CODE 0021 IN CEFIRO J31 SORTED OUT BY RYAN (pics)

slippery when wet

CODE 0021 IN CEFIRO J31 SORTED OUT BY RYAN (pics)

Postby slippery when wet » August 15th, 2014, 10:45 pm

Hi tuners, my Cefiro just gave me a code 0021 with the check light on. Anyone out there who can point me in a correct direction to sought this out? I really like the car and don't want any and everyone poking around in there. Someone who knows these cars well and is accustomed working on them is who I'm looking for, thanks in advance for the help.
Last edited by slippery when wet on August 21st, 2014, 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: LOOKING FOR HELP FOR CODE 0021 IN A CEFIRO J31

Postby skylinechild » August 16th, 2014, 3:11 am

check ryan ramdeen AKA ryotech performance.
Pm sent with his details.

slippery when wet

Postby slippery when wet » August 16th, 2014, 8:55 am

Ok thanks man, will post results as they come in, siht, that sounds too much like election talk.

slippery when wet

Postby slippery when wet » August 16th, 2014, 1:57 pm

P0021 Nissan - Intake Valve Timing Control Performance Bank 2

12 | Add Comment
Possible causes
- Faulty Intake Valve Timing Control Solenoid Valve
- Intake Valve Timing Control Solenoid Valve harness is open or shorted
- Intake Valve Timing Control Solenoid Valve circuit poor electrical connection
- Faulty Camshaft Position Sensor
- Camshaft Position Sensor harness is open or shorted
- Camshaft Position Sensor circuit poor electrical connection
- Faulty Crankshaft Position Sensor (POS)
What does this mean?
Tech notes
Since the Intake valve timing control solenoid valve uses oil flow to control timing, dirty oil can cause the valve to stuck open or close. Before replacing the valve, change engine oil and filter and reset engine code.
What does this mean?
When is the code detected?
When there is a gap between angle of target and phase-control angle degree, the valve will stop working and the ECM will trigger the P0021 code.
Possible symptoms
- Engine Light ON (or Service Engine Soon Warning Light)
- Lack/Loss of power
- Engine rough idle
P0021 Nissan Description
This mechanism hydraulically controls cam phases continuously with the fixed operating angle of the intake valve.

The ECM receives signals such as crankshaft position, camshaft position, engine speed, and engine coolant temperature. Then, the ECM sends ON/OFF pulse duty signals to the intake valve timing control solenoid valve depending on driving status. This makes it possible to control the shut/open timing of the intake valve to increase engine torque in low/mid speed range and output in high-speed range.

The intake valve timing control solenoid valve changes the oil amount and direction of flow through intake valve timing control unit or stops oil flow. The longer pulse width advances valve angle. The shorter pulse width retards valve angle. When ON and OFF pulse widths become equal, the solenoid valve stops oil pressure flow to fix the intake valve angle at the control position.

P0021 Nissan Information for specific Nissan models
P0021 2002 NISSAN ALTIMA SEDAN
P0021 2003 NISSAN ALTIMA SEDAN
P0021 2004 NISSAN ALTIMA SEDAN
P0021 2005 NISSAN ALTIMA SEDAN
P0021 2006 NISSAN ALTIMA SEDAN
P0021 2004 NISSAN MAXIMA
P0021 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA
P0021 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA
P0021 2007 NISSAN MAXIMA
P0021 2008 NISSAN MAXIMA
Need more help?

Read more: http://engine-codes.com/p0021_nissan.html#ixzz3AZrbjffe

Postby skylinechild » August 16th, 2014, 5:38 pm

when you visit ryan let us know the outcome.

slippery when wet

Postby slippery when wet » August 16th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Will do.

slippery when wet

Postby slippery when wet » August 19th, 2014, 9:05 pm

Went by Ryan today, that guy knows his s**t well. Very thorough with his analysis and he takes time to explain whatever shows up during the scanning process. Very professional settings, not the mango tree type of scanning done here. He suggested that I do a cleaning of the entire system which I did, no regrets at all, the car is running like Usine guyl catch him with ah nex ting lol. I will post some more info later on. Bottom line is contact Ryan for a proper analysis on your ride and you wouldn't regret it. Thumbs up for a really professional service and a really cool guy who makes sure the customer is satisfied with their unit when they leave, I was.

