A question of GIRTH!!!

Postby Monk BANzai » January 9th, 2006, 11:40 pm

ive been reading on other forums of the balance between a 3 inch exhaust and a 4 inch exhaust...with most ppl saying that the the 4 inch exhaust is really too much unlessur car making like 600HP plus....

theres also a school of thought that the 3 inch exhaust makes yu lose low end power in exchange for more ommph up on top...

TRuths? Lies? Myths?

Mini

Postby Mini » January 10th, 2006, 6:35 am

well i assume you talking about a turbo'ed car.. since IMHO unless you have a V16 truck... 3" is too much

when you get into fluid dynamics and cross sectional flows and friction on the inside of a pipe and thing... even them calculations is too much... plus they'd hold only for a specfic RPM (i.e. volume flow rate through the exhaust)

having said that... I personally feel that you can go too big... and going too big would cause you to lose some low down power....

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 10th, 2006, 8:13 am

I guess the real truth lies is if you look at your dynochart before the install and then after the install. But then we know you cah doh that right now.

Postby Dave » January 10th, 2006, 8:18 am

generally 3" would suffice for what you are doing
only 3.5" - 4" would become useful when talking about 500hp+

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » January 10th, 2006, 10:12 am

So wider = greater effect @ higher RPM..

Postby Monk BANzai » January 10th, 2006, 11:16 am

^^^ seems so...but wher does the balance lie?....if yu want the high end performance but at the same time maintain the low end "grunt"

is 3.75 a popular diameter?...i see HKS marketing that...... 0X 0X 0X

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » January 10th, 2006, 3:12 pm

Everyone says that a friend of a friend said that a friend said that a bigger exhaust diameter gives more power up high and less power down low (as compared to a smaller diameter).

Anybody got dyno chart proof? Or everyone regurgitating?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 10th, 2006, 3:29 pm

I've seen dyno charts with changes from 2 to 2.25 and 2.5" give a few hp and some give no hp. Actually i think it was a DC5, a celica and an eclipse. SCC I think was the mag. But from 3' to 4'?? i dunno bout that one.

Looks like its application dependent.

Postby Rainman » January 13th, 2006, 11:35 am

IMO high flow exhausts and larger diameter down pipes only serve their correct functions on appropriate applications. for instance if you have a relatively small engine 1500-1800 (non-turbo of course) increasing the diameter of our exhaust piping can result in compression loss and it can take a dramatic toll on your low end torque.