Re: Auto A/C diagnosis help-Answers for auto A/C troubleshoo

Postby mazdanavisport » May 17th, 2011, 6:53 pm

how to flush ac system for an altezza

Postby Hook » May 18th, 2011, 11:15 am

mazdanavisport wrote:how to flush ac system for an altezza

"flush" an a/c system? as in clear all the old gas out and put in fresh stuff?

That's best left to a professional who'll be able to vacuum pump all the old stuff out, replace the drier bottle, put fresh compressor oil and pressure-test the system before re-gassing.

Why would you want "flush" an a/c system anyway?

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » May 18th, 2011, 1:42 pm

PM sent.....

Postby Hook » May 18th, 2011, 1:46 pm

A/C PARTS ETC. wrote:PM sent.....

Hook wrote:here's a cool idea, how about you post the answers here, cuz some of those questions are good to know the answer, in terms of maintenance, do's n' don'ts etc.

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » May 26th, 2011, 5:07 pm

is it tru that when your drier bottle is flashin to much it needs gasing

Postby The_Honourable » May 26th, 2011, 11:10 pm

Yo! A/C not cooling the whole car properly especially on a hot day. I gased it up and about 3 months, it goes back to the problem. Figure a leak somewhere? Honda Accord 2002 (CF9).

Postby Hook » May 27th, 2011, 10:38 am

On my older 20valve engine, it came with a compressor for the R12 gas. I'm not certain what the rest of the system was designed for or was gas it came with, but there was an issue where the engine had to be removed and the system was depressurised. When all was repaired, the technician put in the R134a gas and used the correct oil for said gas (it was explained to me that the different refrigerants use different grades of oil) and it was working fine.

Now, it's a local AE101 Corolla and I'm not certain if the evaporator and condensor are made for the R12 or the R134a, but the system worked great on the R134a despite the fact that the compressor was designed for the R12 gas.
Some months later, a leaky clamp depressurised the system and I was referred to another technician who used a type of clamp on the flex lines that look and fit like factory clamps, but he drained and filled the system with the R12 as indicated on the compressor. It didn't work as great as before, but I wasn't certain if that was a compressor issue or the type of gas.

Flash forward a couple years to now, the engine had to come out (again *steups*) and now I gots no more R12 in the system. Now I got my hands on a R134a compressor that's in superb condition and I'm wondering if I could just swap it and use the R134a gas and call that George.

Now, I was told the R12 and R134a components have a difference in the bore.
How do I check which type of system is in the car?
Why can't I just use the R134a compressor and gas? I was happy using R134a in an R12 compressor all along before I got the R12.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 27th, 2011, 10:46 am

A/c works well when car is moving or outside temp is low (night or raining). When idling or in slow moving traffic in midday sun inside temp gets uncomfortably high and air coming out vents not as cold.

Condenser fan is working properly and blower is working properly.

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » May 28th, 2011, 12:02 pm

PM sent.....

scruff76

Postby scruff76 » June 1st, 2011, 12:21 am

a/c working but blower only comes on on the "3" setting
all the other settings stopped working one buy one ( '1' first then '2')
i kno the a/c workin cuz the line freezes up on the lower settings.
on 'auto' the blower comes on full blast in the beginning but when the required temp is achieved and a lower speed required it stops blowing

n14 nissan pulsar

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » June 1st, 2011, 3:37 pm

PM Sent.....

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » June 2nd, 2011, 1:19 pm

Anybody need NEW parts. I could get some sweet deals.

oSaRi.

Postby oSaRi. » June 4th, 2011, 3:14 pm

I have a ae100 my ac blows cold while car is moving but gets hot when idleing. If I put the car in neutral and rev the engine when car is stationary the ac gets back cold. What can be the problem. I have checked the pressure of the gas at idle by an ac technician and said that the pressure is good.

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » June 6th, 2011, 10:43 am

PM Sent.....

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 6th, 2011, 3:41 pm

A/c works well when car is moving or outside temp is low (night or raining). When idling or in slow moving traffic in midday the air coming out vents not as cold. unless i making a long run .Condenser fan is working properly and blower is working properly.a/c working but blower only comes on on the high speed all the other settings stopped working one by one ( '1' first then '2')i kno the a/c workin cuz the line freezes up on the lower settings. was told to change the drier bottle and some valve cant remember the name by an AC Technician.

mchan

Postby mchan » June 6th, 2011, 8:57 pm

im looking for a evaporator for ae 92 corolla that is of aluminum, the 1 i hav is made out of copper and i dont know if its any good, but im currently in the process of changing over the system, bought new drier bottle,condenser , new ac lines, im not sure how well is the compressor....i bought the car lsat yr and the ac wasnt working, i was advise to do over the entir system...any assitance would be greatly apprieciated

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 7th, 2011, 10:44 am

I have a good question thats been bothering me for a few weeks...

