Turbo Qg 15

joel

Turbo Qg 15

Postby joel » October 25th, 2007, 11:25 am

ok people i thinkin bout turboin my qg15DE, what do you all think? should i abandon the project cause it would not make sense?

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » November 3rd, 2007, 7:49 pm

explain how u doing that
i also ha a qg15

Postby X_Factor » November 3rd, 2007, 7:57 pm

u could probably safely run about 5-8psi on the qg wit stock internals but u'll need the turbo set up and bigger injectors, better ignition, more fuel, exhaust etc

...take it out and put in a sr20det less stress
and more power..u'll also need to upgrade ur brakes, fuel system and strut bars if u dont already have

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 3rd, 2007, 8:24 pm

true. go SR. alot more power for your $.

Only way i can see you doing this, is to be "the guy" with the Turbo QG15. Other than that, its not worth it.

QG

Postby QG » November 4th, 2007, 12:17 am

It would be nice to have a QG15 turbo in the country for a change :D . SR turbo will have plenty of power but the the turbo QG15 would be cutting SOHC Vtec arse :D .

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 4th, 2007, 7:46 am

SR turbo will have plenty of power but the the turbo QG15 would be cutting SOHC Vtec arse

So you think.. all that money you are going to spend to end up with 30whp more ( if your lucky ) :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 4th, 2007, 9:06 am

^^^Exactly

t would be nice to have a QG15 turbo in the country for a change Very Happy . SR turbo will have plenty of power but the the turbo QG15 would be cutting SOHC Vtec arse

People feel turbo is magic. I'd love to see a "Mango tree turbo kit" QG15DE [sarcasm](knowing the "wealth" of aftermarket parts from HKS and GReddy for it)[/sarcasm] beat up a VTEC, MIVEC, or any "EC" any day. :lol:

Yeah right :roll: :lol:

I drive a QG15DE. It's a nice performer, but it's a grocery getter. Period.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » November 4th, 2007, 1:59 pm

what brakes upgrade u have to get cause you know with more ull want better brakes may be also disc brakes in bck

joel

Postby joel » November 5th, 2007, 8:36 am

Nissan QG15DE wrote:It would be nice to have a QG15 turbo in the country for a change :D . SR turbo will have plenty of power but the the turbo QG15 would be cutting SOHC Vtec arse :D .

this would have been nice for true eh . but i done decide against it because of all the stress ah woulda have to go thru and still get beat up lol. Something is gonna happen...but it aint turboing no QG engine..lol.

thanks for the input people

LedZep

Postby LedZep » November 7th, 2007, 9:22 am

they have guys runnin the qg16 on 7psi safely and drivin daily, one is in thailand he has a post on the site
in the states and austrailia the qg18 is turboed at 10 psi nicely
so its not a big deal
i had a 50 shot of nitrous in my qg16 for months safely....

i was gonna turbo mine so i have EVERYTHING to turbo the QG i'll sell it all for $8000. as a kit.,.

check meh post in the classifieds or pm if yuh interested

i sellin cuz family gettin bigger and i need to upgrade carzz

QG

Postby QG » November 8th, 2007, 8:16 pm

^^And with stock internals too, QG18DE-T was actually reported doing 200hp with the 10psi boost, (TD04 subaru turbo). :D

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 9th, 2007, 9:22 pm

^^And with stock internals too, QG18DE-T was actually reported doing 200hp with the 10psi boost, (TD04 subaru turbo).

HP is nice. TORQUE is the pull. What torque was he putting down? And where was his power band?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 10th, 2007, 9:53 am

^^^ A stock SIR got more tq than when you boost a QG15DE and QG16DE.. Their are guys on www.pulsar.org who did this and they were happy for only a while..

moti

Postby moti » November 12th, 2007, 1:20 pm

do mods like intake exaust plugs brakes etc. dont waste your time to turbo a qg
1.5 or 1.8.

you want turbo go sr20 or hr20

octane

Postby octane » November 17th, 2007, 12:40 pm

In Hungary at the moment is running 2 almera with QG15DE engine and turbo. It is also possible the upgrading the stock engine.

