SIMPLE BRAKE UPGRADES

dballer

Re: SIMPLE BRAKE UPGRADES

Postby dballer » July 23rd, 2012, 1:39 pm

Hey Guys i must say i dont kno much about cars.......any way i drive an AD wagon an was wondering if it would b possible to change it to 5 hole 2 support som rims i have laying around ? and if yes how can this be done

dballer

Postby dballer » July 26th, 2012, 10:14 am

any1?

NR8

Foreign used rotor discs

Postby NR8 » August 4th, 2012, 7:08 pm

I've noticed that the stopping surface of most rotor discs at fu yards are usually rusted. What needs to be done to get them back in usable condition? Or are they usable as is?

Postby black start » August 5th, 2012, 12:38 pm

^Most of that is just some oxidation. A lot that I have purchased foreign used are good, but the ones that are too corroded can either be returned to the place of purchase or if you wish to make it usable, just carry it to a decent machine shop and have the rotor "faced" or as most people say "machined" to get back smooth. When this is done, please ensure the rotor is still within the limits of the minimum thickness.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 5th, 2012, 6:25 pm

^^^ thanks bro.. Have you ever had yours machined? How much does it cost?

Postby black start » August 5th, 2012, 8:45 pm

^Nope I never had any rotors machined so I don't know the cost but the cost will be proportional to the size of the rotor I guess....

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 13th, 2012, 7:42 am

would I still be able to use the 13" spare wheel if I upgrade my B12 to AD22VF or even AD18V?

Postby black start » August 13th, 2012, 11:46 am

^nope the ad18v required a 14'' spare and since the ad22v is bigger that would also require the bigger rim. I know you are looking at purchasing the ad18v from me but I advising you that if you get a set of ad22vf at a decent price, you should definitely go with that hoss. The ad18v works good but the ad22vf is a mean brakes setup especially if you going with that turbo app. :lol:

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 13th, 2012, 2:18 pm

boy the way things going right now I might have to put a hold on that upgrade. I have to change velocity joints, shocks and springs, align and buy tires. I might not be able to afford an extra 14/15" rim and tire as well, so if you get another offer feel free to let it go...no scene. 8-)

I know for sure I'm not going turbo with this car...so it looks like I might have to settle for the B14 setup for now :| and stainless steel hoses if I can get them without too much hassle.

Postby black start » August 13th, 2012, 10:12 pm

^I didn't really advertise the set up for sale, I just had it as an extra. All the guys on the b12 club seemed real cool so I didn't mind parting with it to help a brother out. Me personally, I would have changed those things you mentioned first too. Car have to be working good an riding good. Don't study it, the b14 set up works good too, have that on the b13 right now...

iVanhOracio

Postby iVanhOracio » August 15th, 2012, 11:03 am

eh soul....how much yuh sellin the ad18 for tho..? thas if nr8 eh takin it? cuz imho he shud have first preff

Postby black start » August 15th, 2012, 6:40 pm

Actually my cousin selling the set from his b14 so I got two sets. Price is 500 firm, which is a couple hundred less than what was paid for it.

iVanhOracio

Postby iVanhOracio » August 15th, 2012, 10:08 pm

issa bolt for bolt on a b12 rite wid just the bending of the lines right?

Postby black start » August 17th, 2012, 10:45 am

yes the ad18v is bolt for bolt on the b12. With respect to a b13 master cylinder swap on the b12, yes this would entail bending on the brake lines by the cylinder.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » October 1st, 2012, 11:28 pm

yakuza wrote:Here are some simple FRONT brake upgrades, with little or no modification.

Simple brake upgrades FRONT
AD22VF set up is a direct bolt on for B13, B14, Y10, N15, Presea (10” rotor and single piston calliper or complete spindle)
Can work on Y11 ( AD wagon), but must use complete spindle, disc pads are the same as U13 SSS bluebird, but carry a sample just in case when going to buy.
If you have an AD wagon, and don’t want to change to B14 spindles, you can use AD22VE callipers along with AD22VF rotors, AD22VE callipers bolt directly to AD spindles.
AD22VF set up can be found from GTiR pulsar RNN14, N15 VZ-R pulsar

W10 avenir 11” rotors and double piston callipers, direct bolt on for P10, P11, U13, U14, B15, N16, Y11-wingroad.
This set up can be found on the W10 Avenir and U13 bluebird that came with SR20DET, these disc pads are the same as A33 Cifero/Maxima.
11”rotors and large single piston callipers from the SR20VE equipped Y11 ZV-S, U14 and P11 are a direct bolt on for P10, P11, U13, U14, B15, N16, Y11-Wingroad also.

