HELP - Aftermarket Tachometer Installation on b14

alleykat2020

HELP - Aftermarket Tachometer Installation on b14

Postby alleykat2020 » February 16th, 2008, 6:28 pm

I recently bought a 2" tachometer but not sure which colour wire on the distributer should be connected to the green signal wire on the tachometer. Can anyone help with this, or is there a better place to connect the signal wire. It is supposed to be connected to the negative terminal on the ignition coil, but I'm running a ga15de fuel injected, and i dont think it carries the traditional coil. Thanks for the help in advance.

Postby wagonrunner » February 16th, 2008, 9:22 pm

it should be the green wire on the external distributor lead.
if you do not have one, an electricion needs to take it off of the black wire, leading to the internal coil in the distributor. be extremely careful with the second option, as shorting of those wire will have you looking for an external coil to be wired into (preferred), or a new distributor

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » February 17th, 2008, 3:39 pm

it can be connected directly to the ECU using pin # 2

demented

Postby demented » July 30th, 2008, 1:14 pm

I have an SR20 with the external coil....which wire from the ecu is the tach signal to the tachometer?

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » August 31st, 2008, 7:04 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:it can be connected directly to the ECU using pin # 2

can anyone else confirm this??

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 31st, 2008, 7:50 pm

um a miss type there bro it's pin # 3 if you want it wired yuh could check me .. on the ecu its the blue wire with a white stripe *note thats for the front wheel drive cars the 4WD colours are different well thats on ours when i wired the tacho it was the colour of the same colour used on pin # 2 of the FWD harness a Bit strange :? oh and the fellas who say that a tacho can't be wired to a QG without a tach adaptor um not true it could i did it the wire is there just as the GA has the connector close to the distributor there's one for the Qg there's another trick of finding the wire for any engine no matter the make . using a multimeter a good one though , i got a Fluke 179 :wink: put it on the AC scale and do a test . The Rpm wire will give a voltage of *app = 6V @ idle and as the RMP increase so will the voltage OR you could use the frequency scale too

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 31st, 2008, 7:54 pm

demented, the same goes for the SR

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » August 31st, 2008, 9:33 pm

Anil_Sooknanan, my GA15 does not have the wire on the distributor....

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 31st, 2008, 10:43 pm

on the ecu its the blue wire with a white stripe

take it directly from the Ecu

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » September 1st, 2008, 5:18 am

Anil_Sooknanan, what about the O2 sensor... u kno where it is located on the ECU??

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » September 1st, 2008, 5:23 am

by chance u have an ecu pinout????

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 1st, 2008, 12:26 pm

yea but you could use the pin out from the SR it's the same for the basic stuff

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » September 1st, 2008, 8:54 pm

^^^ok thanks...

Rimzspeed

Re:

Postby Rimzspeed » May 5th, 2014, 10:22 pm

wagonrunner wrote:it should be the green wire on the external distributor lead.
if you do not have one, an electricion needs to take it off of the black wire, leading to the internal coil in the distributor. be extremely careful with the second option, as shorting of those wire will have you looking for an external coil to be wired into (preferred), or a new distributor

I have a similar problem as the op, cud u identify which on of these wire is the tach signal?

Rimzspeed

Re: HELP - Aftermarket Tachometer Installation on b14

Postby Rimzspeed » May 6th, 2014, 7:50 am

^^^help

Re: HELP - Aftermarket Tachometer Installation on b14

Postby Ted_v2 » May 11th, 2014, 7:31 am

ECU pin 2 the man say.
use that