FYI - Power window problem - Repaired not Replaced!!!!!

rolandk

FYI - Power window problem - Repaired not Replaced!!!!!

Postby rolandk » January 25th, 2007, 12:20 pm

Folks,

For the first time in about a year I tested my rear power windows (I don't often put down my windows) and found that one of my rear window goess down nicely - but to go up, it needs some help (need to push it up).

I hear & see the motor running, so nothing wrong with it.

I inspected the regulator, and everything looks OK, no cables kinked or tangled, assembly looks OK.

Seems as if the cable slips on the way up.

Has anyone come across this before?

How is this fixed?
Last edited by rolandk on February 15th, 2007, 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » January 25th, 2007, 12:51 pm

sometimes the motor is unable to push teh load of the glass

had this problem with my CK2 driver side

teh motor gets "worn" after a while

I just changed teh regulator

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » January 26th, 2007, 1:29 pm

Some lubrication in the guide channels may help relieve some of the frictional load. silicone lubricant or some people say even amaroll does help, but yea.....eventually the regulator will have to change.

rolandk

Postby rolandk » February 15th, 2007, 1:12 pm

OK Folks,

As I said, the cable was not damaged and the mechanism looked in order.

I bought a brand new regulator...and just before I installed it, I heard of a guy in d bamboo who repaired power windows.

So I went to check him out.

before he took it out, he said that a rubber was worn in the motor and it could easily be repaired.

In less than 10 minutes, he had the regulator out, opened the motor assembly and replaced the rubber.

Mounted up, lubricated the window channels with silicone spray, cleaned my window with glass cleaner, and tested assembly a few times!

Excellent service - and the cost was just $80

His name is Guiness.

Located two houses just after ROC on the LHS.

Just another point - in the time that I was there - he repaired 3 other regulators all with damaged cables.

Postby wagonrunner » February 15th, 2007, 2:27 pm

dang nice to hear, unforunately i know longer have ck2 issues, but will keep him in mind for other p/w problems

wonder if tuner, would like to compile ldirectory listing of ppl like this, who seem to be knowledgable and give good service.

Postby Hook » February 15th, 2007, 3:31 pm

u mean Guness....d blue shed kinda structure opposite Happi....yup, he does very good work

rolandk

Postby rolandk » February 15th, 2007, 4:14 pm

Guness/Guiness,

Same difference :D

Buh Hook, you coulda tell meh dat long time!

Postby Hook » February 15th, 2007, 6:26 pm

lol....ah sry boi...

venum

Postby venum » February 15th, 2007, 9:09 pm

great find rolandk

this info will no doubt be beneficial to all power window owners

you didn't by chance get a ph# for him

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » February 15th, 2007, 11:12 pm

wagonrunner wrote:^^
dang nice to hear, unforunately i know longer have ck2 issues, but will keep him in mind for other p/w problems

wonder if tuner, would like to compile ldirectory listing of ppl like this, who seem to be knowledgable and give good service.

that would be free advertising and you know how they feel about that kinda thing :roll:

rolandk

Postby rolandk » February 16th, 2007, 1:41 pm

venum wrote:great find rolandk

this info will no doubt be beneficial to all power window owners

you didn't by chance get a ph# for him

Sorry, that slipped me.

But the directions are sound.......

Head into Bamboo.............go straight down pass the playing field, Bicks etc.

Your Landmark is ROC on the Left hand side (you will see a big sign).

His garage is 2 houses after ROC (same side, but no sign or markings). Open shed, blue half wall.

easy to find - he does nothing else but window rerpairs.

Postby wagonrunner » February 16th, 2007, 2:04 pm

redsupra101 wrote:that would be free advertising and you know how they feel about that kinda thing :roll:

true, true.

but if this is a tuner site, and its a valuable tuner resource, and when you call other tuners that the person they gonna recommend...................lemme quit while i so far behind.

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » February 16th, 2007, 2:56 pm

yuh have a # fuh him ?

Rush

Postby Rush » February 17th, 2007, 12:10 pm

redsupra101 wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:^^

that would be free advertising and you know how they feel about that kinda thing :roll:

in a way it is free adv. but its just a 3ne 2nr community, coming together to help each other out the best way we can, we not tryin to promote ppl businesses, but rather just in a way congratulating them for doing good service,

Postby Hook » February 17th, 2007, 2:00 pm

I don't think he has a phone in the shop...at least I never seen one in the two times I've been there (different problems with different windows eh...he only needs to fix a problem once)

just drive str8 down the bamboo past all the parts places and when u pass ROC on ur left, look out for a large blue shed...looks like a warehouse without doors

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » February 17th, 2007, 4:07 pm

Thanks for the info. Need to carry my car.

SuperSpeedStuff

Postby SuperSpeedStuff » February 25th, 2007, 11:46 pm

breds tanx for dis info i go check he tomorrow i was told i have to get a new regulator cause i gettin d same probs u was gettin so i keepin meh fingers crossed and hoping that is d same ting like yours new regulator is bout 200 bucks and we ehh talkin labour as yet :( :( .............

legend

Postby legend » February 26th, 2007, 12:15 am

i definately go check this man...this accord driver window playing the arse....telling me i hadda get a whole new door...mad or wah...good info fellaz

Carcrazy007

Postby Carcrazy007 » February 26th, 2007, 10:24 pm

Very Good Info Fellaz...
Took my car last week by him after reading this post.
PW was fixed in 20mins...

Thanx...

VashTheStampede

Postby VashTheStampede » February 27th, 2007, 7:31 am

Numbers from his card:

H: 662-6708
C: 767-1826

Excellent work.

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 27th, 2007, 8:35 am

Nice info - have a libero to carry there..

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » February 27th, 2007, 8:54 am

Excellent all the power windows in my car giving trouble ... thanks for the info.. have some money to spend :cry:

SuperSpeedStuff

Postby SuperSpeedStuff » March 6th, 2007, 3:43 pm

i now come back from there ............. d man make me save some money he real good and fast did it in bout half hour open regulator show me how d rubber burst replaced it and greese up and ting and window workin perfect!!!!!!!!! allyuh hadda go dey ........................ last place i went told me i had to get a new regulator which was 200 bucks and labour 100 bucks ......... go by guiness and pay 100 bucks labour and part included yuh cyah go wrong..... :mrgreen:

Amit

info

Postby Amit » March 6th, 2007, 8:42 pm

this man is good, if you have to do more than one door go during the week, he will tell you he dont have time on a saturday,
i was there sat, he proberly did about 50 cars while i was there, he goo

as he does say if u dont have patience go to the bar and sip on a cold beer , while he work on you power window

rolandk

Postby rolandk » March 8th, 2007, 10:04 am

Waaayz,

This fella should give me a commission :lol:

MarkDeGr8

Re: FYI - Power window problem - Repaired not Replaced!!!!!

Postby MarkDeGr8 » July 12th, 2017, 9:38 am

Nice Stuff guys... Allu save a brother life. I have a new model Hyundai Accent and the rear left window giving trouble. Will go and check him.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2017, 9:35 pm

hadda check him with my c32, thing moving ded ded

Postby black start » July 27th, 2017, 9:48 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:hadda check him with my c32, thing moving ded ded

Thought you sell that?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2017, 10:33 pm

Financial mistake, currently painting. Bought 2 years now. Less than 100km since

Sent from my GT-I9060C using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby black start » July 27th, 2017, 11:48 pm

C32 is good project non the less.