Project - GA15.5DET BOOSTED PICS PG 1 . . .

kerron01

Project - GA15.5DET BOOSTED PICS PG 1 . . .

Postby kerron01 » May 17th, 2008, 2:51 am

Hey guys, I have started a small project and have been gathering some parts and research for some time now. Finally it has started coming together. The Project is about turbo charging a Nissan GA15.5DE. The block is a 1999yr GA16DE and the head is a OBDI GA15DE and I'm using the 1999yr GA16DE intake manifold with injector rail and TB.

The parts allocated for the build are: EMU: Greddy Emanage blue with 3 BAR MAP sensor, injector harness, ignition harness and USB support cable. Turbo: Garrett T28 (from skyline). BOV: Turbo Smart Vee Port. Fuel Pump: JECS (RB20DET pump). FPR: Mallory Ignition 4305m. Air filter: K&N cone filter. Turbo Manifold: Custom made (40 schedule steel). Oil lines - Braided stainless steel lines. Intercooler: FC RX7 stock IC. Injectors: 370cc side feed. Radiator: double core copper/brass. Fan: slim line turbo fan (for radiator). Spark Plugs: NGK IX (heat range 6). Muffler: 2.5" in (free flow).

The compression in the combustion chamber was dropped and the exhaust ports were ported for better flow.

The engine is going in to a Nissan Sunny 4WD B14. Pictures will be uploaded in time to come.

UPDATE
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The original project build had to be modified because some parts were stolen before the install, such parts as the turbo manifold (version 2.0) and (T28 Turbo charger). Currently the Project is in the fine tuning stage and is not totally complete yet. See the (Current Project Setup) below for photos of the most recent work done.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Previous Project Setup

Some low res photos of project in progress:

Head before it was cleaned

Head cleaned just waiting to be ported and worked on :D

Lowering compression on head :shock:

Charlie doing his stuff, wait till u see his project on the road :skurry:

Copper spray was applied to head just waiting to be placed on the block

Exhaust port ported

Thanks Sheldon for selling me that A class block!!

Head on block

Turbo manifold version 1

Turbo manifold version 2.0

GA16DE intake manifold on the GA15DE head

Scotty_buttons tuning the system

Thats where the GReddy hides

UPDATE

Engine was properly cleaned and painted.

UPDATE

Car was lifted so that engine would be removed from under it.

Engine was lowered from the engine bay. (4wd tranny showed here)

4wd LSD transmission, very big and also heavy. :shock:

UPDATE

Project Engine attached to 4wd Transmission.

Project Engine being put in place.

Video clip
Engine started in car. (with out turbo, maf and some other parts)

NEW ADDITION: FRONT BRAKE UPGRADE

The front rotors and calipers were swapped to the Pulsar (AD22VF) setup.
Brakes holds like wow, I would recommend them to any one seeking better stopping power on their Nissan B13/B14.

Left-Pulsar rotor, Right-Stock rotor.

Left-Pulsar caliper, Right-Stock caliper.

Left-Pulsar brakes pad, Right-Stock brakes pad.

Pulsar rotor in placed in position.

Close up.

Cleaned and painted with duplicolor paint.

New brake pads were installed and rotor cleaned lightly.

Current Project Setup

Turbo Manifold (Version 3.0) being constructed.

Heat wrap was applied to the turbo manifold, a T25 turbo was used for the new setup.

New front mount intercooler being positioned.

Charlie at work. . . attaching the 2.5'' aluminum piping.

Every thing being put in place.

Blow off valve mounted on piping here.

Photo of the turbo system.

Front shot of the turbo setup.

More to come soon, currently working out the bugs and tuning the system. Stay tuned . . .
Last edited by kerron01 on May 20th, 2009, 10:40 pm, edited 16 times in total.

GTiR 14
Location: If I'm in your rearview mirror........ DON'T BLINK!!!

Postby GTiR 14 » May 17th, 2008, 7:30 am

I will be following up on your build man. Maybe I can get some pointers for my own.

