i have a problem with a door....

God Bless the Black Top*

i have a problem with a door....

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » March 24th, 2005, 3:36 am

the car is 10 yrs old, and i was wondering if i could repair the way the door hangs on the hinges. i haveta lift it for it to shut tight, so it's hanging too low...how do i solve dis problem? thanx for any help

Postby Hook » March 24th, 2005, 4:29 am

man that could be anything from a faulty hinge to a rusted door jam to a rusted door...or it could just be that the jam or the door is just warped for some odd reason....take some pics if u could and post it up nuh

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » March 24th, 2005, 10:42 am

Ï think they sell hinge repair kits ...... u gotta ask around at parts places

olton

Postby olton » March 24th, 2005, 10:49 am

Much depends on the car. I had a B12 with this prob. Was cheaper to buy a whole shitty looking door for $40 that had good hinges, and change them. 10 years old is not old at all....but.....wot car is it?

Who knows it might have a tuner here with a mash up door, willing to help out.

And BTW....Stop sitting thru the window wit the door open when you eating de doulbes o.k. :D

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » March 24th, 2005, 11:39 am

olton wrote:And BTW....Stop sitting thru the window wit the door open when you eating de doulbes o.k. :D

HAHAHAHAHA....nah the door isn't rusted, it's a toyota starlet, i was wondering if it could be a bent hinge because the door is soo flippinf heavy, but thanx for the help, i'll take a run up easter mn rd and look for a repair kit.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » March 24th, 2005, 1:43 pm

could it just be that i need to change the bushings?

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » March 24th, 2005, 2:02 pm

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:could it just be that i need to change the bushings?

If you know the answer, why you asking? Yes, take off the hinges and take them to a machine shop. :roll:

monk_t

door repair...

Postby monk_t » March 24th, 2005, 2:58 pm

Inshan wrote:
God Bless the Black Top* wrote:could it just be that i need to change the bushings?

If you know the answer, why you asking? Yes, take off the hinges and take them to a machine shop. :roll:

the fella probably just thinking out loud...

God Bless the Black Top, that would be a good place to start (looking at the hinges)

my 2 cents