ABS vs No ABS

cdx2k1

ABS vs No ABS

Postby cdx2k1 » March 14th, 2005, 10:17 am

Hi all.I read up on ABS and it's rewards.My question is>From a stand point of not having ABS how good would my braking be?Would I have reduced braking power the harder I mash the brake say, coming to a sudden fast stop or would my braking be better with the ABS in this situation? (I know the ABS prevents the wheels from locking).How many of u prefer ABS?Is it worth it?How is it in the rain?

Postby X2 » March 14th, 2005, 12:51 pm

ABS is aight... it actually INCREASES braking distances in many cases versus a skilled driving w/ a non ABS car. If you go blank when in a panic situation... ABS could save your life. If you go skillz... you could do w/o it.... :mrgreen:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 14th, 2005, 12:59 pm

i hate ABS it freaks me out more than anything and from driving cars without it all my life i modulate pedal presure subconciously already... BUT where it really helps in in the RAIN!!!

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » March 14th, 2005, 1:40 pm

^^I realised that too>By modulating my braking pressure I could prevent the tires from locking.More ideas/input are welcome.

rolandk

Postby rolandk » March 14th, 2005, 2:27 pm

fella, ABS may save your life one of these days, especiallly if you drive down south on evenings with those stupid drivers stopping and pulling on the RHS for no reason.

with ABS you can steer while the car is braking a lot better than without ABS............very useful if you dont have enough space to come to a complete stop and need to maneuver around a stopped vehicle in front of you.

Kwissywissy

Postby Kwissywissy » March 14th, 2005, 2:35 pm

can't you get into accidents when ur tires lock tho? i mean i've heard stories of that happening or is it when ur steering wheel locks...hmm lol :?

Raziel

Postby Raziel » March 14th, 2005, 2:37 pm

ABS is the bomb!

When you hear men say a "good" driver doen't need ABS, that usually is somebody of Lobe/Schumacher/Montoya type skill.

For braking in a corner, in the wet, on uneven surfaces, all the places you don't want to have to use brakes, ABS really works.

Saved my life ... more than once ..

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 14th, 2005, 3:40 pm

abs is de bomb (in theory) buh becasue i doh have it i cah say which is better to have sorry

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 14th, 2005, 4:03 pm

^^ah doh think your really want it for dex ryan

TK!

Postby TK! » March 14th, 2005, 5:26 pm

ABS safer for most drivers... like 90something percent. it is very difficult to do what abs does in a flash if you are not (as raziel said) a real topper topper driver.

we doh have a driving school in trinidad nor arenas to really practice our stuff. so most times the first time you need to use a certain skill might actually be in a 'situation'.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » March 14th, 2005, 5:38 pm

^^^ true that
when a "situation" occurs and u BARELY have enuff distance to stop ABS will save your life unless u one of those person who got reeaaalll skills.
happened to me already :cry: didnt have ABS and ran out of road... slammed brakes n trust me hittin the brakes that hard goin 120 WOULD lock off your tires and send your ass skating! :roll:

BUT i never drove a car wit ABS long enuff to say i really felt wat its like... :|

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » March 14th, 2005, 5:46 pm

i accustom to not having it so it doh bother me one way or the other

Rx

Postby Rx » March 14th, 2005, 8:36 pm

ABS is really good ...especially when some mad ar$e driver pulls in front of you suddenly........

thumbs up !!! :!:

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » March 14th, 2005, 8:41 pm

Hmmmm.What if a fast car were not to have it?Say a modded car with no ABS..ideas/thoughts?

dragzster

Postby dragzster » March 14th, 2005, 9:57 pm

some ppl prefer abs because of the natural brake feel. Lately, with all the bad driving taking place and the poor road conditions, I think it would be an asset to any driver and vehicle. If you don't have it doesn't mean that your braking performance would be less. It all depends on your car and the way you drive.

Mini

Postby Mini » March 14th, 2005, 11:44 pm

I drove without it for quite a while and didn't think it was all that.. but the car I've been driving for the past 9 months or so has it and I've gotten accustomed to it now. It really helps, especially in the rain.

Love it for solodex too for late breaking into them corners :mrgreen:

plex

Postby plex » March 15th, 2005, 12:42 am

well it is suppose to be a safety feature..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 15th, 2005, 12:44 pm

i have a modded car, and i really dont need ABS, i have had to emergency brake (not handbrake eh) in the past in the rain and in sever situtations and never had an accident, i have also been driving cars wuth ABS for as long as i have my license (parents cars, office cars, brothers cars, girls etc etc) and have had to use ABS in the apst, BUT becasue i am used to controlling pedal presure at first i used to do that with the ABS cars too which is a NO NO.. then last year somertime i really used moms 307 ABS, it was the rain and i dont think i could have stopped in my car in that situation.. ALSO my mos hates it it freaks her out (in the 307 at elast) cause it engages VERY violently and gives ALLOT of steering feedback, and to the novice or unaware driver this may make them back off the pedal or panic...and with ABS the harder you press with stable presure the better the system can work...

