RAISED BONNET ???'s

imperial

RAISED BONNET ???'s

Postby imperial » October 11th, 2004, 1:48 pm

Here's something that I notice. Why do some modded cars have the back of thier bonnet raised higher than the adjoining fenders. And how do they do this. Is it because of the reverse ram air effect ala Chevy Camaro?
Makes the car look mean in an understated way. May join then hood pins category.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » October 11th, 2004, 10:36 pm

don't know about the lifters but I raised mines by using longer bolts and placing spacers between the bonnet and the hinges.... 8)
BTW it is used as a way of extracting hot air out of the engine bay 8)

Rx

Postby Rx » October 11th, 2004, 10:38 pm

art n motion wrote:don't know about the lifters but I raised mines by using longer bolts and placing spacers between the bonnet and the hinges.... 8)
BTW it is used as a way of extracting hot air out of the engine bay 8)

yuh have any pics? :)

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » October 12th, 2004, 9:35 am

don't know about the lifters but I raised mines by using longer bolts and placing spacers between the bonnet and the hinges

you alone eh?? :lol: :wink:
Always remember, its sometimes easier to get hot air out of the engine bay for cooling, and since hot air rises, well its even easier by just raising the bonnet . 8)
Its a simple process once you have helping hands and you must make sure the bonnet to slip and hit the windsheild while trying to install the bolts and washers etc.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 12th, 2004, 12:00 pm

I raised mines by using longer bolts and placing spacers between the bonnet and the hinges....

what he said 8)

imperial

Postby imperial » October 12th, 2004, 1:13 pm

cool scene...
thanks.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 13th, 2004, 8:08 pm

nismo and art wat bout water gettin into the engine bay?
i mean wit the rain we does get down here wouldnt water get in?
and wouldnt the water get to the filter or something or even speed up rusting?

Rx

Postby Rx » October 14th, 2004, 11:37 pm

jnqaz wrote:nismo and art wat bout water gettin into the engine bay?
i mean wit the rain we does get down here wouldnt water get in?
and wouldnt the water get to the filter or something or even speed up rusting?

ahhhhhhh.......good question !!!!!!!!!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 15th, 2004, 8:14 am

^^ i doh think thats a problem seeing that most if not all filters to far infront for water to reach. as for the rusting, i eh know, but i doubt that go be any kind of problem

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » October 15th, 2004, 9:43 am

No water gets in, I have mine raised for about 2 years now, the engine bay does be dry as a bone! (no rust either)

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 15th, 2004, 7:46 pm

well as long as we on this topic
does water get in the evo bonnets?
like how some evos got the fancy vent on their bonnet.
water does get inside that?

art n motion

Postby art n motion » October 17th, 2004, 9:10 am

you may get some water coming in but not as much as you think....rusting is not a problem neither is your filter 8)

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 17th, 2004, 10:24 am

i did it myself about 2 days ago. really helps cooling :D

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 17th, 2004, 12:04 pm

it thats easy to do boy russel? :?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 17th, 2004, 3:55 pm

^^you need a helping hand as nismo said, and remember not to tighten it to tight otherwise it the bolt will punch out on your hood(1 of mines did, the last one i was tightening to eh :? ) but it easy, Also i used the water wetter thing, that wokking dread

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 17th, 2004, 4:27 pm

ok heres some pics as requested that should give you an idea about what you need to do:

Firstly you might want to remove one of your bolts so when your getting the new set(mines used 4) you have an idea of what the threading type is and also the head size, although the head size does not really matter that much. i used 1.5" bolts on mine(note that the bolt in the pic is the original)
Secondly you have to get washers, i got my bollts and washers at SSL, cost like $20 for everything, i used 10 washers in the back and 9 infront
Remember not to tighten your bolts to much or else it might turn out like this, and this was the last bolt i was tightening to eh :?
When your finished it should look something like this

and thats it! sorry for the lame ass pics, but it was taken with a phone

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 17th, 2004, 7:44 pm

ru$$ell, real decent step by step work there....shud be put in the shop by a mod or summin :idea:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » October 17th, 2004, 11:11 pm

ru$$ell, those are some great pics and ah really good explination 8)

Postby Maserati » October 18th, 2004, 12:22 am

damn good write up there ru$$el

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2004, 11:57 pm

arite now hear this
this is just my logic i could be wrong

in a FWD application where the exhaust manifold is to the FRONT and the intake/TB to the BACK when the bonnet is raised, the hot air will rise and flow up and out through the space...BUT in doing so the direction of the flow of hot air will actually heat up the intake and throttle body and will lose the 'cold air' effect that is so desirable....and there will supposedly be a performance drop instead of a raise...

now that is just my logic if i am wrong - well say what - i have learnt something in the process.....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 2nd, 2004, 11:45 am

any hot air leaving under the hood is good,

NOT all FWD have the intake towared the firewall..

and even so the moving air will reduce temps (of the engine and the intake and associated metal parts that get heat soak) and chances are the intake is getting hot anyway as is with the ehat trapped under the hood., my guess will be that it will be cooler with good venting..

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 2nd, 2004, 3:05 pm

CA19 wrote:NOT all FWD have the intake towared the firewall..

but most FWD cars locally are like that
nissan, honda, mazda....

nehow
guess i was wrong

Postby X2 » November 2nd, 2004, 3:26 pm

eh... look at it this way... if you raise the hood... the hot air is leaving... if you don't raise it... that hot air will stay there and fester....

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 3rd, 2004, 12:21 am

Point taken^^^^

well ah guess i will raise mine a lil ting den oui

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

Postby RASC » November 3rd, 2004, 9:07 am

X2 wrote:eh... look at it this way... if you raise the hood... the hot air is leaving... if you don't raise it... that hot air will stay there and fester....

yeh it really doesnt matter in the end which way it is facing,raised hood is obviouly going to lower temperatures under the hood, key to your engine running properly over extended periods of hard driving :wink: ecspecially in warmer climates...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 17th, 2004, 4:11 pm

i now seing this washer thing i know its done also with the longer bolts and aluminum pipe and it does help

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » November 27th, 2004, 10:53 am

Ok my question is how significant is the cooling effect that raising the bonnet produce...and even if water does not interfere wid the intake wat about the electronics...what would happen to them under constant splashing.

silversurfer TnT

Postby silversurfer TnT » November 29th, 2004, 12:03 pm

sorry to dampen u guy's but a friend of mine told me the engine would be hotter ,he saw it in a magazine a test was done and the temperature of head of the engine was hotter which make sense since the hot air will be pass from the front exhaust pipe over the engine and into your intake system.don't know which magazine, but it is a simple just use a thermometer to the head of the engine mabe somebody could try it and let us know

Rx

Postby Rx » December 4th, 2004, 7:00 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

yuh know...that making real sense too :shock: :shock:

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » December 5th, 2004, 1:47 am

Well wouldnt you notice the effect on your temp guage?