Grounding Your Car

jackal

Postby jackal » August 11th, 2004, 11:19 am

now that i have i have had more time to evaluate, yes, there was improvement, especially in response time, the car is more "zippy". it was worth the additional grounding points.

jackal

Postby jackal » August 12th, 2004, 12:10 pm

Greypatch wrote:wow improved mileage as well ?

ah never checked my gas milage, but ah feel ah should get a little thing, nothing noticable though.

Postby wagon r » October 5th, 2004, 6:05 pm

i hadda try this .....soon. :|

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » October 11th, 2004, 4:02 am

pictues need fixing X X X

tinytim

Postby tinytim » October 13th, 2004, 10:15 am

Here's a useful diagram I found that outlines major grounding points. I think the only one this seems to be missing is the alternator ground. Add that one in and you should be good to go.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 14th, 2004, 8:19 pm

InDeForest wrote:Ive done a similar setup, using a block of aluminum, drilled and tapped so you can screw the bolts down right into the block, not using a nut on the back. In fact, if i could get a scrap slab from a machine shop of aluminum/brass/copper in 1/2-3/4" i would do a whole bunch for anyone who wants

By the way, aluminium is not a good conductor, you would of gotten better results with an ordinary piece of steel over the alumnium. Now the steel would of corroded but its better. The better of those two would be the copper or brass and if you had some extra cash (like $80-100) you can buy the audiopipe grounding box (music fans you should know this box) which is the best because its gold plated. it not only looks good but you will get the best grounding capabilities because gold is the best conductor. so just shedding some light to eveybody but people doh figure yuh could use your thick gold chain or borrow de wife wedding ring and ground the car. :D :D :D I;m sure it will look real BLING BLING

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » October 19th, 2004, 1:02 am

all of this sounds interesting... cuz my car lackin the "pep in da step"..... takin long to downshift when u floor it an stuff like that... i should start aquirin stuff and try it....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 21st, 2004, 6:56 pm

^bump^

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » December 22nd, 2004, 12:33 am

what happen to the ground for the ecu chassis jackal

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » December 22nd, 2004, 4:08 am

that shoudl be the most important i say 8)

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » December 23rd, 2004, 1:10 am

Good work fellas.I have everything already,except the lugs.

I feel I have a project on my hands.

:D :) :D :) :D :) :D

Raziel

Postby Raziel » December 23rd, 2004, 1:16 am

Grounding is a cheap mod, even "car specific" kits are usually only about US$100, much less obviously the "do it yourself" route.

You are supposed to see better throttle response, idling, brighter headlights, better stereo? all kinds of claims made, p.s don't think the job done was overkill, most kits I've seen have about 7 grounding points.

Was always a little sceptical about this, until one day on speed TV, they had "sport compact magazine's" project STi, and the first thing you saw when they opened the bonnet was a grounding set, those fellas don't put unproven performance mods on the project cars. Also seen dyno charts online.

Question is Jackal, did you see any difference? too bad you didn't do a dyno run before and after

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » January 15th, 2005, 4:25 am

umm... anybody could help me out to do this grounding process w my ride? I figure it would help. RB20DE, been havin some problems wit de electrical wrt my headlights an idle. some grounding points an directions would be much appreciated.

BTW....A31 cefiro

Postby Maserati » September 4th, 2007, 2:34 pm

bump

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 5th, 2007, 6:29 am

^^^Aye like yuh resurrect a best post here :twisted: .

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » September 5th, 2007, 8:35 am

TurboDrive wrote:^^^Aye like yuh resurrect a best post here :twisted: .
^^^Indeed

This was supposed to be one of my projects :lol:

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 5th, 2007, 9:33 am

This was supposed to be one of my projects too. I could'nt find anything decent enough to fashion a distribution block.

Odessy

Postby Odessy » September 6th, 2007, 9:34 am

do u remove ur stock ground then to do a chasis ground?

need reply before i do $hite. :lol: 8-)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 7th, 2007, 2:23 pm

TurboDrive wrote:This was supposed to be one of my projects too. I could'nt find anything decent enough to fashion a distribution block.

"buy the audiopipe grounding box (music fans you should know this box) which is the best because its gold plated"

about $80-100

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » September 8th, 2007, 11:19 pm

well done.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 10th, 2007, 6:29 am

HondaB20B wrote:
TurboDrive wrote:This was supposed to be one of my projects too. I could'nt find anything decent enough to fashion a distribution block.

"buy the audiopipe grounding box (music fans you should know this box) which is the best because its gold plated"

about $80-100

:idea: Thank You. Do you of any place in central where I could get it ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 12th, 2007, 10:43 am

^^^just go any audio place and they should have it.......... right there in chaguanas proper or by glenns or anywhere around the block!!!!!

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » September 12th, 2007, 10:50 am

Gentlemen after spending some time and $$$$$$$$ to obtain the grounding kit, how do i know that it has made a difference . What do i look for after or what reading should i get before and after.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 12th, 2007, 11:51 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:^^^just go any audio place and they should have it.......... right there in chaguanas proper or by glenns or anywhere around the block!!!!!

Thanks Again!!!

Postby Sky » September 15th, 2007, 4:34 pm

Where you use the solder wire?

Postby X_Factor » September 18th, 2007, 8:39 pm

nebody else did this?

if so what did u use for ur distribution block?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 19th, 2007, 12:01 am

i just did 2 more..

1 to the block and another to the body....

my idle doesnt jump wen i drop on high beam...

i`m also gettin a nice 14v and the smallest point in the back of the car wen idle..

seems good to me

i just to get a jumpy 13-14

its constant now

Postby X_Factor » September 19th, 2007, 9:56 pm

allyuh...on the intake manifold on the ga15DE...the 2 wires on 3/8"s bolts thats on the left hand side...is that the manifold grounding point?...

and where is the engine block ground point located?

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » March 13th, 2008, 7:34 pm

i gonna resurect this for all those who forgot to do it ....

Postby bushwakka » March 17th, 2008, 5:46 pm

wow....didn't know the EFI process could be affected by all those issues....so i gather the manufacturer grounding simply doesn't cut it

true enuff, when i had installed my new pioneer deck i had a lot of engine noise as the rpms increased, but the guy who installed the amplifier did some magic solder job some way and all the noise went away presto......good post man!