Increasing the boost in a diesel setup

MaelstroM

Increasing the boost in a diesel setup

Postby MaelstroM » October 20th, 2005, 2:58 pm

u guys have any ideas or any info about this?
I bought a 2.2 turbo diesel engine but it feeling rel lazy, not like what it should.
I was wondering who i could go by to see what the problem could be.
I thinkin that i can just raise the boost but I doh know how safe that is to do.
Anyone?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » October 20th, 2005, 4:48 pm

just drop in a manual boost controller and turn that sucker up!!!!

j/kiddin eh man!!

i'll leave this to the turbo diesel experts...but ah do kno that diesel block CR are HIGH and DIESEL ent the best fuel out there...so i believe stock boost levels are just what they supposed to be...stock.

and remember, those vans are more torque and low end power monsters...not any other purpose. u can probably do an oil change, fuel filter change, and so on...(good tune up)..do a compression test and check out the turbo for any leaks etc...check ur vacuum hoses and so on...

do those things and THEN explore +boost!

8)
Last edited by VW_Exec on October 23rd, 2005, 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gizmo

Postby gizmo » October 20th, 2005, 5:30 pm

^^spark plug change ?? a lil error padna... is diesel

Virus

Postby Virus » October 22nd, 2005, 10:09 am

:roll: will pretend he didnt say that but anyhows u need to check a diesel specialist for that there is a slight difference between the to

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » October 23rd, 2005, 5:48 pm

Mitsu_Exec wrote:just drop in a manual boost controller and turn that sucker up!!!!

j/kiddin eh man!!

i'll leave this to the turbo diesel experts...but ah do kno that diesel block CR are HIGH and DIESEL ent the best fuel out there...so i believe stock boost levels are just what they supposed to be...stock.

and remember, those vans are more torque and low end power monsters...not any other purpose. u can probably do an oil change, fuel filter change, and so on...(good tune up)..do a compression test and check out the turbo for any leaks etc...check ur vacuum hoses and so on...

do those things and THEN explore +boost!

8)

WHOOPS!!

:oops:

assassin

Postby assassin » October 24th, 2005, 12:00 am

the most u could prob do is open up the disel pump a bit
but u would burn a bit more fuel with a lot more black smoke

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » November 2nd, 2005, 10:18 am

^^^dah man bring back memories dey yes.. :evil:
pumpin them diesel pump is realll terror yes.. das how i so buff now.. :D

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » November 2nd, 2005, 11:18 am

if i have ah windband the AFR for diesel is 11.7 tuh 12.3
that is all i can help u with...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 3rd, 2005, 7:29 pm

I bought a 2.2 turbo diesel engine but it feeling rel lazy

Is a diesel...... :roll: (j/k)

and remember, those vans are more torque and low end power monsters...not any other purpose.

That sounds about right. Those engines have a lot more torque, and not much brute horsepower.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » November 5th, 2005, 4:59 pm

^^ what is brute horsepower and why don't diesels have it?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 5th, 2005, 8:00 pm

Did anyone see that episode of 5th gear where they added a Nitrous Oxide kit to a 2.0 Diesel Bora? Wow!! I never thought you could get such incrediable improvement in performance by adding Nitrous Oxide to a diesel. The kit cost 600 pounds.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » November 8th, 2005, 1:57 pm

A simple thing that diesel mechs do is to take condemn hose from the intake to the wastegate actuator. Gives you a much quicker spoolup and for stock turbos is well below engine tolerance. This is done on everything from trucking companies' vehicles to taxis with diesel engines with fantastic performance improvement without compromising safety.

You may also want to throw in a free-flow air filter and upgrade/change glow plugs. Larger turbo is always an option, but boost control and possibly intercooling will need to be considered.

Postby wagonrunner » November 8th, 2005, 2:05 pm

Computerman, and everyone else. ow much different is using nos on a diesel engine, compared to the diesel & propane experiments i've heard about?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 23rd, 2005, 8:13 am

For diesel applications you can go with PROPANE injection systems, they sell kits in the US for that.
its just like using NOS on a gas engine!
Depending on your engine if it does have a COmputer- you can have it black boxed- which can add up to 15-30% more usable power!

And well if you wanna get your vehicle tuh run look at your rear end or gear box ratios and see if it can be changed!

kakissoon1

Re: Increasing the boost in a diesel setup

Postby kakissoon1 » November 25th, 2014, 9:02 pm

liqui moly has a common rail additive. works perfect when ur engine gets lazy! i guarantee u, u will feel a big difference!

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » December 18th, 2014, 9:51 am

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » January 6th, 2015, 9:42 am