SR20VE

HYPERCVTM6

SR20VE

Postby HYPERCVTM6 » September 21st, 2004, 2:35 pm

guys
has anyone modified the sr20ve engine yet.
just wanted to know what mods could be done
thanks

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 21st, 2004, 3:57 pm

im havin the same prob.
wha kinda sr20 u hav?

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » September 21st, 2004, 6:19 pm

You guys running sr20ve engines?

Do some searches on this forum http://www.sr20forum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=41

HYPERCVTM6

Postby HYPERCVTM6 » September 21st, 2004, 6:25 pm

I HAVE THE NEO VVL ENGINE
THE BLACK TOP SR20VE

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » September 21st, 2004, 6:52 pm

Let me see how I could help...

Intakes
You could use any intake pipes made for a lowport sr20de. CAI included but stick to the 3" ones. The MAF adapter different though.

Exhaust
VE likes a big free flowing exhaust. 2.5" mandrel bends with straight through muffler and resonator is best.

Header
The VE manifold is a pretty good design. sr20de headers don't line up properly by the ports so they don't offer much gains over the stock manifold if any at all. Fujibitsu, Impul and now Hotshot makes headers for the sr20ve.

Cams
JWT has cams in the works right now. sr16ve cams gives a few HP up top. SR20VE N1 or 20vale sr20ve cams make good power but they need N1 springs and retainers to handle the high revs.

ECU
sr16ve ECU would give you a higher red line...just lower your ignition timing 1-2 degrees

Could also use MSD rpm activated switches or Greddy MSS to trigger the cams earlyer.

Pullies
I heard you should stay away from chaging the crack pully on the VE but some have done it with no problems so far.

Okay meh head hurtin now....I'll see if I could add to that later.

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » September 21st, 2004, 10:00 pm

better yet....swap in a 5 speed.

I was told a stock Te-V Primera dyno's in the 13x whp with the CVTM6 but with a 5speed box it does close to 160whp. That's alot of power the CVT tranny is sapping up.

JWT

Postby JWT » September 21st, 2004, 11:33 pm

yeah but a 5speed gearbox will have the engine over revving

that engine is supposed to be married to a 6 speed gearbox
:mrgreen:

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » September 22nd, 2004, 10:51 am

Let me see you find a FWD 6 speed gearbox for a SR engine. 5 fwd would work fine.

HYPERCVTM6

Postby HYPERCVTM6 » September 22nd, 2004, 3:45 pm

GUYS
thanks for all the info
i am just getting involved in this modification stuff.
is it possible to add a turbo from one of those det engines onto this vvl?

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » September 22nd, 2004, 4:15 pm

Of couse but you'll need to install DET pistons or at least DE pistons to get the compression down enough to handle boost.

SLR

Postby SLR » September 22nd, 2004, 7:21 pm

as far as i know the sr20 neo vvl is totally different to the sr20ve ....the neo is good but the sr20ve is a different beast ...oh yeah and it has a cool blue top ...the ve is very rare ...only saw one once

JWT

Postby JWT » September 22nd, 2004, 8:57 pm

sr18 Primera wrote:Of couse but you'll need to install DET pistons or at least DE pistons to get the compression down enough to handle boost.

what u smokin pallie the VVL engines are different from the normal SR's

if u wanan turbo this engine get a RB 20 turbo and build a manifold
now the trick is that the exhaust manifold on the VVL is bigger than the SR20de the VVL is alot wider so the normal exhaust gaskits would not work

advice import an engine kit this will include your head gaskit,and all seals
u will need 2 gaskits atleast or one cometic gaskit to drop the compression and then u will be able to run boost

I am not sure of the internals but most likely the VVL is different on the piston design
u can safely run 7psi

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » September 22nd, 2004, 9:45 pm

SLR wrote:as far as i know the sr20 neo vvl is totally different to the sr20ve ....the neo is good but the sr20ve is a different beast ...oh yeah and it has a cool blue top ...the ve is very rare ...only saw one once

First up the sr20 neo vvl IS the sr20ve
It HAS a black top. The blue top is the sr16ve and the red top is the sr16ve N1 version.

There is also a 20 valve version made from 2001.

Apart from the N1 version the VE's aren't that rare at all.

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » September 22nd, 2004, 10:24 pm

VVL wrote:if u wanan turbo this engine get a RB 20 turbo and build a manifold
now the trick is that the exhaust manifold on the VVL is bigger than the SR20de the VVL is alot wider so the normal exhaust gaskits would not work

Why not just use a DET manifold and port match it???

