TIIDA SOUNDING LIKE AN OLD TAXI

bibliobelle

TIIDA SOUNDING LIKE AN OLD TAXI

Postby bibliobelle » December 10th, 2013, 10:44 am

Dear all,

I drive a TIIDA Hatchback 2007 r/o r/o. It is not subject to long and rigorous drives and is reasonably cared for plugs, brakes, oil etc. being car-care priorities every three months.

Recently my car started sounding like an old taxi meaning a rattling sound. I have taken it for fixing at various establishments, based on various recommendations and am now at wits’ end.

Thus far here are what have been done:

• Carbon cleaning
• Fuel injection treatment
• Gasket head changed
• Muffler changed
• Engine mount changed.
• Hubcaps removed on recommendation -_-

Can someone in the know here advise me so that I can tell a mechanic what peculiar problem to check for? When men see a lady customer sometimes they pull the wool over her eyes to make an extra dollar and some guys out there just fake it when they don’t know what the problem is (as I learnt on my last visit with the mechanic to the muffler guy on our second trip). I confess to not knowing the first thing about auto mechanics, so I am really desperate for advice.

Thanks guys.

Pointman-IA

Re: TIIDA SOUNDING LIKE AN OLD TAXI

Postby Pointman-IA » December 10th, 2013, 10:49 am

Have you changed transmission oil since having the car?
When you say old taxi, can you pinpoint where the noise is coming from?

bibliobelle

Postby bibliobelle » December 10th, 2013, 11:22 am

When I mash the X.....

No rattling sound when gunning on the highway.

I have changed the oil several times.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 10th, 2013, 11:57 am

bibliobelle wrote:When I mash the X.....

No rattling sound when gunning on the highway.

I have changed the oil several times.

Hmm. Are you from South?

Postby cinco » December 10th, 2013, 12:12 pm

Use premium

bibliobelle

Postby bibliobelle » December 10th, 2013, 1:36 pm

I am from North.

The sound is not the "pinking" or "pinkling' to which mechanics refer.

Muffler man #2 said he is hearing the rattling but cannot detect a source. Often time it is a loud aggravating hum.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 10th, 2013, 2:26 pm

bibliobelle wrote:I am from North.

Muffler man #2 said he is hearing the rattling but cannot detect a source. Often time it is a loud aggravating hum.

Unless it is the catalytic converter, the element inside it has collapsed.
Is it sounding like marbles in a tin pan?

bibliobelle

Postby bibliobelle » December 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm

the noise is present irregardless the a/c being off or on

bibliobelle

Postby bibliobelle » December 10th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
bibliobelle wrote:I am from North.

Unless it is the catalytic converter, the element inside it has collapsed.
Is it sounding like marbles in a tin pan?

Yes. Like large marbles. So ... do I show up at the mechanic shop and say just that about the catalytic converter? (not being facetious). is there a special outlet to which I can take my car to reliably investigate this?

ModMania

Postby ModMania » December 10th, 2013, 3:55 pm

Go to a muffler shop they should be able to check the cat and see

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 10th, 2013, 9:37 pm

Does the noise seem worse at low speeds, in car parks, etc?

Also, is the car CVT equipped?

bibliobelle

Postby bibliobelle » December 12th, 2013, 10:03 am

ModMania wrote:Go to a muffler shop they should be able to check the cat and see

THE MUFFLER SHOP EXPERIENCE

1st time : muffler man said the muffler was rotten so he changed it (cost)
2nd time : same muffler man said gasket head need to change, so that was done (cost)
3nd time: same muffler man said he'd have to go inside the manifold (steups) (changed muffler man)
4th time: new muffler man said gasket leaking (leak fixed). New muffler man acknowledges sound still there and admits he cannot find the source of the fault

bibliobelle

Postby bibliobelle » December 12th, 2013, 10:05 am

evolution7tt wrote:Does the noise seem worse at low speeds, in car parks, etc?

Also, is the car CVT equipped?

Sorry I don't what that is, what it does and how to determine if it is there. :oops:

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 13th, 2013, 8:03 am

Check your pm.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » December 22nd, 2013, 12:26 am

The noise you referring too sounds a vibration from the plastic parts in the engine area. its a common problem with the tiida, bluebird ect

QG

Postby QG » December 22nd, 2013, 2:59 pm

I hear a rattle sound on those plastic parts as well since some of my clips are slack or fell out lol.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 22nd, 2013, 5:56 pm

you know what you can chk, there is a piece of metal under car right near where the exhaust runs down under the located center. has four nuts i had a problem similar too that rattling. turns out the exhaust pipe was vibrating on the piece of metal.

located somewhere where the gear shifter is under the car.

hamah

Postby hamah » December 31st, 2013, 10:54 pm

Check the belt sounds like if pinking pour some water on it if noise stops need to change it.