Postby skylinechild » August 20th, 2014, 8:18 am

slippery when wet wrote:Went by Ryan today, that guy knows his s**t well. Very thorough with his analysis and he takes time to explain whatever shows up during the scanning process. Very professional settings, not the mango tree type of scanning done here. He suggested that I do a cleaning of the entire system which I did, no regrets at all, the car is running like Usine guyl catch him with ah nex ting lol. I will post some more info later on. Bottom line is contact Ryan for a proper analysis on your ride and you wouldn't regret it. Thumbs up for a really professional service and a really cool guy who makes sure the customer is satisfied with their unit when they leave, I was.

hey man ,i'm happy you got it sorted out. what was causing the check engine light??
was it a bad sensor or was it something else??
exactly what was done - besides the cleaning??

and lastly...what was your total bill???

i'd recommend Ryan hands down. he also does engine rebuilding and turbo charging and such

since you did the cleaning i would have recommended a new fuel filter new spark plugs and air filter...definitely feel the difference....

I'd also highly recommend you do a complete transmission fluid replacement.
Just tell Ryan you want him to supply the oil.

awaits full details and pics - if any !!!

slippery when wet

Postby slippery when wet » August 21st, 2014, 9:41 pm

This is/was the problem area which Ryan sorted out.
The culprit.jpg
the housing for the oil unit
011.jpg
the culprit that was throwing up the P0021 code, the oil unit for the cam retard or advance regulator on bank 2
013.jpg
before cleaning
014.jpg
after cleaning
015.jpg
throttle body after cleaning
016.jpg
these were the chemicals used to clean the systems, air and fuel.

Re: CODE 0021 IN CEFIRO J31 SORTED OUT BY RYAN (pics)

Postby skylinechild » August 21st, 2014, 10:30 pm

Wow....small thing like that cause a check engine light....

Did ryan say what caused the unit to be in that condition, and what was his recommendation??

it looks like you didnt change your oil in time... :lol:

slippery when wet

Postby slippery when wet » August 22nd, 2014, 12:03 am

Nah not me, previous owner, I changed oil within two days of buying the car then problem on day 3, wifey watch me like uhh lol. Was the lame a** previous owner who was ballsn up. Yuh shudda see what was running for plugs on the rear bank. Poor "person" their mech was only changing those on the front bank and charging for full service. Will post some pics of those soon.

Postby skylinechild » August 22nd, 2014, 12:20 am

slippery when wet wrote:Nah not me, previous owner, I changed oil within two days of buying the car then problem on day 3, wifey watch me like uhh lol. Was the lame a** previous owner who was ballsn up. Yuh shudda see what was running for plugs on the rear bank. Poor "person" their mech was only changing those on the front bank and charging for full service. Will post some pics of those soon.

..wow....like the mechanic didnt know it was a V6 engine and it had 2 sets of spark plugs.... :lol:

i suspect you may have more issues comin up in the future as you start fixing things from aside..a simple thing as an oil change trigger a CEL just make sure you using correct oil & filter this time...and change it on time..

as i recommended...go for a full transmission flush....feel the difference.... :!:

stick with ryan....0 issues..

what was your total bill.?? and load up more pics... :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 23rd, 2014, 8:39 pm

glad you were able to sort out the scenes.....

mine seems to be in need of oil pan gasket change.....

Dj Leroy

Postby Dj Leroy » October 11th, 2014, 7:47 pm

Hey Where is Ryan Located and do u all have a # for him my j31 is giving some tranny problems.

Postby skylinechild » October 11th, 2014, 10:08 pm

Dj Leroy wrote:Hey Where is Ryan Located and do u all have a # for him my j31 is giving some tranny problems.

ryan is located in claxton bay.

his contact number is 469-7803

relevant info :-

Contact for Appointments:
RYAN RAMDEEN - PROPRIETOR
Automotive Performance Analyst (Hons)
Specialized in High Performance Powertrains (Engine Management & Mechanical Systems)
Wyoming Technical Institution - Sacramento, California USA.
CREDENTIALS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST

Tel: (868) 469-7803
Email: ryotech@live.com
Web: http://www.ryotech.webs.com
Operating Hrs: MON - SAT: 9am to 6pm & SUN: 9am to 1pm

see link >> viewtopic.php?f=6&t=418527

Dj Leroy

Postby Dj Leroy » October 13th, 2014, 9:16 am

Thanks Very Much