Starlet fun...

ggonsalves

Starlet fun...

Postby ggonsalves » July 7th, 2013, 7:06 pm

Hi Guys,

Just returned from a visit with my good friend (and amazing driver) Gary Huggins in Cayman Islands. Thought you'd get some kicks off this pic of me driving his RWD Toyota Starlet race-car:

Here are two static shots of the car:

Finally, three videos:

This is the near area where the Time Attack events are run in Cayman. The best part of this section was the other side of the block away from the camera, unfortunately. I managed to spin it on one run :). Gary is in the car with me on the last two passes.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NwqvMFp2fc

Gary does the first two runs on the roundabout, then I do the rest, including the obligatory spin! (Gary has a good laugh at me.) I was feeling for traction - you can hear the throttle blipping as the car moved from understeer to oversteer.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DEsdubACDT0

Last two runs. You can see Gary ducking out the frame in the first one. The last was probably the one I enjoyed most at this section.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvzX16fK790

I had a great deal of fun doing this. It was the first time I'd driven a RWD race-car with some horsepower for almost thirty years!

Gordon

Back2Studio

Re: Starlet fun...

Postby Back2Studio » July 7th, 2013, 7:25 pm

Good stuff buddy 8)

Postby wagonrunner » July 7th, 2013, 11:12 pm

Back2Studio wrote:Good stuff buddy 8)
+1

good to see you still having fun. When could we see you doing it locally? :mrgreen:

Those starlets are crowd pleasers when the Bajans drive them in rallys here and back home.

Did you feel the change between grip / no grip with it (as it's such a short car)? I've been only been a passenger in something "similar".
The longer wheelbase RWD's seem to give a lot more warning.

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 8th, 2013, 9:17 am

wagonrunner wrote:Did you feel the change between grip / no grip with it (as it's such a short car)? I've been only been a passenger in something "similar".
The longer wheelbase RWD's seem to give a lot more warning.

It definitely was a bit skittish. I had to be on my Ps and Qs with it in the section in the first video where I was going faster round the 90º turns, especially at the back section (where there was no camera to capture the action). Because I could see everything round that particular corner, I could go faster and drive to the apex then it would drift back to the outer edge of the road on the exit, oversteering all the way. Fun nonetheless.

Postby black start » July 13th, 2013, 12:20 am

<3 them rims

Postby wagonrunner » July 24th, 2013, 1:55 pm

now seeing it actually.
hmmm, definitely something to try. :mrgreen:
i wonder if mg man will sacrifice the 1st gen at the next bycc. :poke:

Postby MG Man » July 24th, 2013, 7:30 pm

Once it running like it did on Tobago, you Sir know very well you at the top of the list (and the only gentleman ever to decline the offer)

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 25th, 2013, 9:12 am

Thanks MG Man... I may well take you up on that! :)

What car is it (1st gen)?

Keep me posted about the next event date.

Postby MG Man » July 25th, 2013, 9:52 am

lol Mr. Gonsalves, you know my car very well :)
Popularly known as the hatchback Telstar :-p

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 25th, 2013, 10:17 am

This old brain can't remember these things man. Point me to a pic please.

Postby MG Man » July 25th, 2013, 10:27 am

ggonsalves wrote:This old brain can't remember these things man. Point me to a pic please.
Chev.jpg

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 25th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Lovely! Love the rims and tyres. What are the basic specs?

Postby MG Man » July 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm

2.3 DOHC
48m dellortos
Tubular exhaust
independent front suspension, multi-link rear locating a solid rear axle
113whp

Postby wagonrunner » July 25th, 2013, 12:37 pm

Gordon, don't get tie up with mg man mamaguy there yunno.

All applicants to drive get directed to this. I submitted mine in 2007 and only got approval sometime in 2010 eh.

ImageImage

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 25th, 2013, 12:42 pm

That should be fun to drive then.

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 25th, 2013, 12:47 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Gordon, don't get tie up with mg man mamaguy there yunno.

All applicants to drive get directed to this. I submitted mine in 2007 and only got approval sometime in 2010 eh.

LOL! Well I may not be able to take a drive then. :)

Postby MG Man » July 25th, 2013, 1:58 pm

hey man, them there's the rules...not like I just make this stuff up :-p

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 25th, 2013, 4:32 pm

Gordon, people would be willing to pay money to see you drive that car.........MG....put up ah bleacher and let we talk.

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 25th, 2013, 4:41 pm

Guys, don't build me up to something in your minds that may disappoint in reality. I'm just another car enthusiast and racer who hasn't been actively racing since the early 2000s.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 25th, 2013, 5:29 pm

Dont sweat it Gordon...is just the nostalgia, would be fun. I think I can find a place for us to hav a lil fun. Will tell you guys later.

Postby black start » July 25th, 2013, 11:45 pm

ggonsalves wrote:This old brain can't remember these things man. Point me to a pic please.

I like them rims....you still lurking in chase village side?

doh leave yuh car unattended

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2013, 9:42 am

lol that car down south, firecely guarded by a slightly insane pothound

Postby black start » July 26th, 2013, 11:33 pm

roti terrier? lolz

guess I got me them new rims...

moti

Postby moti » July 29th, 2013, 12:24 pm

MG Man wrote:113whp

**Kicks 22R block**
Walk away limping mumbling: fricking telstar has more power than Chelsea........I hate that stupid Valvoline drinking moron.........

Postby MG Man » July 29th, 2013, 4:52 pm

lol oh please.............it used to have 129whp tho............until I rebuilt it with lower compression pistons :-(
long story

moti

Postby moti » July 29th, 2013, 8:25 pm

I still loathe you, so low compression pistons ain't helping you one bit, literally.

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2013, 1:00 am

when I cracked the original block, I got a new, complete standard short motor replacement. The standard motor comes with lower compression pistons. I didn't want to risk honing that block to fit my high comp pistons (fear of cylinder walls coming back leaning to one side etc), so I just plonked the twin cam head onto it
Maybe in a year or two I might consider rebuilding it using the original HSRcosworth pistons. Baldwin should be able to do the block work properly, I hope

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 30th, 2013, 5:06 pm

MG Man wrote:when I cracked the original block, I got a new, complete standard short motor replacement. The standard motor comes with lower compression pistons. I didn't want to risk honing that block to fit my high comp pistons (fear of cylinder walls coming back leaning to one side etc), so I just plonked the twin cam head onto it
Maybe in a year or two I might consider rebuilding it using the original HSRcosworth pistons. Baldwin should be able to do the block work properly, I hope

Baldwin ??? Yuh go need a loan pardner......buh go brave.

moti

Postby moti » July 31st, 2013, 8:30 am

Right now Francis Engineering doing all my machine shop work.

Postby MG Man » July 31st, 2013, 11:56 am

skeptical fart is sceptical