Nearly all race cars dont have ABS, i dotn think FIA allows it either... its really about your driving skill/style.. i dont think i want abs on the car i have now, for my style of driving , i am happy.. if i had an automatic car i would get ABS, but as i have a manual and can engine brake, left foot brake, heel & toe and drive, i aint bound.

Postby AllTrac » March 15th, 2005, 3:50 pm

i have disabled the abs on my mr2, why? cause i love hand brake turns :mrgreen:

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » March 15th, 2005, 7:51 pm

Thanks for the info guys! :lol:

JWT

Postby JWT » March 16th, 2005, 1:01 am

i disabled it in the primera

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » March 16th, 2005, 1:25 am

i jess want a car wiht 4 wheel discs.... i doh care wheather it have abs or not.
*sigh*

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 16th, 2005, 5:32 am

dat ting real help me out in times when I forgot where the corners were located and they seem to just suddenly appear........

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » March 16th, 2005, 5:44 am

^ ^ ^ ^ ^ i wonder how come yuh forget where the corners were lol. i have seen the light of abs and i following that light. i recently got into an acident with my PAX series 323 when i mashed on my brakes the car went skating and also had to pull from hitting a medianwhich then made me lose control of my car all because a civic man bad drive me. anyway if i had abs i know that would not have happened to me. so abs all the way people. and as ct9a said about the 307 abs it is violent when mashed but yuh sure stopping :lol: :lol: my 2 cents

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » March 16th, 2005, 9:16 pm

ABS saved me from having accidents a few times. It is well worth it !

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » March 16th, 2005, 9:53 pm

CA19 wrote: i dont think i want abs on the car i have now, for my style of driving , i am happy.. if i had an automatic car i would get ABS, but as i have a manual and can engine brake, left foot brake, heel & toe and drive, i aint bound.

wats engine braking n left foot brake?

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » March 16th, 2005, 10:44 pm

I'm guessing engine braking is dropping the gear so that it runs at high RPM>Hence slowing the car down.A gear can only go so fast and if u go into it from a higher gear the car will slow down.Dunno what is left foot braking though. :?:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 17th, 2005, 12:03 pm

Left foot braking is acutually as it implies...using your left foot to brake. It's supposed to increase your reaction times. Professional race drivers use it....i know a couple people who do that and they dont drive fast either.

I tried it a couple times. Takes some getting used to.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 17th, 2005, 12:51 pm

cdx2k1 wrote:Hmmmm.What if a fast car were not to have it?Say a modded car with no ABS..ideas/thoughts?

Depends on the particular OEM ABS sytem and model car. Each system is different. For example, different Mitsubishi models that I drive regularly... and all with 4-wheel disc brakes for fair comparison.

Galant VRG - ABS Only consistent in the rain for less experienced drivers. TOTAL BULLSHEIT :!: Caused accident because of increased braking distance.

RWD 1800 GSR Lancer - No ABS - No real problems - well balanced - only needs a little more finesse in rain. (see 4WD 1800 GSR* - Needs bigger front discs.)

4WD 1800 GSR Lancer - ABS - No real problems - well balanced - especially in the rain.
The main issue here (like RWD 1800 GSR *) is not enough front brakes to reduce fade when used in anger. Needs bigger front discs.

4WD Evo 6 RS2 - No ABS - No real problems except excessive dusting - beautifully balanced.
Lock-up at will in the dry - No fish-tailing - No bad behaviour... No drama...
It just STOPS NOW... with change to spare from $0.10c too :!:
- like RWD & 4WD GSR only MILES better - just needs a little more finesse in rain IMHO.

Simply the best f***ing brakes I have ever used... period :!:

BTW the new Evo 9 has new ABS system, and it's supposed to be excellent.
As I said it depends on the car... My 2 cents. :D
Last edited by Sanctifier on March 17th, 2005, 1:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » March 17th, 2005, 12:55 pm

abs is the bom jed

hands down , i dont have that skill to modulate pedal pressure if ah 2 year old runs in the road to get ah ball , i will slam the brake and turn away

my mother recently got a car with abs and i made her go on a deserted road and bring the car up to speed then slam on the brake , it showed her what to expect when it engages , and it was ah shock to her

also with abs reamber SSS , STOPM on the breake peddal , Stay on the brake peddal although ur car graning and cussing u , Stear awaay or arond the hazard ,

this feature may save ur life and is a MUST on the next car i will be buying