HAVE A AE91 5A ENGINE GETTING FUEL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS

jason3000

HAVE A AE91 5A ENGINE GETTING FUEL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS

Postby jason3000 » October 21st, 2010, 9:17 pm

:?: VEHICLE WAS OVERHEATING, WENT TO MECANIC,WAS REFERED TO RADIATR APECIALIST,SAID I HAD A BLOWN HEAD CYLINDER GASKET AND A LEAKING RADIATOR CAP. POOR ME I WENT FOR THE BIG PROBLEM FIRST - HAD MECHANIC TAKE OFF HEAD WENT TO MACHINE SHOP,SHAVE N PRSSR TEST,REPLACE GASKET, PUT BACK UP THE HEAD AND STILL OVER HEATING CHNG RADITR CAP PROBLEM FIX. BUT SINCE DEN VEHICLE STOP PINGING BUT AM LOSING POWER AND IT DRINKING GAS. WHAT CAN I DO. AM ALSO INTERSTED IN A 4A SINCE THIS IS A BETTER ENGINE. PLEASE HELP

Re: HAVE A AE91 5A ENGINE GETTING FUEL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS

Postby Hook » October 22nd, 2010, 9:41 am

lol....sounds like whoever re-assembled your engine facked up your timimg.

The good thing is, your 5A is a non-interference engine so you didn't damage anything. Have A DIFFERENT mechanic (preferably one that knows what he's doing) check back your cam timing and ignition timing.

jason3000

Postby jason3000 » October 22nd, 2010, 9:30 pm

yeh boy punchin, I thought the same thing, these fellas real gred and they charging big money. did cary it back to the same mechanic to complain, but ofcourse the runaround so i fire he. tell me nah who can you recommend!

Postby Hook » October 23rd, 2010, 10:07 am

hmmm...I dunno any mechanics in the POS area off hand nuh...will check u back if anything.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 23rd, 2010, 1:50 pm

i have a replace 5a for dat model if you interested call meh 4952320

Postby Hook » October 23rd, 2010, 3:59 pm

^^^ big mechanic like you would rather offer a replacement engine instead of checking his timing? *steups*

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 23rd, 2010, 9:52 pm

ahahahahah, hook quicker buck, wanna repaint car. but if he willing to make a south trip i willing to check it out for him

jason3000

Postby jason3000 » October 25th, 2010, 4:33 pm

will do

jason3000

Postby jason3000 » November 9th, 2010, 10:37 pm

problem solved, power back to normal, now is to solve the pinging, any solutions? :roll: :roll:

Postby Hook » November 9th, 2010, 11:12 pm

sooooo...how'd you solve the problem, bub?

Postby cinco » November 10th, 2010, 7:03 am

pinging is preignition
sounds like your problem aint solve buddy it is just waiting to go boom again

Postby Hook » November 10th, 2010, 9:34 am

:lol: I'm holding off on the gloom and doom until we find out how he solved his power loss problem...when he replies we'll see

If it's pinging from the get-go then it's likely his cam timing is still off (prolly by just a tooth though), either by the exhaust cam, or at the crank...zero the crank pulley timing mark and make sure your cam gear timing marks line up where they should.

If it's pinging within a certain rpm range, likely it's just an ignition timing issue...that's nothing a mech with a timing light can't fix...set between 8-10*BTDC...and you should be okay (unless it's a problem with the distributor itself, but that's for another day).

Any mech that says to you "nah man, we doh need dem ting", just walk out of the shop and find another one that uses a timing light.

Postby cinco » November 10th, 2010, 9:52 am

could be incorrect plugs
bad fuel delivery
bad plug wires
distributor on the fritz
timing belt improperly installed
tons of little things sounds like he needs a new mech :lol:

Postby Hook » November 10th, 2010, 10:01 am

Well yeah, all those things...maybe I'm being presumptuous that plugs, wires and fuel are all in order.
4A/5A uses NGK BRK5EY11 plugs if I remember correctly...I never put a FPG on it so I really can't tell u what FP is supposed to be.
But the easiest check is to eliminate timing and other stuff you can tweak/adjust as an issue first before he starts spending moolah replacing stuff all helter skelter hoping one of them works.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 12th, 2010, 7:27 pm

yeh fellas the car get sorted out, was a matter of when the previous mech did the head work he didnt set the cams when he put them back on. it was a tooth out an the intake cam wasnt preloaded. i did everything but the problem to time the engine is that te1 and e1 terminals of the diag port not working so i was getting the car to go into timing mode. i adjusted the timing best of my abilties to reduce as much pinging, and well i told him to try mixing a bit of premium in his full ups or octane booster.