One is running with a KKK03 turbo, the second with T03/T04 hybrid.
The first engine go with 0,5 bar (approx 7-8PSI and produce approx 160PS), the second sometimes over 1bar and now is working properly.

Can somebody tell me, which size of injector use the QG15DE and the QG18DE? If I would change the stock injectors, which size should I take? (340 or 440)

The connecting rods are the same in the QG engines, and also in the GA16 engine (88mm stroke). It can support a little bit more than 200PS.

The weakpoint is the pistons. One of the MAZDA pistons are the same bore that the QG15DE engine (73,6mm). Maybe it can be usable.

Know somebody forged pistons for a QG15DE engine? (not a custom made)

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 18th, 2007, 8:32 am

^^^ do you realy think after spending all that money and you meet a honda guy or a Corolla lova with a high rev 1.6 with just a modified brain that makes just a lil less power than you but for some reason off the line you get 3 lengths in 1st gear, and a nasty 4 lengths by the time they pop 2nd?

I thought of doing this long time and followed nissan performance mag project with the QG18DE-T project which took some effort just to cross the 200hp mark.. A turbo charged SR18DE will give you more power, it's dam stronger, more options for aftermarket parts, more money in the bank ( proven and done millions of times you can't miss ) and better yet once done properly can leave you with the shaking right foot syndrome.

joel

Postby joel » November 19th, 2007, 11:59 am

shaking foot syndrome...muaahahhahahah :twisted:

babyboi12

Re: Turbo Qg 15

Postby babyboi12 » May 22nd, 2013, 8:24 pm

well fellas my cuzin and i are 2 mechanics and at the moment we are placing a turbo in a QG15 (B14) and for those who say it's impossible... it's not .... but nevertheless .. give me a call on 3507713 by next month and i'll love to show u all the car.. if u dont get true leave a voicemail....

GoS

Postby GoS » May 22nd, 2013, 9:37 pm

i have a stock qg18de automatic transmission and tapping up some sr20de auto as well

rallyequalsrace

Postby rallyequalsrace » May 22nd, 2013, 11:37 pm

sr is an heavier engine than a QG18....i have both in the same type of cars...all non turbo....the QG wins all the time.....looking to put the QG on 7 Pounds very soon.....just looking for more power when the ac is on.....

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 23rd, 2013, 6:58 pm

never know cast iron light hmmmmmm

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 24th, 2013, 12:25 am

So maybe a slightly related question.. I'm thinking of turbo charging and inter cooling my sr20de.. Td04 turbo on like 6psi. Problem is my car is automatic and don't wanna change the transmission just yet.. Will the auto tranny be able to manage with that kind of power (estimate maybe about 200 hp)

Postby Ted_v2 » May 24th, 2013, 12:32 am

Yea. With a cooler. Pm the syndicate, a b12 guy. He has his sr20de boosted with a normal sr20det turbo, he is also running auto transmission

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 24th, 2013, 12:35 am

Thanks a lot man will do!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 24th, 2013, 12:56 am

once you have good management you good to go

Postby nervewrecker » May 24th, 2013, 2:47 am

Already did my research on this, SR20 is the answer. Turbo Qg = waste of $$$ and effort.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 24th, 2013, 7:04 am

wogard

so one might end up in the mera?

Postby nervewrecker » May 24th, 2013, 8:54 pm

No eh, My QG stays in there :lol:

lindel23

Postby lindel23 » May 26th, 2013, 11:04 pm

all u sr men are wrong about the qg's. right now i have have a qg15 in my car with hardly any upgrades to it an it running really nice an a also know a guy with a qg18 an cuttin sr20 ass really bad. my qg almost done a n a comin after all sr men an a will prove u all wrong.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 26th, 2013, 11:07 pm

what mods you planning to do?