Good luck

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 17th, 2008, 9:29 am

Finally you make the project thread, rel bess project here, everything done properly

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 17th, 2008, 6:29 pm

i got my eyes on you buddy

Mr_RSN

Postby Mr_RSN » May 18th, 2008, 11:12 pm

Good luck with the project bro :twisted:

I've got some sneak peaks of his progress thus far, everything seems to be coming along smoothly :wink:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 19th, 2008, 12:31 am

Nice project boss! You might suffer a bit with power because its 4WD but she will be fun! Is the car going to be manual or automatic?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 19th, 2008, 8:41 am

Auto for the while, manual soon after :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 19th, 2008, 10:02 am

i had this thing on the shelf for a while
i will restart as soon as i see this thing come
this was the real reason for me joining trinituner

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 19th, 2008, 8:41 pm

nice project man! lol..hope it starts up soon..i cant wait nuh! pics should be up soon..

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 19th, 2008, 8:53 pm

^^ U serious :shock: I does drive ah b-14 in wid ah GA15DE and when I feel d power of ah GA16DE in ah b-13 I nearly shite myself :o . It was a bigg difference.

ga14 pullin more than a ga16, and i'm darn proud yo!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 19th, 2008, 9:01 pm

hahaha..well i drive a couple ga16s..n is either all ah dem poorly maintained..or..ur ga15de poorly maintained..or i jus lucky :|

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 19th, 2008, 9:12 pm

Project GA15.5DET pics

Last edited by scotty_buttons on May 19th, 2008, 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mr_RSN

Postby Mr_RSN » May 19th, 2008, 9:24 pm

sweet :mrgreen:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 19th, 2008, 9:40 pm

If you had gone with a T28 from the Pulsar GTiR when boost sets in yuh goh have to brace yuh self :lol:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 19th, 2008, 9:58 pm

yes keep it coming nice
The compression in the combustion chamber was dropped

do you mind giving details

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 19th, 2008, 10:08 pm

^^ could be a thicker head gasket or pistons were changed I guess..

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 19th, 2008, 10:32 pm

AFAIK there are no thicker head gaskets for the GA 15, unfortunately.
The only low compression pistons that you can use that have the right length are from the E15 ET and the block needs to be bored some. The head when you look at it has little you can do either. Mind your boost and fuel my 15 graveyard full at teh moment.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 19th, 2008, 10:37 pm

i used e15 pistons a time but thaz another story
i wanna know what rods he used

demented

Postby demented » May 20th, 2008, 8:12 am

nice project......keep us updated.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 20th, 2008, 8:21 am

Nice project.

Turbo looks a little big for the GA15 though....with low RON gas and all.

Postby Dave » May 20th, 2008, 9:16 am

just be wary, when porting cylinders on GA engines, the walls are so thin, u can actually develop cracks between the ports

Postby Maserati » May 20th, 2008, 12:40 pm

looking like a nice project.

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 20th, 2008, 5:50 pm

cool project

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » May 28th, 2008, 11:04 pm

Hey guys, Sorry for the delay but I have exams and its gonna be over June 8th, so till then! Can't wait to finish this Project and share the info with you all. :)

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » May 28th, 2008, 11:59 pm

Kerron01 , it looks like the turbo in the pic is tilted, wouldnt that cause problems with the oil flow, possibly blowing the seals on the turbo ?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 29th, 2008, 6:34 am

sweet project bro...........good luck!

keep us updated !

*another beast in the makin*
:twisted:

GTiR 14
Location: If I'm in your rearview mirror........ DON'T BLINK!!!

Postby GTiR 14 » May 29th, 2008, 7:47 am

*waiting patiently 8-) *

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » May 29th, 2008, 8:33 am

well done man

go forward hard

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » May 29th, 2008, 12:00 pm

yer big up man!
i always wanted to a build just like yours so i'm looking forward to seeing your work

QG

Postby QG » May 29th, 2008, 11:07 pm

great, very impressive