jason3000

Postby jason3000 » November 17th, 2010, 12:06 pm

well guys seems like we have achallenge on we hands here. turbohead did a good job on the cams, but we still have some pinging. if i remember correctly the ignition timimng is set at 12 rite now, so based on what you guys saying i should get it down to 8 or ten. so i will do this and see what happens. NEXT CHALLENGE- IF TURBO COULD REMEMBER, WHEN HE WORKED ON THE CAR IT SEEM TO BE GETTING HOT FAST AND I THINK THIS IS BECAUSE THE ENGINE IS BURNING OIL QUICKLY, MIND YOU THERE IS NO BLUE SMOKE IN THE TAIL PIPE, SO IT MAY BE A SEAL LEAK, I AM TOPPING UP RITE NOW AT A QUART EVERY OTHER WEEK. WHAT SAY YE EXPERTS? :?: :?:. back to the fuel problem hook, my plugs are denso plugs bought at toyota they r fearly new, i dont know what to say about the distributer,and how to troubleshoot it and its cables any advice here. let me add that when i start the car it vibrates very heavy and takes a little while befor it settles down, unless ofcourse i put the ac on. what could this be, and yes it only pings at certain rpms, like just after it changes from first gr to 2nd on flat roads and if am moving slow on a hill, if i speedup pinging stops to return when i slow down dis is on hills. WHAT SAY YE EXPERTS :?: :shock:

Postby Hook » November 17th, 2010, 8:02 pm

Experts? :lol:

I'm no expert, BUT I can tell you that when ignition timing is too advanced, you get knock, poor fuel consumption and overheating; all three of which you're getting right now. Retard it down to 10degrees BTDC and monitor the effect this has on your engine's performance.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 19th, 2010, 7:55 pm

i set it at 12 because its normally at that with the pins on teh obd1 port not bridged.

Postby Hook » November 19th, 2010, 10:26 pm

^^^ can you get to the ECU and bridge them from there?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 20th, 2010, 9:07 am

hmmm i didnt tink of it like dat......it is worth a shot.

jason3000

Postby jason3000 » November 23rd, 2010, 10:49 pm

yeah fellas, so i adjust the distributer and the pinging is gone, a little less pwer though and less speed but nothing to shout about i live on a hill and its climin well. found out that the oil problem is due to a bad oil pan gasket so am driving on a leak. does the 4afe gaskets fit on dis model? base on pics ive seen online they look quite similar. will check parts stores for a match. turbo wen can i come in to complete the job ecu and oil leak.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 24th, 2010, 7:12 pm

these dont have gaskets it silicone

jason3000

Postby jason3000 » December 10th, 2010, 12:16 am

yeah fellas notice that alot of corollas ping, does this generally mean to rebuild or is it a ignition problem. or can it be fuel quality. would like to here from someone who have solved this problem without changing the engine. :?:

Postby cinco » December 10th, 2010, 6:54 am

when you say alot of them ping are you sure you know what a ping sounds likes and it isnt just valve train noises you are mistaking them for?
i not tryin to shite you up eh i just asking.
we detailed out the most common reasons for pinging and considering your engine it leads towards improper timing are you sure you have the correct timing belt installed? camshafts and crank pulley are good?

Postby Hook » December 10th, 2010, 9:57 am

Actually I have also noticed a lot of audible knock in Corollas on acceleration. Not just the ones I've owned, but in random ones passing you in the street as well.

Dunno if it's an ignition timing advance curve problem that's inherent in the engines or excessive carbon build-up in the cylinders causing it, but I notice it way too often to ignore.

Postby cinco » December 10th, 2010, 10:12 am

never paid it much attention Hook
but sounds like it may just be a carbon issue then with people not maintaining their combustion chamber
is carbon a common issue with the 5a?

Postby Hook » December 10th, 2010, 10:37 am

lol...when u drive an older model Corolla, you tend to notice the other ones around you

but I dunno if it's a common problem...on my vehicles it's usually been improperly set ignition timing, wrong fuel or a combination of both

Seeker

Postby Seeker » December 10th, 2010, 10:42 am

cinco wrote:never paid it much attention Hook
but sounds like it may just be a carbon issue then with people not maintaining their combustion chamber
is carbon a common issue with the 5a?

I have a question; how to maintain the combustion chamber properly??

Postby cinco » December 10th, 2010, 10:59 am

http://www.carfanmania.com/blog/1050982_maintaining-an-engine--things-you-should-know-about-dohc-4s-6s-and-8s
most importantly
airfilter replacement (dutty air means dutty fuel and dutty combustion)
spark plug replacement and using the correct plug in our climate due to the higher temps and the stop and go traffic.
a good hard blast down the highway for a period of time also helps bring the chamber up to temp and loosen the carbon (not endorsed by the popos :lol: )
there are alot of things that contribute to carbon ( our gas quality even )
u can google carbon build up and read through but be selective and objective when you read it

i know this may have been long winded and also dumbed down alot but it is a lot of stuff to explain and google is your friend

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 11th, 2010, 3:21 pm

cinco the timing is good, and i reset the cams they were off by a tooth