Looking for a CVT Specialist

sweeks

Looking for a CVT Specialist

Postby sweeks » July 30th, 2007, 9:16 am

Car - 1999 Primera

Problem - CVT not allowing the car the increase speed after pulling off.

Can anyone advise on this?
Last edited by sweeks on August 27th, 2007, 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » July 30th, 2007, 10:33 am

Darren Cassie.
Restorex Ltd.
Gasparillo
650-3864

Stepper motor looks like its fugged.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » July 30th, 2007, 11:59 am

^ sounds like a correct assesment. But u can do the diagnostic it is posted here on the forum somewhere make a search, Identify the culprit and proceed from there. It could be another sensor as well, the stepper is the usual suspect however.

you could go and buy the stepper motor new at the motorist for about $700.00 always ask for discount and best price, call around at different motorist, u will find a big disparity in prices of some items.

The stepper is very easy to change, Drain and collect fluid in a clean container for reuse. Just take off transmission sump pan unbolt and unplug the stepper, its 2 10mm bolts, replace and plug in, close up refill your oil and that is it. I have seen a 4yr old do it already. Any mechanic can do it, some 'specialists' charge a lot be wary.

If i locate the FSM I will post up the diagnostic proceedure.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 30th, 2007, 12:34 pm

Thanks fellas

krack korn

Postby krack korn » July 30th, 2007, 1:03 pm

TCM Self-diagnostic Procedure (No Tools) (Keywords: Nissan CVT, CVT Diagnostic, AT25)

Preparation
1. Turn ignition switch to “OFFâ€
Last edited by krack korn on September 21st, 2007, 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 30th, 2007, 1:21 pm

^^^ U working in a dealer or wha...... u like a real nissan GURU dread!!!

krack korn

Postby krack korn » July 30th, 2007, 4:57 pm

no padnah I just have a download copy of the manual, that above is an extract that is pertinent to the topic.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 31st, 2007, 9:03 am

Thanks fellas.

Krack Korn... you the man.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 27th, 2007, 2:42 pm

Should the car be driven in this state? Or will driving it cause more damage?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » August 27th, 2007, 9:53 pm

sweeks, u aint fix the problem yet?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 28th, 2007, 8:30 am

Dude it's a partner's car. He's injured and I trying to help him out.

fats

Postby fats » August 30th, 2007, 2:28 pm

buy one for $3500.00 and you good to go no problems

Rx

Postby Rx » August 31st, 2007, 6:42 pm

[quote="krack korn"]TCM Self-diagnostic Procedure (No Tools) (Keywords: Nissan CVT, CVT Diagnostic, AT-25)

Preparation
1. Turn ignition switch to “OFFâ€

whr00m

Postby whr00m » September 22nd, 2007, 8:29 am

I don't understand how I 2. Disconnect the throttle position switch harness connector. and where I can finde it?

What are exactly the judgement flickers,

And when you say "turn the igniton switch to ON position", this means turning on the engine, or just the last position of the switch without turning on the engine.

I have a cvt-m6 transmission on my primera p11 2000, and I need serios help because I don't have specialists for this kind of problems :( :( :(

please please help

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 22nd, 2007, 8:45 am

And when you say "turn the igniton switch to ON position", this means turning on the engine, or just the last position of the switch without turning on the engine.

yea they mean turn on till u see the lights on on the dash and NOT start....

the best thing for u to do is get the car scanned....

there is some guy in La romaine that scans those cars....
u can find out more

whr00m

Postby whr00m » September 23rd, 2007, 4:51 pm

OK............. thank you very much Krack Korn............. I did the test today and surprise: the first judgement flicker staid longer then the other nine.....
:D :D :D
This means I have to change the secondary speed sensor?

I talked to the dealer and the sensor costs me 240$ :D, they will have it shipped for me in 3 weeks :( . Hope this will solve my problem.

I'l keep you informed with my progress, thank you

scobar5820

Postby scobar5820 » April 12th, 2008, 9:33 pm

ok fellas, here is my issues.....today the tranny wasn't shifting at all....when i come to a stop it wouldn't engage....unless i carry up the RPM...now when it does it would move along then the engine would continue racing as though i'm hammering the car.....any insight or evaluation....

stressed d fo..k out... :evil:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 12th, 2008, 9:41 pm

^what car, engine and tranny(M6 or normal CVT)??

scobar5820

Postby scobar5820 » April 12th, 2008, 10:00 pm

1999 Nissan Primera M6 Hyper CVT

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 12th, 2008, 10:46 pm

the First advice to take is Get the Car scanned and it should tell u the problem

scobar5820

Postby scobar5820 » April 13th, 2008, 12:27 am

ok get it scanned where?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 13th, 2008, 10:15 am

there is a guy in La romain that does the scan....some tuners know where exaclty!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 25th, 2008, 9:07 pm

flash in aranguez also has the car.... scanning tool

nismotrinidappa

Re: Looking for a CVT Specialist

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 7th, 2012, 4:30 pm

whats his number> where he located?