sr20 neo vvl timing setup

spock

sr20 neo vvl timing setup

Postby spock » November 2nd, 2007, 10:22 pm

I rebuilt my sr20 neo vvl using all the necessary marks to line up the timing HOWEVER when I put the timing light on the engine using cyclinder 1 I do not get any timing marks showing up on the crank.
If I user cyclinder 2 or 3 I get the timing marks showing up on the crank.

the engine start and running BUT I think I made a mistake with the timing.

can this be resolved with out taking the engine out of the car and breaking it down? and what exactly is the timing value?

need some help

spock

krack korn

Postby krack korn » November 3rd, 2007, 12:29 am

That is not a problem at all at all at all

First turn the crank to the TDC mark (yellow) and verify that pistons 1 & 4 are at TDC (using a screwdriver or some such tru the plug hole), if pistons 1 and 4 are not at TDC then u have the dreaded pully slip, just a little more inconvenient than the clap but easier to cure.

What happens sometimes is that the outer part of the crank pully (which has the timing marks) moves or slips relative to the inner part and so u cannot verify ignition timing using the pulley marks. This does not affect engine performance in any way.

The cure is to get a new crank pulley either from Nissan (walk with personal lubricant) or from an aftermarket supplier like Unorthodox Racing or G-Spec Performance (my recomendation).

Stock ignition timing is 5 deg BTDC

Cam timing for VE is same as for all SR20/18/16 i.e. if u have pistons 1 and 4 at TDC then the exhaust cam keyway is straight up (12 o'clock) and the intake cam keyway is at 10 o'clock.

If u have incorrect cam timing it can be corrected by removing the tappet cover only, a complete teardown is not required.

spock

vvl timing issue

Postby spock » November 12th, 2007, 8:47 am

The issue turned out to be the pulley slip. When compared to the replacement pulley, the original pulley was more than 90 degrees off the original markings. That is between the keyway and the timing marks to be exact.

I got an oem pulley and installed it. timing set just about 4 degrees BTDC

Thanks Krack Korn for the help.
Spock

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » November 12th, 2007, 11:16 pm

krack korn .....u have yur own shop jed.....i wha sumbody like you who good with these vvl engines to go to when i cya solve any problem on meh own.....and sumone who wont jus play they know what they doin....i from central.....

krack korn

Postby krack korn » November 13th, 2007, 7:55 am

^No I don't have a shop and I am not a mechanic. I have one or two of these engines and several friends had/have them in various flavours of N/A and pressurised so I know a little about it.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 13th, 2007, 9:20 am

Aye crack corn , youever work on a SR20VET? whats the similarities between that and the VE? - Btw , how much quarts of oil do you guys use per change?

I`m new to the SR`s - so i now startin to learn. (yeah i knowi have a long way to go)

Furlz

Postby Furlz » November 13th, 2007, 12:49 pm

^^ About 3 1/2 quarts, sometimes a little less.

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » November 13th, 2007, 4:49 pm

yeah i agree about 3 1/2 quarts.....

i using royal purple rite now....