Simple brake upgrades REAR
The N15 VZ-R Pulsar complete rear disc brake set up is a direct bolt on upgrade for the B14, N15, Presea, they have 10” rotors and a larger calliper.
If you already have the tiny 9” rear disc set up, you can just swap the rotors and callipers.
Another way to get this upgrade is to re-drill P11 rear disc to 4x100, and use together with the P11 callipers.
The VZ-R and P11 callipers are the same, so they use the same disc pads.

A32/33 rear 11” rotors (5x114) can be re-drilled to 4x114 and swapped on to the P11/U14, using the A32/33 rear callipers.

A32/33 rear disc pads are the same as P11/U14.
VZ-R, P11, U14, A32, A33 all share the same rear callipers, the difference is the length of the mounting bracket, to accommodate the larger size rotor.
Boosters and Master Cylinders
For B14, N15, P11, U14 and Presea with ABS, the booster and master cylinder can be upgraded with the one from the W10 (SR20DET) that came with ABS , the ABS master cylinder has two outlets only.
If you don’t have ABS on your B14 etc, the booster and master cylinder from a non ABS W10 will work also, non ABS cylinder have 4 outlets.
Both W10 ABS and non ABS brake master cylinders come with 1” bore.
If you lucky you can get the W11 booster and master cylinder, same 1” bore, but the booster is considerably larger than the W10.

i wanna ask you something if its now a prob,

i have a y11 i bought the p11 11" rotor and caliper but i notice the caliper is the same only the rotor is bigger by 1"....

is this the correct upgrade for the y11?

Postby black start » October 1st, 2012, 11:40 pm

^the actual caliper is the same but the caliper bracket is a bit further out to accommodate the larger rotor. And yes it is a decent upgrade for our car. What size mc you running?

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » October 3rd, 2012, 2:40 pm

well the caliper bracket is a bit bigger but not much so i assumed was the same but after i looked carefully it is bigger and slightly different in the way u described it.

i using the original mc from my y11 will this have an effect?......for some reason my pedal is a bit low and i dont kno why....i changed the back shoes and adjusted it also the front pads are ok and the fluid is full...i bleed all 4 wheels also..

Postby black start » October 3rd, 2012, 7:52 pm

what size mc you having?was the pedal low before the upgrade?

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 4th, 2012, 6:16 am

Machine shops typically charge $100 per rotor ...that's to resurface both sides.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » October 4th, 2012, 6:44 am

lost soul wrote:what size mc you having?was the pedal low before the upgrade?

i dont know the size....how do u kno the mc size?
yes it was low before the upgrade...its not like "lowww" but it is lower than how it suppose to be.

Postby black start » October 4th, 2012, 8:03 am

^it's written somewhere on the mc. It's on the underside iirc, so you'll have to get a look under there. I usually use a small mirror....

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » October 4th, 2012, 10:33 am

ill have to check when i get home but what size i supposed to use?

Postby black start » October 4th, 2012, 1:52 pm

a 15/16'' would work nice and is readily available.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » October 4th, 2012, 4:35 pm

what car that coming from? the lines would line up back normal?

Postby black start » October 4th, 2012, 4:54 pm

you can get it from a p11/u14 or I believe some wingroads come with it. Others as well, but I can't remember off the top of my head. The a32 can work as well but you would require a slight bending of the front line

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » October 4th, 2012, 8:07 pm

ok thanks alot man i will let u kno how it goes

johnny boi

Postby johnny boi » October 5th, 2012, 11:40 pm

Wiz d scne ppl?!... Just wanted to know where i can source the AD22VF setup for the front of my b14?.... would highly appreciate it thanks because i'm looking to put in an SR20 soon....

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » October 9th, 2012, 10:33 pm

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 14th, 2012, 8:31 am

I want an upgrade for a Y11 but not with the B14 set up. How much wud it cost?

Postby black start » October 14th, 2012, 10:09 am

racedriverpro wrote:I want an upgrade for a Y11 but not with the B14 set up. How much wud it cost?

ad or wingroad?