Trinidad & Tobago MVT, VAT, CD and Transfer Fees

Looking to Buy, Sell or Trade your vehicle or parts? Post it here
Cars, Bikes, Trucks, Pickups, Vans, Boats, ATVs etc

Forum rules
• Negative comments or replies, lowballing or 'sale bashing' are NOT allowed in FS topics.
• Personal ads are FREE. Commercial Ads are not allowed without Powerseller Status. Posting items/property for rent is considered commercial.
• Powerseller status is for users who wish to post many items for sale, new or used.
• Even if you do not own a business but would like to post many items for sale, then Power Seller status is required.
• Users are limited to no more than 2 simultaneous Ads / FS (For Sale) topics per classified forum; powersellers are limited to no more than 4.
• Ads that have not been replied to after 180 days will be deleted.
Please click here to view the forum rules
sport20

Postby sport20 » April 17th, 2006, 6:04 pm

actually it's an rx-8
so about $170,000 on the road then?
however when i converted the 2,000,000 JPY to TT, it came upt to about $105,000TT.
I didn't convert it to US, then TT, I just converted from yen to TT.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 17th, 2006, 8:08 pm

sport20 wrote:actually it's an rx-8
so about $170,000 on the road then?
however when i converted the 2,000,000 JPY to TT, it came upt to about $105,000TT.
I didn't convert it to US, then TT, I just converted from yen to TT.

Yes you are absolutely correct about the conversion from Yen too TT amount. I'm accustomed to changing it to USD first cause I believe those guys like to be paid in USD (I could be mistaken).

Does the 2,000,000 JPY include shipping to Trinidad? If it doesn't then you need to add it on then tax it 35%, then 15%.
If the 2,000,000 includes the shipping charges then yes, the car should cost about TT$170,000 on the road. All you would need to do is get some license plates, insurance and you're all set.

By the way ensure you can get the car insured before you decide to spend all that money.

Whatever site you are using, do they have any 2002-2004 Toyota celica's for sale?

sport20

Postby sport20 » April 17th, 2006, 9:44 pm

well i have no plans in buying the car really. i just like to be knowledgeable about things like this.
if i had the money i would be more serious about it.

sorry, i didn't see any 2002-2004 celica's. they have the much older models which you won't be able to license here, unless you know a way to do it because i've seen a 98 familia with PBU license plate! as well as other cars that don't meet the age requirement for licensing.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 17th, 2006, 10:07 pm

sport20 wrote:well i have no plans in buying the car really. i just like to be knowledgeable about things like this.
if i had the money i would be more serious about it.

sorry, i didn't see any 2002-2004 celica's. they have the much older models which you won't be able to license here, unless you know a way to do it because i've seen a 98 familia with PBU license plate! as well as other cars that don't meet the age requirement for licensing.

thanks for checking...well theres alot of bobol in this place when it comes to licensing cars.

The example used above was a simple one but if you looking to buy say an evo or sti which has a 2.0 litre engine, then it is calculated a bit differently since they would be the additional charge of motor vehicle tax

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 19th, 2006, 7:28 am

^^ey...don't forget the dealer markup eh........that varies so much it not funny!!

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 19th, 2006, 9:52 am

seanf3000 wrote:^^ey...don't forget the dealer markup eh........that varies so much it not funny!!

seanf3000 yes you are right about this. But tell me something. Did you bring in your fielder by yourself? I am thinking about brining in something myself but I want to know how much headache is involved.

I am thinking about brining in something with the 2zz engine (rated 1796 cc) Are you sure that this would fall in the $4/cc bracket or would those idiots throw me into the $8/cc category....it makes alot of difference in the price at the end of the day.

If you did bring in your car yourself can you advise which site you bought it from?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 19th, 2006, 10:40 am

I got my fielder from CRISM. Didn't get any hassles. I don't think you have to worry about the MVT. They did use the $4/cc. Exact engine capacity listed on the cert and in the engine bay.

Some peeps brought in cars on the site......but i prefer to let a dealer handle all of that yes.....and i kinda like to have a warranty...even tho its shorter that a band new car.

TK!

Postby TK! » September 10th, 2006, 2:00 am

sport20 wrote:sorry, i didn't see any 2002-2004 celica's.

i can get one of that landed in trinidad for approx 100,000 TT... then u do your stuff to get it on the road.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » September 11th, 2006, 7:27 pm

Hey guys, I have a question. It is obvious that the reason Trinidad is full of so many cars with small engines is because of that stupid tax for engines over 1.6L. But does anyone know if you can bring in a car without an engine, so you would pay no tax on it? And could you then bring in the engine separate, and what tax would you then pay on it?

That thing with penalising people for a large engine size is real crap. Imagine the stock lancers sold in Australia have a 2.4L MIVEC engines!

Stupid laws.

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » January 26th, 2008, 12:21 pm

great post!

slick

Postby slick » October 18th, 2008, 4:51 pm

MANIAC wrote:Vehicle Transfer Procedure

Transfers can only be done at Licensing Office.

Licensing OfficeWrightson Road, POSTele: 625-1031

1. Vehicle must be present.
2. Both parties must be present. Each party must have two pieces of ID.
3. Insurance policy for vehicle being bought.
4. Receipt for buyer.
5. Certified copy. (Not needed but carry just in case - fee for replacement = $20TTD).

