question for n/a sr20 owners

sentraman

question for n/a sr20 owners

Postby sentraman » March 17th, 2005, 11:00 pm

Actually this question is for those who are used to running the quater mile.

What rpm is good to launch the car at without gettin too much wheel spin and to get a respectable time.

On my first run someone advised me to try it at 4k but that was a bad idea. Lots and lots of wheel spin not to mention a horrible time :(

I then tried it at 2k, the car did not get much wheel spin and the time was better but I feel the car can run a lower time.

Another question, is shifting point. Is shifting at the redline necessary for a good time or does it depend on the engine. As an example when I dynoed my car the power curve dropped off at around 6,500 but my redline is at 7,500. So my thinking is that it would be better to shift at the 6,500 than the redline.

What do u think??? Thanks 8)

JWT

Postby JWT » March 17th, 2005, 11:52 pm

what kinda tyres are u using to launch and size of rim

3500rpms is a good lauch for me that is

also is ur clutch good and do u have lsd

use d redline a d shifter mark always do that u should run out all 3 gears on d 1/4 mile with out touching 4th

pbf1940

Postby pbf1940 » March 18th, 2005, 1:16 am

hoss just play need for speed underground
your optimum shift point is not at your vehicle's redline in the game as in da real life once you nail your shift at that right time your power is kept at its maximum which will result in your best time possible

so if your dyno chart shows that you stop peaking at 6500 well that where your shift light ought to be holmes!

hot blue

Postby hot blue » March 18th, 2005, 3:47 am

YUP
shift at the point where the dyno curve peaks !!!

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 18th, 2005, 8:38 am

Ok well when I dynoed last was when I was auto so I will dyno it again and that will be my shift point 8) 8)

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » March 18th, 2005, 9:55 am

well thats ur difference right there ur manual now so use the redline as ur guide....also remember u have to shift fast othewise in the time it takes you to get to second ur engine rpm would have dropped you should keep the rpm as high as possible during shifts..also you need to feel out your car everyones is set up different,u run 17s right i used 15s an i launched at 3000/3500 but i had to feather the throttle untill i got traction otherwise it was SMOKE an that was with a lsd box

Gool

Postby Gool » March 18th, 2005, 10:13 am

hmm... yuh know one ah dese days ah hadda run sumbodie wit ah fwd n/a sr20 automatic.... ent the rwd and fwd hittin d same h/p? d ting is my car guh be a lot heavier :( buh i have d traction!!!!!! :twisted:

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » March 18th, 2005, 4:08 pm

pull off at like 3000 3500 rpm much better pull off and then mash down on de gas after pull off shift just b4 de redline man

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » March 18th, 2005, 4:27 pm

shift when the power starts droppin... u want to maximise power from your engine not the time u spend on each gear :?
but if ure a slow shifter maybe its better to shift at redline to avoid the time delay btw shifts

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » March 20th, 2005, 4:22 am

YUP
shift at the point where the dyno curve peaks !!!

I lost fellas..when allyuh say 'peak' allyuh mean when u getting the most power right?Or do U mean where the graph cuts off/stops?now everything I do I think bout it from a common sese perspective..I talking about where U get the most power (not graph cut off) and driving fast/getting the most out of the car and not launching here...Lets say ur curve starts to drop at 5000 and redline is 6500...why would I want to shift at 5000..drop to 3500 (which torque and HP might be potentialy lower than 6500) when I could just rev to 6500 (redline), drop to 5000 and keep that limited amount of power loss?Cause anyway u take it when U shift u losing the power..someone please discuss :?:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 20th, 2005, 4:13 pm

good question :fadein:

ninjaboost

Postby ninjaboost » March 21st, 2005, 6:58 pm

cdx2k1 you have made the most sense in this thread thus far..... no offence eh fellars!

...IMO you need to shift at the point that produces the smallest loss of RPM ...hence if your peake power is at 5000 ....you have to test to see which RPM works best.... from 5.5 to the redline...

....you can calculate it on paper but because of you shifting ability it will still vary on the strip...

...also the shift point for each gear my not necessarily be the same so It would take some time and practice ........I did a simply changed my clutch and now have to re-learn the whole shifting concept for my car......

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » March 21st, 2005, 9:10 pm

^^Got my PM Ninjaboost?