Postby JWT » December 23rd, 2004, 5:27 pm

none of u all going to upgrade to bigger brakes except flatline
so as mini me said go for d show
18's stay awy from dem sheit expensive to replace and maitain
an remember bsa is not a brndname rim ehh :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

plex

Postby plex » December 23rd, 2004, 6:37 pm

anyhow i have to buy some new tires next yr i looking for 215/40/17..i want to check out TOYO tires..anybody runing these???

Postby noshownogo » December 25th, 2004, 11:09 pm

yeh plex i runnin toyo proxes 4 on my car 215/45/17 deh sweet. de t1-s nice but they get loud as they age but de 4 deh fix many problems and yuh have really good tw (300) on a sticky tire. De performance really hard to believe for de tw but don't trust me check christian @ milage mack

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 26th, 2004, 2:42 am

crazybalhead wrote:Wrightson road is fun!!!!!! :? :x

lol real fighting between me and steering wheel when I on Wrightson with them 215/40/17's :lol:

plex

Postby plex » December 26th, 2004, 9:03 am

noshownogo wrote:yeh plex i runnin toyo proxes 4 on my car 215/45/17 deh sweet. de t1-s nice but they get loud as they age but de 4 deh fix many problems and yuh have really good tw (300) on a sticky tire. De performance really hard to believe for de tw but don't trust me check christian @ milage mack

thats the place i going to check out the tyres..just hope i have no rubbing on the tires..

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » December 26th, 2004, 12:36 pm

plex, what is your stock tyre size? Use a tyre calculate to figure out what you can upgrade to. Try
http://www.konigwheel.com

Also, you should choose a rim with a smaller offset to reduce the chance of rubbing

Postby SR » December 26th, 2004, 1:01 pm

wrightson road is da bomb for rying to drive yuh car with low profile tyres very dangerous at high speed

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » December 26th, 2004, 1:03 pm

writson road is a badd example.. i have driven all kind of v3ehicles ther regularl.. from laurel wit 235/65/14 ' to mu 185/50 13's.. trucks.. cars vans.. dunno what de evo runnn but that to.. and writson road is a biatch.. two and s on the wheels at all times... imo i doh notice ne diffrence in how the road pull b/ ci expect it.. same like off roading.. yuh read the dips an valleys b/4 yuh reach it.. like jim said the side wall hight is relative to the width of ur tire.. personaly.. im hot a big fan of very low profile tires.. as.. for example a padner of mine has i think.. 255 0r 285 60 18's on his jeep .. now not verry low profile but they do give the suv a nice stance an look. but that thing is a pain in the ass to ride in an drive.. u feel the gravel in the road.. now the ride is livable.. b/c it is only a lil harder that stock b/c of the off road nature of the suspension.. .. but on the other hand .. the 235 70 14 that som mad man put on my laurel b4 i bought it while did give me exelent clearence an stability when crashing through what ever track in the bush i was on. it was a pain to throw around an put conciderable strain on the pwr stering.. so droped the tire size to a almost stock 205 60 14 then started experencing dented rims. tire failures.. not to mentionthe number of dent under the car increased drasticaly.. on top of that the stability of the car when throwing it aroung on ceatin winding roads... decreased b/c the car lost it wide foot print....
back up tp 235 60's now. and seems to be working okay

so basicaly.. chose yuh tires size carfully.. i would say dont always gowith wat looks best but what can handel how an where u drive then decide how to make it look good.. unless yuh like mr jwt , dry,mitsucrazy an flatline :mrgreen: and can affor to take 3 minutes to cross humps.. :lol: :lol: .. ... nay nay.. rental car tires rule..lol...

oh btw.. runnin toyos on the evo...and daymm.. :twisted: .. ne one wann a run to toco? :twisted: :twisted:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » December 26th, 2004, 1:16 pm

horsepwrjunki wrote:so basicaly.. chose yuh tires size carfully.. i would say dont always gowith wat looks best but what can handel how an where u drive then decide how to make it look good.. unless yuh like mr jwt , dry,mitsucrazy an flatline :mrgreen: and can affor to take 3 minutes to cross humps.. :lol: :lol: .. ... nay nay.. rental car tires rule..lol...

oh btw.. runnin toyos on the evo...and daymm.. :twisted: .. ne one wann a run to toco? :twisted: :twisted:

uhh, w/e else he said, i think...i have no idea :roll:

but umm, yeah, u see why i take 3 mins to cross the hump that night, i was just trying not to damage the tyres and rims! :lol:

And I waiting on meh run in the evo eh

plex

Postby plex » December 26th, 2004, 1:32 pm

flatline, my stock wheel size was 195/65/14 and then i went to upgrade to 205/40/17...what wanted now was some more sidewalls..these wheels are on a Peugeot 306 sedan.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 26th, 2004, 1:52 pm

tyre calulator says you've lost about .5 inches in overal tyre diameter. Not too bad.....speedo off by 2.2%. I say u ok.....but i know in general people fraid 40 profiles for rim damage.