6. Transfer fees.
Under 2 years $4010.00TTD
2-5 years $3000.00TTD
5-7 years $2000.00TTD
7-10 years $900.00TTD
Over 10 years $100.00TTD

Does the number of years mean the age of the vehicle, as in manufacture date, with respect to roll on roll off, or the date it was registered in Trinidad?

Postby r3iXmann » October 18th, 2008, 5:48 pm

slick wrote:Does the number of years mean the age of the vehicle, as in manufacture date, with respect to roll on roll off, or the date it was registered in Trinidad?

date it was registered in trinidad...

slick

Postby slick » October 18th, 2008, 7:26 pm

reiXmann, how sure are u of this?
This is what I thought all the time but today I was told by a guy who transferred a vehicle that they watch the manufacture date on the roll on roll off.
Can anyone else confirm this?

Postby r3iXmann » October 18th, 2008, 7:37 pm

slick wrote:reiXmann, how sure are u of this?

because i paid $110 to transfer my PAZ 1995 eg hatch,while my friend paid $910 to transfer his PBJ 1994 eg hatch

slick

Postby slick » October 18th, 2008, 7:59 pm

scene...thanks

Do they accept credit cards in licensing office for transfer fees?

Postby r3iXmann » October 18th, 2008, 8:04 pm

no ^

cash and certified cheques only

slick

Postby slick » October 18th, 2008, 9:01 pm

dem rell lame in dey
cards are as good as cash

slick

Postby slick » October 18th, 2008, 10:08 pm

Did some searching and found these...

VexXx Dogg wrote:yes it is the year of license.
found out the hard way..
good ting fuh LINX....

So they accept LINX?

daNdAdDa wrote:transfer is calculated as:

local new vehicle: year of registration
roll on/roll off: year of MANUFACTURE
knock down: year of registration

8)

And RORO is year of MANUFACTURE?

reiXmann wrote:
slick wrote:reiXmann, how sure are u of this?

because i paid $110 to transfer my PAZ 1995 eg hatch,while my friend paid $910 to transfer his PBJ 1994 eg hatch

Was the PBJ knock down or RORO?

Postby r3iXmann » October 19th, 2008, 12:53 am

dunno.. i believe it was a knock down

slick

Postby slick » October 19th, 2008, 2:13 am

hmm...
Anyone else experienced in this area can give us some definite answers?

K.S.R

Postby K.S.R » October 20th, 2008, 12:45 pm

For RORO they check from the date of manufacture as stated on the certified copy. I am absolutely sure of this because my car was manufactured in March, the same month i bought it but i waited until april to transfer it cuz it would be a $1000 cheaper.

brandon123

Postby brandon123 » October 21st, 2008, 1:01 pm

So what is the New rule of bringing in a car to trinidad and registering it now? Like the prices.

slick

Postby slick » October 21st, 2008, 8:05 pm

OK it's confirmed.
Did the transfer yesterday on a RORO and they used the manufacture date to charge the transfer fee.
Sign printed with CASH or Certified Cheques only stuck up by the cashier.
My questions have been answered.

roach007

Postby roach007 » October 22nd, 2008, 10:33 am

Yeah anybody know the procedure to bring down you own car. Once it reach trinidad, how exactly you getting at the on the road price before insurance.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 22nd, 2008, 2:04 pm

rough transaction
Last edited by Oleander on October 23rd, 2008, 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 22nd, 2008, 2:20 pm

Motor Vehicle Taxes
• With immediate effect (September 23, 2008), the Motor Vehicle Taxes payable on the
importation of Private Motor Vehicles are as follows –
Engine Size Motor Vehicle Tax per CC Rating
Under 1599 cc $5 per cc
1600 – 1799 cc $8 per cc
1800 – 1999 cc $15 per cc
2000 – 2499 cc $25 per cc
2500 – 2999 cc $30 per cc
3000 – 3499 cc $35 per cc
3500 cc and above $50 per cc

Removal of VAT and Custom Duties on the Conversion Kit for modifying from Gas to CNG. With immediate effect VAT and Custom Duties have been removed on the CNG conversion kits.

valuator

Postby valuator » October 26th, 2008, 8:59 pm

Thats real good information fellas keep it uup

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 18th, 2008, 11:11 am

Thanks for those updated figures Oleander.....

Need some help figuring out the cost to have this vehicle on the road....can any1 help:

Displacement: 1998cc.....approx TT$30,000 according to those new figures
Dealer has quoted CIF to Port of Spain is 19,400 USD

Any other costs I'm missing out please indicate...but would like to know what would be the total cost to have this on the road.

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » December 18th, 2008, 11:39 am

^^ total cost cater for about avg $222k on the road the road .

suspeck

Postby suspeck » January 23rd, 2009, 9:46 am

Whappnin fellas.Can someone explain to me the procedure and cost to import a motorcycle from abroad?For rough estimate,say the cost of the bike is $8000US,and its a 750cc.
What sort of documentation would i have to gather in order to import it?

Return to “Car Classifieds - Buy, Sell or Trade”