Engine swap and chassis damage??

Coppershot

Engine swap and chassis damage??

Postby Coppershot » January 24th, 2005, 11:49 am

my cuz sunny b11 engine died friday and he lookin to put in a b13 but i hear the chassis could break if you dont put it in right. :?: :?:

by the way,we check a man sunday to estimate the cost to do the swap.
he have a sunny too but he had a stabalizer bar installed.

that make a difference, we forget to ask the man.
:?: :?:

Another ting, who know i could mechanic to do it and the cost post me back.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » January 26th, 2005, 11:01 pm

wtf?? chassis damage from an engine swap? tell me who the mechanic is so I can stay far away.

A Stabalizer bar is typically to prevent "body roll" hence it is a handling upgrade, nothing to do with preventing chasis damage. BTW it is a nice addition for a B11, helps quite a bit.

The engine swap you are looking at must have been done 10,000 times, sure some of the Nissan men could recommend someone experienced with the swap for you.

Postby janfar » January 27th, 2005, 1:59 am

Copper shot, where u from man???

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 27th, 2005, 6:41 pm

somebody in malabar..i forget he name

plex

Postby plex » January 27th, 2005, 10:56 pm

Coppershot, gets some good advice before you do this move..

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » January 28th, 2005, 12:47 pm

sometimes the front of these older cars. tent to "spread".. with age.. and even more so with a bigge engine.. due to the anture of the constuction..(one more fwd fault).. . so some times. braces are instaled to tie in the engine compartment.. this is really not a bad idea ne way if yuh goin with a bigger powerplant.. as it will keep the car from twisting. with the tourque(assumin u have that much).. and it will strengthen the car overall. this along with . brake an suspension upgrades.. such as .. higher perfoming springs ,shocks..stbilizer bars and rubbers,disc brakes.. and pads.. are good modfications. to any car on teh street.. and more often than not these thing which should be done first are normaly not done at all

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » February 1st, 2005, 12:27 am

thanks for the info

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » February 1st, 2005, 1:29 am

8) ne time :lol: :lol: