Project BZ-R - Toyota Trueno 3SGTE

Mr. Go Slow

Project BZ-R - Toyota Trueno 3SGTE

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 26th, 2007, 8:31 pm

Well, I just hit a major milestone with my project today ....

For those that don't know, I drive a 2001 Toyota Trueno BZ-R.

The toyota version of Honda's Type R (at the time) though not as powerful
as the CTR or DC2. Handling is on par with a DC2 but not as aggressive ...

My car came in silver, with Tom's wheels, toyota's super strut suspension, aftermarket shocks and springs and a 4age 20 valve blacktop with an auto LSD tranny.

All was well for the first couple months - until everyone with boost started using me as their
punching bag ... Not fun.

So I said frigg it, I sold the blacktop and did a swap. In went the ST185 3sgte from a GT4 celica, mated initially to an OPEN FWD N/A 3gse box ... Wheelspin was my beyotch ... And subsequently a converted MR2 LSD box was used.

Although the project was plagued with problems, heat management, snapping axles (a hack job that joined the MR2 axles with N/A 4age axles), electrical issues, broken mounts, etc ... Boost was addictive.

In went:

1. Front mount IC
2. Turbo timer
3. boost gauge and AF gauge
4. 3" exhaust and barrel

All of the above thanks to Yancy.

Unfortunately, the car was frustrating to own at this point due to numerous reliability issues, but I persevered for almost two years, saving $$$ and then spending $$$.

Another mechanic straightened the engine and the mounts stopped breaking ... mostly. And the heat issues were mostly sorted out (multiple fans, vented bonnet & bumper). A replacement RB25 turbo was installed and then removed after the old dysfunctional CT26 proved to be more powerful. After some more bad $$$ was spent and two more snapping axle episodes, if you had come to me with 40K you could have had the car.

Needs a flash I know ...

Then an online argument with W2J about reliable turbo projects led me to HIS mechanic ...
W2J basically said that if you are having reliability issues, either you're a cheap bastard or your mech was not doing his job ...

That was little more than a year ago.

Approximately 6 months and after 3 visits with the new mech the Trueno was reliable. I mean REALLY reliable. For the first time I'd drive ANYWHERE and not worry what it costs to wreck the car, lol

In that time the car got:

1. New ACT modified street clutch and PP, thanks Pitbull
2. serviced starter
3. Re-checked all electricals by Doondaths
4. New mounts ( dunno where the mech got 'em done, but they are like new still!)
5. New complete one piece axles (no more breaking!!) thanks to my mech, wrxdevil and MIC
6. Bearings replaced ( thanks to Raziel)
7. Misc odds and ends corrected, clutch pedal, etc

A couple weeks ago I decided it's time to fix that ailing turbo that never quite worked right after the first 3 months.

1. An aftermarket manifold and downpipe were installed (thanks to pitbull)
2. a replacement 3sgte and gaskets (thanks to pitbull)
3. An annoying knocking from the exhaust touching the crossmember was corrected
4. full service
5. boost controller adjustment since the trubo was replaced and the axles have been proven as working.

Now let me just say I had grown arse men cry out in this car before ... BUT now ...
Now, we are on a whole next level of kick arse :twisted: :twisted:

Still messy, but, we are still working on it ... Lookit my cool curvy manifold ... sexy!

This car for the first time, feels really friggin quick ... I'm overboosting at the moment and the ecu (stock 4 now) is stopping the party at 14lbs, but DAMN is she quick ...

In spite of all my hardships, when the engine was compression checked almost a year ago, she was A-OK - a testament to the strength of the 3SGTE. I don't think there's another engine out there that would have survived unscathed with the kind of pressure mine went through.

This project has been a LONG and HARD climb, but it seems soon to be realised.
I guess I should also mention, I've never babied my car, anyone that has watched me cross eyed can testify to that :P

The saga continues ... Wish me luck!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 26th, 2007, 9:00 pm

Boi I wanted to know where you gawn for all these months.... Nice to see you on the road. I know what you felt along the way. You wished you never did the swap as you had a reliable engine b4 but that is how the game goes. I got back my car after doing and engine rebuild and boi is she lovely now. But have this tomato it's for your good luck. :splat: Keep up the work :mrgreen:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 26th, 2007, 9:03 pm

Picasso wrote:Boi I wanted to know where you gawn for all these months.... Nice to see you on the road. I know what you felt along the way. You wished you never did the swap as you had a reliable engine b4 but that is how the game goes. I got back my car after doing and engine rebuild and boi is she lovely now. But have this tomato it's for your good luck. :splat: Keep up the work :mrgreen:

lol You get a chance to dyno yours yet? I'm hoping to do mine this weekend ...

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 26th, 2007, 9:19 pm

^^ Nah not yet. I am doing a few things first. I had plans to dyno in July. I have a few more suspension issues to deal with first ( aftermarket bushings,H-Brace etc... ) Got to get the power to the ground :?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 27th, 2007, 2:02 am

Well done Marcus..You did it...
If you saying its fast NOW...Lordie..I cant imagine :shock: :shock:

60 should do it? :lol: :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 27th, 2007, 7:01 am

Good job bro having a daily driver/project is a very hard thing to do. You gotta spend money on regular things and save money for the long term project and your goals. Also, driving it hard the way you and myself do also has it on edge, but what can I say boost is an addictive thing. Good luck with the rest of the project and keep this post going with your upgrades and power increases. Look at my post as well as the S14 gets a makeover. Nice going and long time know see :)

Postby Razkal » June 27th, 2007, 11:18 am

damn i remember all the headache posts u would have up regarding this car man, glad to see its finally taking off, pun intended :lol:
good luck n i thinkin i should put up my project too yes :?

