Creak when applying brakes?

crazychinee

Creak when applying brakes?

Postby crazychinee » April 22nd, 2012, 8:39 am

I get a slight creak when gently releasing my brakes on mornings . I realize it progressivly gets less, and once the car has warmed up I dont hear it at all.
Any ideas? or is it just that the pads are "cold".

It's a sound like 2 metals rubbing together, or like bones cracking.

Re: Creak when applying brakes?

Postby BrotherHood » April 22nd, 2012, 12:43 pm

I get that as well and I think it's because it's cold. Normal thing IMO.

Does it affect your braking performance?

nubbiecar

Postby nubbiecar » April 29th, 2012, 8:06 pm

i does get that somein like a knockin sound..wat u tink dat means but on the left hand side of meh car

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2012, 9:32 am

the creak is because pads are cold

knocking may mean bad caliper pin or worn caliper or shim for pad has lost tension
try applying brakes when you hear it and see if it goes away
at least this way you can eliminate a suspension noise

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 4th, 2012, 5:44 am

Dave wrote:the creak is because pads are cold

knocking may mean bad caliper pin or worn caliper or shim for pad has lost tension
try applying brakes when you hear it and see if it goes away
at least this way you can eliminate a suspension noise

The application of brakes does make it go away.

I even get a slight knock when turning the steering, but if I depress the brakes ALL the way..it goes away as well.