c33 laurel r32 brakes, help

miguel granville

c33 laurel r32 brakes, help

Postby miguel granville » March 1st, 2010, 9:39 pm

Ite fellaz just need to know, how do you set up r32 4 pot brake calipers on a c33 laurel?
can it be done with the stock rotor disc?
can i use the skyline rotor and redrill it to 4 hole?

how do you go about doing this? i was looking for some links online but dint find any

Islandboy.7

Postby Islandboy.7 » March 1st, 2010, 10:56 pm

Just re-drill the rotors to 4x114 pattern, Then remove the caliper and bolt on the R32 caliper in its place. Once you remove the caliper the rotor just slides off and then you just reconnect the lines......you may have to change around the lines because the male and female ends of the brakes lines may be different on both Calipers..

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » March 1st, 2010, 11:05 pm

ok so i will not need any adaptor or anything for the caliper

do you know any links or pics on how you do it

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » March 2nd, 2010, 7:06 am

Islandboy.7 wrote:Just re-drill the rotors to 4x114 pattern, Then remove the caliper and bolt on the R32 caliper in its place. Once you remove the caliper the rotor just slides off and then you just reconnect the lines......you may have to change around the lines because the male and female ends of the brakes lines may be different on both Calipers..

so ill need to use the bolts from the r32 caliper?
ill be buying the r32 calipers and rotors from hice or one of them boys so im not sure if it will have the bolts
so when i redrill the rotors it will just be a simple bolt for bolt setup then?

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » March 2nd, 2010, 7:36 am

Postby black start » March 2nd, 2010, 10:03 am

so does the calipers bolt on without any plates being made?

Postby black start » March 2nd, 2010, 10:04 am

Postby black start » March 2nd, 2010, 10:05 am

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » March 2nd, 2010, 12:52 pm

bump

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 4th, 2010, 7:07 pm

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 4th, 2010, 7:27 pm

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » March 10th, 2010, 1:57 pm

Black Start wrote:so does the calipers bolt on without any plates being made?

NO. after redrilling to YOUR spacing (4x114) offer the rotor up and try bolting the caliper up, if it doesn't fit (cuz the rotor jams the caliper) you may have to shave the rotor about 1/8 of an inch to clear the caliper to be able to spin freely. BTW make sure your rims can clear the calipers FIRST, otherwise you may have to change rims to accomodate the rotors :wink:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 10th, 2010, 2:06 pm

^^^ You sure that's the case for C33/A31/S13

Postby black start » March 10th, 2010, 3:48 pm

^conrad dont you have the same conversion done on ur ceffy?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 10th, 2010, 6:56 pm

c33 a31 s13 same suspension jus teh shocks different i tink. the r32 or 300 zx rotors will fit wen redrilled to 4x114 an teh calipers will bolt on direct. you will have to get the brakes line also from the caliper you gettin or carry yours an redo it by trinidad hose. teh master cylinder might be able to work not sure about it, only in teh c32 will you have to use a s13 master cylinder due to the bigger bore of the laurel. a smaller bore master cylinder is necessary.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 11th, 2010, 4:07 am

Black Start wrote:^conrad dont you have the same conversion done on ur ceffy?

Yes I do.

I went a different route and did a 5 stud conversion using C35 spindles, so no re-drilling of rotors. Everything fitted like OEM EXCEPT my "dust-shield" got lix for wanting to touch the 11" rotors and the male connector on the brake line was a lil longer than the one that fits in the caliper so a single washer was used to account for the extra length. The problem with C35 spindles is finding a suitable ball-joint. I believe the S14/S15 one should work as they basically use the same suspension components, Nissan doesn't sell them separate from the control arm/track-arm. I plan to purchase C35/S14 control arms when I put in coilovers as they're longer than stock and would cause excess negative camber = eating of tyres on the inside.

Islandboy.7 has it correct as his rotors were redrilled to 4x114. From what I understand the only mod that needs to be done is the re-drilling of rotors OR you can use R33 GTS (not the turbo model) rotors that are 11" as well but came 4x114, may be a lil harder to source. The rear is a completely different story.

As turbohead said, it's best to get matching master cylinder to displace more brake fluid. In Nissan the brake master cylinders use a "BM" code, the higher the number the larger the bore. Stock S13 starts from as low as BM33 = 13/16 I think for the manual models OR BM38 = 7/8 for the auto models.

I have a BM38 sitting home doing nothing as I replaced it with a R32 GTS-T unit BM44 15/16 which locked up the brakes better.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 11th, 2010, 6:58 pm

Conrad, you are right with that control arm theory i tried installing the s13 arm on teh c32 an they were longer by half inch. excessive neg camber was result. wat you have to do is use back the c32 arms an taper the spindle to accept the c32 ball joints. the steering ends would need to change also. c33 inner and outer ends will work on the c32, done it already. they main concern is dat the s13 shock were much shorter also than teh c32 shocks. if you are goin with coilovers you wont have to wry. if not you will have to buy b14 shocks to work.they will bolt up direct. if you want you could check meh for the conversion.

rickittoutkast

Postby rickittoutkast » March 29th, 2010, 5:03 pm

Ok I am kinda new to this so excuse me, I own a c33 laurel and I am tryin to add a 4 pot brakes, I just wanted to know the parts list I need to buy before I go to the mehanic or if I should try it myself. Any assistance would highly appreciated. Thanks

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 29th, 2010, 5:32 pm

It's the same as a big brake conversion for the S13 so you can google the info using "S13 big brake conversion".

Xkillah

Re: c33 laurel r32 brakes, help

Postby Xkillah » September 18th, 2014, 9:28 pm

I have a c33 and I am in the process of upgrading the brakes to r32.
I have one problem, I cant find a ball joint that will work. The original from the c33 arm is bigger and doesn’t go all the way in the r32 spindle.
What to do????
Help!

Postby turbosingh » September 19th, 2014, 6:48 am

Xkillah wrote:I have a c33 and I am in the process of upgrading the brakes to r32.
I have one problem, I cant find a ball joint that will work. The original from the c33 arm is bigger and doesn’t go all the way in the r32 spindle.
What to do????
Help!

You dont need to change your ball joint :? Its a direct rotor/caliper replacement unless yuh goin 5 hole use the C35/S15 spindles.

real stinger

Postby real stinger » April 2nd, 2015, 10:37 pm

Takea a lil time and patients but it linea up eventually