daymean

lowering sprigns

Postby daymean » January 20th, 2005, 6:43 pm

aye fellaz
i went in ah parts shop 2 see if they had lowering springs for a lancer
dey din have n e and de man show me some kinda clamp thing that does clamp 2 ah de rings on the spring together or it can separate them by a furthur distance than they are now...so in effect what it does is either raise or lower the car....
question is .... how good does this work??
whats the price for lowering springs for a lancer 1999 model????

plex

Postby plex » January 20th, 2005, 10:57 pm

i feel the guy show u coilovers..i am more familar with shocks and springs..
how low u going?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 21st, 2005, 2:16 am

Might not be coilovers yuh know, might be the clamps that clamp the stock springs, correct me if I am wrong. Anyways, if it is the same thing i thinking about is better not to use em. They add strain to the spring and may cause some trouble later on. Also, do not cut the stock springs, that is good if you racing on nice flat tracks, but not practical for evertyday roads. if you can find em, go with proper lowerein' springs.

daymean

Postby daymean » January 21st, 2005, 3:40 am

"if you can find em, go with proper lowerein' springs"....
where can i find them???
and yes its the clamps thingey......
so they not good??
and where can i find lowering springs for a lancer

plex

Postby plex » January 21st, 2005, 6:00 pm

ever try Maska..

tinytim

Postby tinytim » January 22nd, 2005, 12:28 pm

The clamps have the same effect on your ride quality as cutting your springs, just with the clamps the effect is not permanent. Mr. fixables have B&G lowering springs for the Lancer, Last time I checked the set was $1050. I can't remember his number though, do a search here and you should get it.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 23rd, 2005, 1:49 pm

Yep, maska might have, have not hecked recently, but they used to in the past. Should be pretty common to get.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 23rd, 2005, 2:54 pm

Coilovers are good for once in a while use. For like car shows.
People DO use them for daily drive but I dont like it the same why I dont like cutting springs.

its better you get *progressive* lowering springs, if you want to maintain a somwhat smooth ride. The *sports* lowering springs are right out HARD. Your balls is get damaged whenever you hit a pothole :D Of course you can always just get soft lowering springs if all you want to do is rice out :roll: Dont go more than a 1 1/2" drop. You can safely cut a coil from those springs IF you want a lower ride.

you can get them from as low as $800 for the soft lowering.
sports from $900-1200
progressive from $1500-1700
the Ralliart is round $1500-$2200 depending on the ride height and how hard you want it.

this is from my head eh so dont kill me if the numbers are a bit off

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » January 23rd, 2005, 5:06 pm

the clamps arent really safe when u use em because u run the risk of it coming losse while drivin or when u hit a pot hole (which is quite common). The clamps comin loose at highspeeds can be very dangerous too. Save u money and get the real thing.

daymean

Postby daymean » January 23rd, 2005, 10:55 pm

thakns fellaz !!!
well i just want the soft lowering springs...."rice out" lol

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » January 24th, 2005, 10:22 am

yea well as far as i know the b&g springs are 900...give u the same quality ride as the stock.....but they handle really well...mr fixables has them...
u mgiht be able to get eibach in auto village....
or try glens or car botique

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 24th, 2005, 11:17 am

mitsu_crazy wrote:yea well as far as i know the b&g springs are 900...give u the same quality ride as the stock.....but they handle really well...mr fixables has them...
u mgiht be able to get eibach in auto village....
or try glens or car botique

there are different tensions you can get.
e.g my B&G is sports type so rides really hard esp with my 16"/45 profile wheels. (yes its $900)

you have to look for the soft springs and check the drop heights. Price will vary.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 25th, 2005, 5:08 pm

i had the b&g sport from fixables on my lancer rides kinda hard but u get used to it and the price not bad for the handling u get from them...but if is rice u looking for they only drop about 1 1/2" and i am sure u looking to go lower than that

Xman

Postby Xman » January 25th, 2005, 5:58 pm

Boy it physically hurting me....jus put the "g" after the "n"...in sprigns nah..... :D :D :D

plex

Postby plex » January 27th, 2005, 8:53 pm

B&G is good springs.for $ 900 that is a good price..