going to do this next week.

Items to buy from what i have gathered on this thread:

5 yards of good quality 4 guage cable.
12 lugs
1 audiopipe grounding box.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 9th, 2009, 1:41 pm

Are the distribution blocks really needed or could it be done on the regular grounds ?

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2009, 2:43 pm

^^can be done on the regular grounds

Postby Hook » October 9th, 2009, 2:47 pm

Yup, just ensure all grounding points are sanded clean and the wires securely fastened so that good electrical connections are made.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 9th, 2009, 3:43 pm

dmitc wrote:
Hook wrote:BTW....u ever found out what that blue/red bracket on the brake master cylinder was for?

as far as i could see it's incase the nuts for the brake booster was to come loose this braket prevents the whole setup from moving.
other than that me nah know

in case anyone was still wondering, taht is a master cylinder brace.
It bolts onto a part of the chassis with a thicker gauge metal than the firewall, such as the shock housing. Under extreme braking conditions, you get a consistent pedal feel.

I got a cusco unit installed on my car, made a huge difference for a minimal cost. It is an absolute must for persons with upgraded brakes ;)
< 100USD.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 14th, 2009, 7:20 pm

dmitc wrote:
tinytim wrote:Here's a useful diagram I found that outlines major grounding points.

I'm trying this out using this diagram. Ck4 lancer.

Could any1 tell me where to find points 1 & 2 please. Here are 2 pics that I took. I didn't want to interfere with anything before i break any seals or stuff like that.

Postby Morpheus » November 15th, 2009, 4:05 am

Just look for where the stock/original grounding cables arte and replace them or add to them.

For the CK there is one from the intake manifold to the firewall. That should cover #2

#1 I think it more to the left of the cylinder head. Can't remember if is more to the back.

NOTE: I referring to 4G13SOHC and 4G15DOHC eh. I see u have a 4G92SOHC but the principle should be the same.

Basically u can ground from any point. That diagram is just a general guide. Make sure all surfaces are clean, bare metal and that all connections are secure. Also route and neaten cables properly. U should be ok.

Hope that helps

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 15th, 2009, 4:14 am

Thanks man

Postby Morpheus » November 15th, 2009, 4:54 am

^^No problem

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » November 15th, 2009, 10:19 am

excellent info here!

Postby Hook » November 15th, 2009, 10:23 am

hooray for spam!
*ahem*
I mean..great thread! excellent info! good work guys!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 17th, 2009, 6:15 pm

Can anyone advise where I can get the heat shrink tubing to buy ?

i have asked all over and everyones looks at me like I am lost

Postby Morpheus » November 18th, 2009, 12:31 am

Where u from? Check Shams Electronics in El Dorado. Have not seen it there myself but it's worth a try.

Postby Hook » November 18th, 2009, 1:11 am

^^^ yup! I get all my heat shrink from there...kinda pricey, but I ain't seen it nowhere else so...
There are different sizes and colours stapled to a small board with one end shrunk so u know what size to expect after u heat it.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 18th, 2009, 9:38 pm

Morpheus & Hook

Thanks alot fellas. I got it and completed my stuff.

Thanks again.

Postby Morpheus » November 18th, 2009, 11:01 pm

Good for u Parvin. Care to give a lil review? Idle better? Electricals/electronics working better,etc.

And I sure u know dis coming. 'Giwwe' a lil sample pic nah. :mrgreen:

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2009, 11:12 pm

if anyone is gonna do this soon, can u do a before and after voltage test to see how much the increase was?

also the stock wire (+ve) from the alternator to battery can be change for even better results but i suggest using a 2g wire for that
i used two pieces of 4g though

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 19th, 2009, 9:38 am

X_Factor,

Thanks for mentioning the heat shrink as well.

Morpheus,

I'll try to arrange pics later. And yes, the acceleration is now better, lights seem brighter.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 19th, 2009, 12:00 pm

Not sure if it was mentioned before but the true ground point in your vehicle is actually the alternator casing and not the negative terminal on your battery.. that is why the most important wire to upgrade is alternator casing (or alt mount) to vehicle chassis...

i doubt you will actually get any performance upgrades out of this, unless your stock wires are really badly off.. but you will notice a slightly higher operating voltage throughout your vehicle..

other benefits are reduced noise in your audio system, better charging of your battery and more power for any other electrical accessories..

cyborg007

Postby cyborg007 » May 4th, 2010, 7:25 pm

i got a 6/8 point HKS distribution block..it ha s space for bout 8 more leads dnt know exactly where it grounded tho the car came wit it...

masterofmindzchris

Re: Grounding Your Car

Postby masterofmindzchris » May 11th, 2010, 1:21 am

nice bro...

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » May 13th, 2010, 11:30 am

Proper grounding is quite important, its not just for helping your sensors operate within spec. You car is full of relays, motors and solenoids, each of which generate inductive voltage spikes when operating. These spikes travel down the power lines and will frag assorted electronics. Proper grounding helps minimise the level of these spikes. If your grounding is poor you will get these spike transients of several volts.
I have measured transients 3V in peak, about 20 milliseconds duration due to poor grounding. Think of what 3V can do to say a 3V MAP sensor signal. How does it get into the sensor signal if it's on the ground line, you ask?

Because the sensor references the ground when outputting its signal. So suddenly you have weird fueling transients and u can't figure it.

That's why u need a proper electro guy when modding your car, DO NOT share ground wires with sensors & electromechanical devices. Do not UNDERSIZE power wires. DO NOT run POWER wires and sensor wires side by side, unless you run both the sensor ground & signal on the same path so both pick up the same transients for a net zero effect. DO Place clamping diodes reverse biased on any relays or solenoids you add.

If u need the clamping diodes, I know where you can get em for $2.00 ea instead of $5.00

wilddog

Postby wilddog » May 17th, 2010, 11:03 am

this is really an upgrade

Dragular

Postby Dragular » May 31st, 2010, 9:47 pm

tried this mod already. It really improves idling and cleans up stereo sound. Acceleration was better too. Ground the throttle body!

Postby 3stagevtec » May 31st, 2010, 10:54 pm

Dragular wrote:tried this mod already. It really improves idling and cleans up stereo sound. Acceleration was better too. Ground the throttle body!

that's highly subjective..

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 25th, 2011, 7:06 pm

i did my 'big 3' on sunday. (alternator to battery,battery to chassis and same point to cylinder head!)

results:-

smother idling(use to get some 'hunting' ALOT less now,better throttle response(people might say mind over matter),car starts better and meh air fuel gauge works better! :oops:

*i love trinituner :shock: :oops: *

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 26th, 2011, 4:44 pm

People,

When i was having electrical issues, the entire car was re-checked and a grounding kit recommended. I opted at the time to go with the Buddy Racing Grounding Kit after intensive research.

After it was installed, all electrical spikes were removed, better idling and a positive effect on the dyno graph were the results. I was more than convinved.

This is what my kit looks like (and yes its lighted a very cool blue) -

Parvin

Postby Parvin » January 26th, 2011, 4:59 pm

Where you got the kit ?