I have a sound like air is coming out of my new kyb shock

Posted: April 25th, 2012, 11:14 pm
by YoungJoc335
i installed these shock no more that a month ago. It is a pair of kyb gas front struts. Now last week i hearing what sounds like air escaping the shock when i go over a speed bump or hit a pot hole. What is that and plz doh tell me the shock gone ? Cause i also notice the new dust covers busted.

Re: I have a sound like air is coming out of my new kyb shoc

Posted: April 25th, 2012, 11:18 pm
by YoungJoc335
but the shock respond well to normal driving

Posted: April 27th, 2012, 2:24 pm
by rollingstock
That is normal for those gas shocks, nothing to worry about.

When you stop hearing it then worry cause most likely your shocks may need changing.

Posted: April 27th, 2012, 11:23 pm
by YoungJoc335
thanks man

Posted: April 30th, 2012, 9:30 am
by YoungJoc335
well update it is busted not sure y or how but it leaking. sigh

Posted: April 30th, 2012, 9:46 am
by rollingstock
^ New shocks busted already?

Accustom hearing the 'psshhh' sound going over humps etc in my vehicles and others with teh gas shocks.

I see you said the dust cover is busted, is your vehicle lowered?
Stock height those dust covers don't normally get damaged easily.
If lowered your struts may have been bottoming out causing it to leak.

Posted: April 30th, 2012, 11:56 pm
by YoungJoc335
not lowered. Stock height. Now the thing is I alone don't drive my car my mother also drive it sometimes. Also i may need to take in that i drove my car on pure springs for about 2 yrs. When i got the car all 4 shocks was dead and due to the fact the car i sold to get this one i just change all 4 shocks on that. I found it have to spend a next 2 grand so quickly So maybe i need a change of springs also.