Postby Maserati » June 27th, 2007, 11:53 am

^ent i remember all the posts where d man see some stress with her

good to see she is runnin strong now

Postby eliteauto » June 27th, 2007, 6:05 pm

nice to know the monster is coming along

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » June 27th, 2007, 11:33 pm

Nice read...who's the mechanic that W2J lead you on to? Sounds like he's the man to contact @ project time.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 28th, 2007, 11:35 am

^^^ W2J's mechanic (and mine) is 'Rikki' on Boundary Road Extension - Like most good mechanics, he's hella busy, so don't expect now for now ...

Postby gt4tified » June 28th, 2007, 11:50 am

Marcus, man am I glad to see you up and posting. I thought you were going thru a 3ne2nr divorce or something! lol

I know the headache you went thru, as you do mine. You sound very happy with your car and that makes me glad...another satisfied toyota driver. :mrgreen:

Good luck at the dyno....I did mine last week so see if you can better my figures.

Why did you change the stock manifold though? Its good for 400 you know. :shock:

Anyway, expect to have many vex sr20det, 4g63t and ej20 men stopping you at traffic lights eh!

Keep cool buddy!

Postby Sinister_Audio » June 28th, 2007, 1:12 pm

Congrats much on the completion of the car man.
That must have been so much hard work, stress, sweat and pain.
Well done on doing the right things and gettin good advice from the right ppl, and sticking it out.
The 3S-GTE is a really reallllly great power base!
Hope to see this car on the 1/4 sometime..
and post up some dyno results when you're done!

as you said:
Boost was addictive

enjoy your stay :twisted:

W2J

Postby W2J » June 28th, 2007, 1:38 pm

Why did you change the stock manifold though? Its good for 400 you know.

Ralph just because the OEM manifold is good up to certain hp level does not mean the aftermarket will not flow better and producing more TQ. Marcus great job happy to hear that you finally starting to see the light and maybe you should give me a run now :D. Ricky is still one of most honest, hard working techs out there that produces positive results and not tears.

Postby gt4tified » June 28th, 2007, 1:58 pm

W2J wrote:

Ralph just because the OEM manifold is good up to certain hp level does not mean the aftermarket will not flow better and producing more TQ. Marcus great job happy to hear that you finally starting to see the light and maybe you should give me a run now :D. Ricky is still one of most honest, hard working techs out there that produces positive results and not tears.

I know that Gerry but I'm just saying that with the stock turbo, the oem is fine. I played with that decision to upgrade countless times but after liaising with the foreign 3sgte ppl, I figured that unless I change to some weird configured turbo I won't need to.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 28th, 2007, 3:52 pm

W2J wrote:

Give you a race .... Right .... lol

Ricky is the best ... No lie!

BTW, looking for a cover / blanket for the turbo & I left a tracing of my front pads with Rikki, you supply Bayer pads right? ... gimmie a cost when you get time.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 28th, 2007, 4:06 pm

gt4tified wrote:
W2J wrote:

I know that Gerry but I'm just saying that with the stock turbo, the oem is fine. I played with that decision to upgrade countless times but after liaising with the foreign 3sgte ppl, I figured that unless I change to some weird configured turbo I won't need to.

Well my stock manifold got butchered early on when they tried to adapt it to mate to a different turbo bolt pattern (T3/T4). They didn't get it right and it used to leak where it would attach to the turbo unit ... Hence the change. Too, it's pretty, lol

W2J

Postby W2J » June 28th, 2007, 4:15 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
W2J wrote:

Give you a race .... Right .... lol

Ricky is the best ... No lie!

BTW, looking for a cover / blanket for the turbo & I left a tracing of my front pads with Rikki, you supply Bayer pads right? ... gimmie a cost when you get time.

I have one more DEI kit instock..

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=137685&highlight=

let me know if to hold it for you. BTW I have not gotten time to go up by rick for the tracing of the pads will try to tommorow.

Gerrard

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 2nd, 2007, 9:02 pm

OK, DEI kit installed today thanks to W2J!

Seems the actuator couldn't move because it was jamming on the flange on the new downpipe, hence, too much boost ...

Some hours and grinding later I have a functional 12psi of boost ... I really miss the pull of 14psi though :twisted:

Let's see, plans are now:

1. MSD ignition upgrade - September 07
2. E-manage ultimate - December 07
3. supra injectors - December 07
4. 14 psi - December 07
5. upgraded turbo - May 08

... Option one is only about one grand, and the injectors are cheap. The turbo and E-manage will run about 15K give or take ... gonna have to start saving *sigh*

More as it happens ... DEI kit installed:

Front view, just cause ...

More as it happens ...

W2J

Postby W2J » July 2nd, 2007, 9:19 pm

^ Marcus give up a update how the car is cooling now ? also when you ready for your staged plans let me know all the above I can supply at great prices.

Gerrard

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 2nd, 2007, 9:37 pm

^ Gerrard, well too much traffic this evening to really tell, but it's definitely much cooler ... How much more, I'll know tomorrow when I get to give her a run.

You'll be the first to know when I need anything, thanks again for being so prompt. Too, did you get the outline for the brake pads? If so, you can time delivery for the end of the month ... Brokes again till payday, lol

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 3rd, 2007, 8:06 am

OK, the DEI blanket has dropped the under hood temps by about a million ...

Alright, that may be an exaggeration, but it's made a huge difference!
Highly recommended for anyone battling high engine bay temperatures.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » July 4th, 2007, 9:45 pm

Hahaha ... ahhh ... it working ...

time to do a head to head with another project that's been in the works for 2 years ...

When it gets out the garage :(