VVL wrote:advice import an engine kit this will include your head gaskit,and all seals
u will need 2 gaskits atleast or one cometic gaskit to drop the compression and then u will be able to run boost

How much you think a thinker gasket going to drop the compression by? It's a 11:1 compression engine. The bore is the same so DET pistons would fit fine but because of the smaller compression chamber of the VE head the 8.5:1 DET pistons would really make around 9:1 compression ratio in the VE. Good enough for safe boosting.

VVL wrote:I am not sure of the internals but most likely the VVL is different on the piston design
u can safely run 7psi

The VE uses flat top 86mm bore pistons

VVL wrote:what u smokin pallie the VVL engines are different from the normal SR's

I ain't smoking anything.... The VVL engines aren't that different... You should know that VVL :roll:

JWT

Postby JWT » September 22nd, 2004, 11:09 pm

read this
http://www.nissanforums.com/archive/ind ... 37716.html
talk done

Notice you will see P11 is 10.3.1 :lol: :lol: P12 is the newest Primera

Originally posted by kesi24
SR16VE=11:1
SR20VE=10.3:1 P11 :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :twisted: :twisted:
SR20VE=11.1 P12

i cannot definatly answer on the VVL's bottom end but the cams are different and so is the exhaust gaskits

JWT

Postby JWT » September 22nd, 2004, 11:26 pm

HyperCVT m6 read this

http://www.nissanforums.com/showthread. ... adid=37693

try this link for a good comparision on what u really want to do

JWT

Postby JWT » September 22nd, 2004, 11:38 pm

http://www.gonzonx.com/

this guy actually turboed a VE
good luck finding the same parts :wink:

JWT

Postby JWT » September 22nd, 2004, 11:39 pm

http://www.nissanforums.com/archive/ind ... f-138.html

more info on the VVl
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

pallie get a det 8)

dragzster

Postby dragzster » September 23rd, 2004, 1:59 am

would it then be more feasible to upgrade a sr20de than a sr20ve neo vvl?

HYPERCVTM6

Postby HYPERCVTM6 » September 23rd, 2004, 12:04 pm

GUYS
how much could i sell a primera with the neo vvl engine
and cvt transmission for
the car is in excellent condition with flare kit and spoiler
A PBN series with 150 thousand kilos(mostly done on the hiway from north
to south)

JWT

Postby JWT » September 23rd, 2004, 6:28 pm

boii that i eh know i want to sell mine also
but the market is saying no more than 65,000

but if people know ur car good they may be willing to pay more

JWT

Postby JWT » September 23rd, 2004, 6:30 pm

dragzster wrote:would it then be more feasible to upgrade a sr20de than a sr20ve neo vvl?

yip that is what the people are saying

HYPERCVTM6

Postby HYPERCVTM6 » September 25th, 2004, 5:46 pm

AYE VVL
DID U DO ANY MODS YE TTO YOUR PRIMERA??

JWT

Postby JWT » September 25th, 2004, 9:18 pm

nah none
pallie

u see people saythe sr20ve and sr20de taking the same exhaust manifold and stuff but u know some people here who take it out and saw that the sr20de smaller in terms of exhaust gaskits to the VE engine

if u going turbo sr20det

mods for d VVL
Vtec controller and open the exhaust also take out the speed cut by buying a fuel cut defender and u easy dey

HYPERCVTM6

Postby HYPERCVTM6 » September 28th, 2004, 4:00 pm

JWT
i see that u have a subaru ico by your name
i just wanted to know where could i get one of those subaru wrx-nb and
which company is willing to insure the car
thanks man

JWT

Postby JWT » September 28th, 2004, 8:50 pm

pallie
u getting them subaru non turbo brand new in massey to buy like 140,000 and it is a 1600cc

also who insuring them chekc colifire once it turbo hell no none a dem wants to insure the imprezza turbo but colfire insuring the foresster
pm wagon r for more details

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » October 12th, 2004, 11:40 pm

lol....lik VVL scare off SR18Primera :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » October 13th, 2004, 9:36 am

scared off???

HYPERCVTM6 got all his questions answered.

You want to ask something on topic in this thread?

HYPERCVTM6

Postby HYPERCVTM6 » October 17th, 2004, 11:48 am

WELL FELLAS
just wanted to know where and by whom could i get the sr20ve turboed successfully??

William18

Re: SR20VE

Postby William18 » June 12th, 2011, 5:51 pm

Wud need this post.............