Usually, my A/C blows nice and cold, no issues.. But sometimes when its really hot outside it suddenly stops blowing cold and it will get gradually warmer until it just makes more sense to wind down the windows..
At this point, if you take off the ac and turn it on again, it will blow cold for a while until the same thing happens.
Strange thing being, if you use the car a few hours later, or maybe the next day A/C works fine like if it never had a problem.

I had the refrigerant pressure tested, no leaks and the pressure is fine..

What do you think I could be facing? What sort of problem?

Phil_Franc

Postby Phil_Franc » June 10th, 2011, 9:46 am

My A/C rellllllll robs power from my engine , i can literally feel the car become far more sluggish as soon as the a/c is turned on. my fans apparently are from a b14, and i thought that may b the problem but i unplugged the fans and drove for a bit one day. flicked the a/c switch and it still was robbing rell power as normal. i know a/c does rob some power but to be able to feel it so much ?? my engine idles fine with a/c on an everything and i see the step up motor works wen i turn it on at idle. .last thing too is i hear a loud kinda belt grinding noise for a 2 seconds or so whenever i turn the a/c on. .....any suggestions???? :(

PNM

Postby PNM » June 10th, 2011, 1:00 pm

I have a libero Wagon 1998. The ac blowing hot air, I hearing the motor coming on and off but the air hot, It have a kinda canister attached to the line with a small glass on the top and when the ac on I can see like water flowing inside the canister. I open the valve of the AC an push the pin and it looking like it have gas cause what blew out was under pressure. Who can I carry this by to have them check it out for me, cause as the rains coming now I cyah drive with the Window down.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 12th, 2011, 8:28 am

like is no more free info ? haven't gotten back a reply from this guy in a while.

Phil_Franc

Postby Phil_Franc » June 13th, 2011, 9:04 am

He mus b get a job :S

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 13th, 2011, 9:08 am

or get catch giving free advice.

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » June 13th, 2011, 5:11 pm

Sorry guys....I have other financially beneficial business that is demanding all my attention these days....I would post answers to all as soon as I can.

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » June 15th, 2011, 12:14 pm

PM Sent....

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » June 15th, 2011, 12:20 pm

Anyone with 02-06 CR-V RD5 model suffering from initial or repetative a/c compressor failures....Do you want to break the cycle or don't want to join the CR-V a/c compressor failure club?...PM me.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 16th, 2011, 8:10 am

ek4ever wrote:A/c works well when car is moving or outside temp is low (night or raining). When idling or in slow moving traffic in midday sun inside temp gets uncomfortably high and air coming out vents not as cold.

Condenser fan is working properly and blower is working properly.

This is my problem. Any idea of what could be the cause? The car is a local 1997 Mitsubishi CK1 Lancer. Thank you.

Papajohn

Postby Papajohn » June 16th, 2011, 1:41 pm

Is it possible to mount a pair of 2 Speed almera type fans including the brackets to a 14x26 multi-flow condenser.

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » June 17th, 2011, 10:29 am

Pm sent.....

A/C PARTS ETC.

Postby A/C PARTS ETC. » June 17th, 2011, 10:30 am

Anyone in need of a new Navara evaporator?

greall

Postby greall » June 20th, 2011, 1:02 pm

I just had my A-C system sorted out after a compressor change and reconstructed system nearly three years... lol

It just stopped getting cold in the car so I took it to the usual tech who noticed leaks in the evaporator and I had that replaced.I then started to get squeals when the A-C was engaged and suspected the belt so I bought a new one as I was seeing it skipping on the compressor.I had to have that belt tightened and the squealing persisted.

I got tired of it and had another belt installed but that one nearly burnt off with smoke and all scaring the kid who ran to tell me that my car was on fire.I did online research as to what could be the problem and got varying opinions from those in the field.

I carried to a guy [not my usual tech] who came highly recommended where he put in a new belt and bled the system.He put in some more gas and the coldness returned but he told me to have the thermostat looked at.

I carried it to another guy who was confused as to why the guy before would bled the system and put in more gas.He bled the system even more and then told me that too much gas was put in after I changed the evaporator.He put in more gas,washed down the condenser and adjusted the thermostat.

I now have a cycling compressor and a mobile 'Antarctica' save for the fact that I can only get up to '3.5' on the fan speed control which is another issue.

Greg
PBH Mitsu Libero