License Plate Location

TriniGT

License Plate Location

Postby TriniGT » February 4th, 2011, 7:55 am

If possible I need a policeman's perspective or from someone who is knowledgable on the subject. I am going to be fittign my front license plate over the weekend, it is a square plate and I wan tto be sure that I don't have the cause to be pulled over because of it incorrectly positioned.

I really want to place it where the EVO7's have theirs but at the same time don't want to be ticketed. I would really prefer not to block the FMIC setup as it will defeat the prupose of FMIC and also I like the look of it on the side. INow if it is legal to have it on the side what are also the stipulations when running it on the side, I am thinking should be facing forward without any problem for an officer to read the plate. Your opinions?

Death-Row

Re: License Plate Location

Postby Death-Row » February 4th, 2011, 9:37 am

from what a police man told me, it should be visible from the front of the vehicle. i forgot the exact statement tho, ill try and get the actual law. my friend has his plates to the side like the evo vii also in his skyline and its legal according to licensing office.

as with many motor vehicle laws in trini tho, if you bounce up a vex, racial or horned policeman on that day, he will try something

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » February 4th, 2011, 9:52 am

also, the last time i checked the laws, it just said, a plate must be fixed to the front and back of a vehicle.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 4th, 2011, 10:13 am

Cool thanks, I feel like a bandit driving around at night without the plate fixed to the front, I have it on the seat as it cannot wedge into the dash/winscreen area as it will digg the dash.

Postby SUPAstarr » February 4th, 2011, 10:32 am

yea, i had this convo with a licensing officer when i was sellin my hatch, the law stated it must be affixed to the front of the vehicle...fullstop, you can ride around with a copy or the MRVT just incase one is stupid enough to challenge you. costs about $40

nigie

Postby nigie » February 4th, 2011, 10:54 am

Apart from being affixed to the front and back of the vehicle it must also conform to specifications.....so de fancy dancy lettering...and the Icons next to the lettering wont cut it.....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 4th, 2011, 11:05 am

Thanks now I am felling more and more confident, will walk with the MVRT booklet as well as my backing. Will be fitted tomorrow, and the original plates I got with the S14 were 'dog bone' straight plates. Removed the numbers and letters and had them fitted to a square plate to fit in the front.

Postby A172 » February 4th, 2011, 11:51 am

doing this weekend myself....STAMINA man, where yuh getting de copy?

Postby SUPAstarr » February 4th, 2011, 1:56 pm

Government Printery, corner Tragerete Rd and Victoria Ave, Post of Spain. Its a very good read

Postby A172 » February 4th, 2011, 2:21 pm

gyad...tong run :|

aite thx

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 4th, 2011, 2:40 pm

How bout someone make a tong run and pickup for all ah we, I go pay the extra if yuh want. I working around the savannah but dread having to enter the city.

Postby A172 » February 4th, 2011, 3:01 pm

alas....who would be so kind as to help us out in this dire situation?

Postby 16 cycles » February 4th, 2011, 3:06 pm

TriniGT wrote:How bout someone make a tong run and pickup for all ah we, I go pay the extra if yuh want. I working around the savannah but dread having to enter the city.

lol - not the inner city....

swing around QPS - take a left after TGIF/BP/doubles man on morning - drive to end of road - place is on corner - very little traffic

Postby SUPAstarr » February 4th, 2011, 3:45 pm

i workin on cipriani blvd, so im very close, triniGT i kno where the skyline parks so is no scene, A172, i cud get one for yuh an we will meet up on a weekend. I left my copy in my hatch when i sold it for the very same number plate issue, so i need to get a new copy.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 5th, 2011, 4:06 pm

People say that we swing on vines in this third world country of ours. Little do they know it is Kevlar vines we swinging on.

Refer to pages 127 (Clause 7) and 129 (Clause 9) in the pdf file in the link below for information on vehicle (and trailer) identification plate requirements.

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.50.pdf

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 5th, 2011, 9:08 pm

Sweet I should be good how I did it then,
Bracket installed,
P1000043 (1024x680).jpg

License Plate installed,
P1000045 (1024x680).jpg

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 5th, 2011, 9:10 pm

Gonna print this out and bind it and have it in all my cars as a reference. Thanks.

Postby A172 » February 22nd, 2011, 10:07 am

just print it out...thanks a lot RP

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 22nd, 2011, 8:24 pm

good info rory!!!!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 22nd, 2011, 9:37 pm

you should consider properly ducting around the intercooler.........air will tend to go around the intercooler at speed rather than through it.......
something like this:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 23rd, 2011, 7:32 am

Actually don't have much space to the sides as I trimmed the bumper to have the intercooler fit almost flush with the back of the bumper.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » February 23rd, 2011, 11:00 am

also, do i actually neeed a plate? or can i put the sticker? black background, legal letter size etc. i wanna put my plate to the side also but on the bumper itself.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 23rd, 2011, 12:39 pm

The law clearly states the identification marks must be on two "plates". It is up to you to determine what is a "plate". The usual definition of a "plate" with respect to identification marks is a thin, flat sheet or piece of metal or other material.

Would the sticker material fall under the definition of "other material"?

Would accepted practice in Trinidad and Tobago for identification plates (flat sheet of metal or plastic) set the precedent and sticker type identification marks would therefore not be legal?

Any lawyers here? I am no lawyer, but once the lettering, colours and positioning conforms to the law, I am sure one can successfully defend the use of a sticker type identification plate in front of a judge.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » February 23rd, 2011, 3:50 pm

good analysis of it rory.

im not doin it for a stylish look as some may think but intercooler space is kinda limited due to the bumper and the plate just makes this even less. i just cant handle the attitude from the police at road blocks etc. if its illegal, they have the right to a point. if its legal tho, i know i can give back talk and stand for my rights lol.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » February 26th, 2011, 11:40 pm

Folks, I am an expert when it comes to this number 'plate' issue.

I have been to court and have won. I have also been challenged by Licensing Authority inside of the Licensing compound and won.

You can mount the plate to the left side or right side front of your bumper, you can also place a sticker instead of a traditional metal or plastic plate. I even took it further and placed a sticker plate onto the bonnet of my cars. That is what got me the ticket that I took to court.

I hired Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj... there is a thread with this somewhere. I eventually represented myself with his guidance and won the matter in court.

From what i saw in the pics above, you will not have any problem with either the Police or Licensing Authority. The law requires the plate to be fitted to the front, it does not require the plate to be fitted to the center. The bonnet plate is a bit tricky though as it must be upright. If you have an EVO the sticker plate for the bonnet has to be fitted to the raised portion of the bonnet. Any bonnet that is completely flat would not qualify for a bonnet mounted plate.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » February 27th, 2011, 11:23 am

thanks Mr Gear. going to make my sticker on monday lol

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 25th, 2011, 10:56 pm

sorry to bring up a old thread but just got a ticket tonight for my sticker plate. located on the left side of the bumper. black background, white letters. legal size. officer told me it needs to be in the center.

just wanna know tho, were the laws updated since this post? i plan on going to court and fighting this, officers have taken enough advantage of me and my cars lol, time to fight back. any advice on this matter?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 26th, 2011, 1:34 am

post a pic

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 26th, 2011, 9:36 am

censored the plates a bit but you get the picture.

so what u guys think?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 26th, 2011, 9:40 am

From our experience with the legend back ago, they did mention that sticker plates must be in the center and not on the sides of the bumper.

I am not sure if thats the law as back them officers used to try and take advantage of car show vehicles. Up til this day they try to take advantage and sometimes its not even the law.