Good luck on wrightson rd......yesterday...like it was melting!!!!!
Last edited by seanf3000 on December 26th, 2004, 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 26th, 2004, 1:56 pm

215/40/17....only loses you .2 inches if yuh want more sidewall. and 225/40/17 gives u only .1 inch more diameter more than stock.

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » December 26th, 2004, 2:11 pm

i'm up to 215/50/17 from 195/55/14. BIG diference in steering control. the fkin car tells me where SHE wants to go. tramlinin is not good for driving comfort.
now the car is ideal for short bursts on winding roads (like asphalt stage WRC) but high speed highway runs isn't as enjoyable.
200 isn't a good speed to tramline.

assassin

Postby assassin » December 26th, 2004, 2:11 pm

225/40/17 gives u only .1 inch more diameter more than stock

^^^ yeah but he might have to roll the fenders to fit a 225 17 without it rubbing

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 26th, 2004, 2:17 pm

I running 225/50/15s on my fielder.....plenty of clearance......almost exact diameter to stock.......

I was going to mention that...but i took it for granted since i didn have probs with mine.......sorry bros.

I figured if the 225/40/17 was only 1/10 of an inch more in dia. to stock them we wouldn't be any where near his fenders.......but them i'm assuming hes running with stock shocks.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » December 26th, 2004, 2:25 pm

the tyre calc recommended 215/40/17 as the 17" upgrade...sidewall goes from 5.5" stock to 3.4", but your diameter decreases by 0.2" but you get more grip area i.e 7.7" to 8.5", so with the drop in diameter u should be ok with the width. Best thing is to try them at the shop to see if they will hit

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » December 26th, 2004, 2:29 pm

sean, not only the height, u forgetting is a whole 2 cm wider than stock

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 26th, 2004, 4:31 pm

yeah.......but i was figuring for my car nah........225 didn give me a prob......but then i on stock suspension ...so i no where near my fenders....

He may have dropped his tho so..i guess then i comes into play. Still best advice is go to the tire shop like flatline said....i've seen 195s that look exactly like 205s irl.

plex

Postby plex » December 27th, 2004, 1:47 am

by the way my car is lower 1.8" . so like you guys say i have to try the tire shop and see how it fits..

pbf1940

Postby pbf1940 » December 27th, 2004, 5:53 pm

mna I looking at going back to 16" in about three weeks
looking out for some Proxies 215 40 16 like meh boy SENTRAMAN hooked me up with a while back

plex

Postby plex » December 27th, 2004, 10:20 pm

i wish i could drop back to 16" wheels but it is not like somebody go buy rims that fit Peugeot. so i stick with the 17" and just deal with it...

JWT

Postby JWT » December 28th, 2004, 12:51 am

hm all dem big rim i just hope u knw if dem rims eh light u going to kill ur end and cradles uknow

ok :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
like i said 18inch adr's they light 8)
choose light

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 28th, 2004, 11:16 am

^^Light ....is right boss!

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » December 28th, 2004, 11:22 am

Light as in weight, not light reflecting of them ughhhlyy heavy chrome lexanis :!:

konigs, advans, volks... konigs most affordable

Grind

Postby Grind » January 4th, 2005, 2:39 am

I'm running Pirelli 215/40/17 on my Elantra. Stock was 195/60/14 which is what I got the car with.
The difference is noticible but it doesn't bother me much. What will also magnify the loss in ride comfort is the type of tyre ur using; some are noisier than others, the height of the car (lowered is worse) and the weight of the car. The difference will become more pronounced if your car has more passengers in it, or a big box and some amps in the trunk :!:

plex

Postby plex » January 6th, 2005, 11:15 pm

well it makes sense, remember the rim is closer to the ground..so less sidewalls..perfect for conering..

Hot Rod

Postby Hot Rod » January 7th, 2005, 10:37 pm

205/45/16 rides well, gr8 handling .....................

but it could find any uneven road surface ..................... if the road slightly rough lawdddddddddddddddd

but generally rides well

Rx

Postby Rx » January 7th, 2005, 11:09 pm

205 50 16 ...........from 195 60 14................hmmmmm well wat ah could say?

ah lost mih smooth ride :?

car seems to go it's own way on uneven surfaces :?

corners like boss :) filled up most of my fender space :)

looks great :)

mih dog has more rim to pee on :x