After all of that, you'll end up spending more that you save!Sanctifier wrote:Equipment costs: - BIG compressor & Air-lines, Pressure Pot etc....
Environmental issues: The neighbourhood will 'shut me down' VERY quickly if dust, fumes etc. become a problem; so the following are critical: - DIY (temporary) Filtered booth, w/ exhaust fan, ducting etc...
In order to survive 'to tell the tale'; I'll need top-quality safety equipment: -
Supply Air Respirator or at least a GOOD particulate Respirator....
BTW to stop 'flash rusting' after water blasting, add this to the chemical tank of your pressure washer...Sanctifier wrote:btw... IMPORTANT... & CHEAP!![]()
Check "Water Blasting" on YouTube, before starting bodywork.
It uses a US $55.00 adapter added to the wand of a gas-powered pressure washer, that siphons (or pressure feeds) media (e.g. recycled glass @ US $10.00/50 lb bag) from a bucket (or pressure pot) to sandblast the shell with NO DAMAGE to the shell... little or no dust... and easy cleanup too!!
Best Results: Strip car first and blast inside & out before bodywork!
................ Use a 3,000-3,500 psi Pressure Blaster if available...
................ Buy the best 'Sand Mixer Head' you can afford...
................ Avoid silica (beach) sand. Recycled glass bottle (US $10 / 50 lb bag) is safer & faster.
Here are links for an even faster, pressure pot upgrade option if available...
It's the cheapest, easiest & most affordable "green" option available to diy tuners so far.
NB. IMHO you should still protect your skin, eyes & lungs when using the blaster. I suggest using a full body suit with hood, face mask & good quality (3M's?) particulate respirator at a minimum... or even better a Supply Air Respirator [I](Rent one if available.)
Link--> North Star Water Blaster.
The Evo 6 is finally 'coming back home' from storage next week, for full 'rotisserie restoration'.X_Factor wrote:nice!!... did u try it yet?
MG Man wrote:I'm skeptical about pressure blasting with plain water....exposed metal rusts VERY fast..there's a company offering wet blasting, but they use an anti-corrosive agent in the water, to inhibit corrosion once bare metal is exposed to air, giving you time to proper dry the body shell and prime it
Thanks for the heads up. I'll give him a call. It might be difficult for him to beat a 1st cost of US $10.00/50 lb bag.
Yup, I agree. I think you may have missed it in my 1st post...MG Man wrote:... an anti-corrosive agent in the water, to inhibit corrosion...
That gives you 3 extra days protection to dry & prime etc. IMHO I would also use a 'heat gun' especially in multi-layer or overlapping spot-welded areas. (top strut mounting points, etc.)Sanctifier wrote:BTW to stop 'flash rusting' after water blasting, add this to the chemical tank of your pressure washer...
HoldTight © 102 Flash Rust Inhibitor and Salt Remover.
Sanctifier wrote:EDIT: According to Ninecast Eng. Services, HoldTight 102 gives about a 1-1/2 day 'window' due to higher humidity.
Yup, abrasive discs cause too many localized 'hot spots' that stretch sheet metal (especially the Evo's aluminium fenders & bonnet), so that's out!nigie wrote:sancti...in your evaluation u concluded that blasting will save u $$$$ as opposed to the other methods of paint removal?
Easy, cinco... not so harsh. These days I miss things too often, myself.cinco wrote:... Yuh eh see d man tell yuh d chemical to use to stop rust? Yuh twit
MySanctifier wrote:EDIT: Hi nigie. Local Dustless Blasting (inside & out + primed) = $7k based on model & condition.
With 3 projects to do, I have no choice, it must be "DIY Waterblasting" for me.
Buying a slightly bigger water-blaster head tomorrow. Higher abrasive cfm + higher air pressure = Faster & better results.Sanctifier wrote:Waited a long time for the $$$ to do this properly, so... 'Rebuilt'... 'Restored'... or 'NEW' everything... PERIOD!![]()
Project should take about 12-18 months part-time.![]()
I want the 5,500 psi, General Pump HD Blaster #DWSDBTK (+ pressure pot) to get the shell as clean as possible...Sanctifier wrote:The most important factors are (1st) Flow (gpm)... & (2nd) Pressure (psi).
High flow (> 4-8 gpm) + high pressure (> 3,000-5,500 psi) + fine-to-medium (40/70) grit media = Best (smoothest) & fastest results
I forgot to mention this... Sometimes rust is a serious problem underneath areas covered by sound deadening pads. Before 'blasting', one option is to use DRY ICE (& Rubbing Alcohol) on sound deadening insulation (on floor-pans) and other areas with a lot of sealer. Here are some examples...Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Yup but IMHO not as well, so it'll take longer, use more media and sealers & mastic coatings will be more difficult.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . DIY BODY PREPERATION GUIDE.Sanctifier wrote:Since my E6 will be a 'weekend driver' (and I DON'T want to have to do all this crap again!) I'm compiling a DIY BODY PREPERATION GUIDE for the various stages required. This is NOT the 10 Commandments. Process variation & chemical substitutions are possible (& sometimes necessary) since each project (& prep. surface) presents different challenges...
Sanctifier wrote:NB: Electrolysis is a lot of work... ▶ 1 ▶ Rust Bullet 'Metal Blast' is a viable alternative for smaller repairs.
Sorry but I really can't remember. My product info is pretty old. Maybe X-Factor can help?NR8 wrote:How thick is the dynamat and secondskin generally?...
MySanctifier wrote:▶ ▶ Don't want to 'give away' much more right now. I may have said too much already.![]()
More details in a future 'build' thread... after I learn the 'regs'.![]()
Thanks for the kind words, NR8. Appreciate it.NR8 wrote:Anyway, as always, a thread by Sanctifier never ceases to impress me.