D16B EG8 Civic vs SR20VE Primera

JesuEric

D16B EG8 Civic vs SR20VE Primera

Postby JesuEric » June 4th, 2014, 1:47 pm

wat yall say?

lets say light bolt ons to both and the civic manual and the primera tiptronic.

Re: D16B EG8 Civic vs SR20VE Primera

Postby black start » June 5th, 2014, 7:13 am

the truth does hurt men ego eh.....

ibtl

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 5th, 2014, 9:23 am

loll dem 1.6 does run I personally think the civic jus sooo light and that engine has enough torque to carry it to beat the primera.

But if it was a b14 or sum den yea

abbow

Postby abbow » June 5th, 2014, 10:03 am

First car OP?

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 5th, 2014, 10:37 am

1st car is the primera....buh a guy with a D16b wa race but I never really heard about these engines jus read about them...so better I ask ppl who know lol

Postby turbosingh » June 5th, 2014, 10:38 am

Op yuh get licks from a Civic?

Postby turbosingh » June 5th, 2014, 10:41 am

JesuEric wrote:1st car is the primera....buh a guy with a D16b wa race but I never really heard about these engines jus read about them...so better I ask ppl who know lol

If its a box it will pull away on you on a short run but on the highway yuh suppose to put some distance on him.

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 5th, 2014, 11:11 am

na never race a civic since so never ge stretch by one since I put in the VVL...only race a few mitsubushi a some 14s and 13s and a primera since I put in the engine buh I still have some things to do to it

QG

Postby QG » June 5th, 2014, 9:11 pm

turbosingh wrote:
JesuEric wrote:1st car is the primera....buh a guy with a D16b wa race but I never really heard about these engines jus read about them...so better I ask ppl who know lol

If its a box it will pull away on you on a short run but on the highway yuh suppose to put some distance on him.

You do know that D series Honda are single cam and outputs low power up to 130hp (3 stage vtec).

If you are talking about the B series high powered twin cam engine, the B16B (182 hp)can give the SR20VVL a good match...hopefully tuned well that is lol.

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 5th, 2014, 10:07 pm

QG wrote:
turbosingh wrote:

You do know that D series Honda are single cam and outputs low power up to 130hp (3 stage vtec).

If you are talking about the B series high powered twin cam engine, the B16B (182 hp)can give the SR20VVL a good match...hopefully tuned well that is lol.

I know for sure its a D series enginee! and wow I din know B16B had that much output I thought those B series never really crossed 165hp

I just know primera is a heavy car.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 5th, 2014, 10:43 pm

The only reason that Honda might give you trouble is because it light. .. Hondas of that era are notorious for being light and not surviving accidents
Btw for someone who hasn't heard a lot about these engines. ... Are you sure it's a D series.8-)
Don't let that hp number surprise you.... its pretty good but there are sacrifices that go along with getting that output from such a small displacement naturally aspirated engine
Last edited by kamakazi on June 5th, 2014, 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

da goon

Postby da goon » June 5th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Lolol

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 5th, 2014, 11:23 pm

kamakazi wrote:The only reason that Honda might give you trouble is because it light. .. Hondas of that era are notorious for being light and not surviving accidents
Btw for someone who hasn't heard a lot about these engines. ... Are you sure it's a D series.8-)
Don't let that hp number surprise you.... its pretty good but there are sacrifices that go along with getting that output from such a small displacement naturally aspirated engine

LOL ...yea sure I hear D16B cuz right after I asked u mean b16? said na D16 .....wat are the drawbacks of putting out 185 hp in a light carr??? lol

speedist

Postby speedist » June 5th, 2014, 11:32 pm

Aside from dying on impact if u lose control? Absolutely nothing.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 6th, 2014, 7:30 am

:smile:... sacrifices that Honda made... Nothing wrong with putting out that power in a small car
... those honda engines have little torque so they have to be geared short (numerically greater). Shorter gearing is good for acceleration bad for cruising and fuel consumption
3000 rpm to do roughly 100kph
2000 rpm in my grandmother's ae110 Corolla to do that same speed
Making the car light to help performance at the sacrifice of chassis/body strength.
Also
That max hp value is so near the redline that most of the time you don't get to use it... You also run a grater risk of destroying something at those high Rpms
Just my opinion after having owned an ek4
:smile:
Btw it's funny how one would want to compare a 1.6l engine to a 2.0l engine.... just saying
:grin:

da goon

Postby da goon » June 6th, 2014, 8:31 am

Lol.... u guys have so much to learn

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 6th, 2014, 8:36 am

lol da goon...feel free to speak up and cool but easy thereeee the 1.6 challenge me...im pretty sure I can use the SR16 to compare power dais 1.6 for 1.6 lol

da goon

Postby da goon » June 6th, 2014, 9:07 am

If ur gonna compare 1.6 power compare the sr16 to the b16a or b16a not d series, they are economy engine (dseries) the focus from the manufacturer was daily economic commute but as mention before the torque output on most d series especially the 1.6zc and the 1.6y8 is relatively close to the hp out so in acceleration he will give u a run for ur money on top end u will catch up unless he chipped those sohc swings some impressive rpm when chipped n tuned properly

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 6th, 2014, 9:45 am

make sense....but why do men strive on turboing those D series engine if its economical isn't it easier to just swap a B16A or B or B18C? Or are they too expensive ..

da goon

Postby da goon » June 6th, 2014, 10:08 am

Yessir b16a swap will run u into the 20k range installed, when u can can hop on ebay and buy a kit for 7k installation will cost about 5k including everything and u bad like crab from some months till the chinee turbo starts to leak that's when u decide whether u buy a used Garrett in the bamboo or save up again and do a complete dseries build that will be turning some heads.. my thing is Nissan men and honda men does get amped up on this rivalry and 90% not taking the time to do there builds properly to see what both sides are capable of... men just watching in magazine and buying parts...but to really answer ur question boosting a dseries is a lot of fun. And when u do it right a neither b series nor sr20 vvl ain't coming close to what u dishing out :evil:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 6th, 2014, 10:13 am

If the same amount of money is to be spent. ...I would give my vote to Nissan. ... Honda is way to expensive

da goon

Postby da goon » June 6th, 2014, 10:35 am

Agreed but that's only in Trinidad tho kamikaze, and I have to admit building a single cam or a 1.6 to ruff up a 2.0 is a lot of fun.... by chance was anyone of u guys present and the last drag meet by NARA for the honda show down... b18c running a 13.7 and h22 ek destroying the vvl March?

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 6th, 2014, 10:57 am

nice stuff but I not boosting anytime soon right now looking for a used VVL block to take my time and rebuild and go forge .....nuh gna boost n boost for a year max.

da goon

Postby da goon » June 6th, 2014, 11:01 am

Yeah boost is money I'm also focused on a NA build myself

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 6th, 2014, 2:36 pm

ur D15, or D16 or B16?

da goon

Postby da goon » June 6th, 2014, 2:42 pm

D16 non vtec

QG

Postby QG » June 6th, 2014, 6:50 pm

da goon wrote:Agreed but that's only in Trinidad tho kamikaze, and I have to admit building a single cam or a 1.6 to ruff up a 2.0 is a lot of fun.... by chance was anyone of u guys present and the last drag meet by NARA for the honda show down... b18c running a 13.7 and h22 ek destroying the vvl March?

Isn't the vvl a 1.6 in that march or am I wrong?

da goon

Postby da goon » June 6th, 2014, 7:04 pm

Nah it's a 2.0

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 7th, 2014, 10:39 am

2.0.....it had or has I believe a b14 with the 1.6 ...that...car fast

da goon