T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Renaldo25

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Renaldo25 » December 12th, 2011, 1:58 pm

Theres supposed to be a new koup and cerato with 6 speed transmissions available in singapore not sure when we'll be getting those...

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 12th, 2011, 2:48 pm

^^well the koup and cerato down here already started coming with the 6 speed tranmission. the Koup also has the added paddle shifter novelty.

The earlier models used the 4 speed.

The Hyundai Elantra and accent also use the same 6 speed transmission.

Postby Habit7 » December 12th, 2011, 2:56 pm

Its sad as much as Kia and Hyundai are improving on value and quality, many trinis are misguided by their illiterate mechanics that "dem ting no good." So they will buy steel rim Corollas and Lancers.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 12th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Habit7 you usually talk sheit but I must say I agree with what you said above. :D

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 12th, 2011, 3:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:Its sad as much as Kia and Hyundai are improving on value and quality, many trinis are misguided by their illiterate mechanics that "dem ting no good." So they will buy steel rim Corollas and Lancers.

I agree, the Koreans have made great strides in value and quality. But you have to remember that when it comes to quality the Japanese have led the rest of the automotive world. I don't think there are any other companies that have been at the top of the quality game like Toyota and Honda. Their products have served as quality benchmarks for decades. It's this history that's always in the back of the minds of the buyer and sometimes it may just be of enough influence to sway their decision.

Maybe if the dealers here priced vehicles more realistically there wouldn't be that great a difference. A Corolla, 3, Civic, Cerato, Elantra, Lancer should really be within a couple thousand dollars of each other. In the US these cars are priced much closer.

From an evaluation of 8 cars in this segment, MT had this to say about the Forte:

Our evaluators uniformly ripped the Forte for its bargain interior, composed of hard black plastic, "tour bus"-quality upholstery, and suspect ergonomics. Rear-seat room is mediocre at best, while up front, the Forte was the only one in the test without a telescoping steering wheel. "I've gotten haircuts in more supportive seats," quipped Febbo, who also concluded that the Forte's main problem is that it "never feels like it's trying to be a premium car rather than a budget sedan."

The Kia finished 2nd to last but the Elantra finished first. The Corolla was dead last and the Civic second, but Toyota still managed to sell 266,000 of these appliances. The comments from the testers are quite enlightening.

The price spread was $19,945-$24,540

Read more: http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/sed ... z1gLmsmAN9

Postby Habit7 » December 13th, 2011, 8:57 am

acesinghit wrote:Habit7 you usually talk sheit but I must say I agree with what you said above. :D

Thx, esp coming from you :D

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 13th, 2011, 11:34 am

LOL @ Aceinsinghit and Habit7.

Ek4ever the Japanese has been cutting the cost of manufacturing their vehicles and by extension shortening the lifespan of their products. Do you think a new model hilux will give you 20 years +?

Yes you can't beat an old school Toyota for reliability and durability. Is it the same for the newer models? 5 years ago people bought Kia and Hyundai because it was good value for money. Today people buy them because they're still good value for money vehicles with competing features and great appeal.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » December 14th, 2011, 12:05 pm

1 million for a Toyota! LMAO!!!

Postby Stephon. » December 15th, 2011, 7:47 pm

Thinking of waiting on the new CR-V, it actually looks really attractive.

LOL @ them basically stealing the KIA SPORTAGE front lights though :lol:

Postby Habit7 » December 16th, 2011, 9:10 am

I am guessing TT$450,000-600,000

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 17th, 2011, 10:31 am

habit7 indeed.....we should expect the crv to be priced like an audi q5 after all according to some of the sales reps, the new model will be t&t's newest midsize LUXURY suv. Classic may probably make 100% markup on these new ones...

flex12

Postby flex12 » December 31st, 2011, 1:06 pm

Trying to find a 2012 toyota hilux 4x4 automatic without all the accessories toyota dont seem to have any available does anyone know any roro agencies that will have it "basic" and anyone know what price this model will go for?

Postby Stephon. » December 31st, 2011, 3:20 pm

They have, you just need to order it and wait on it lol.

flex12

Postby flex12 » January 2nd, 2012, 12:04 am

yeah wait till april or may i was told ??

Postby cinco » January 2nd, 2012, 6:49 pm

they tell you april or may but you may get one sooner or yuh cud pay for all d rice and get it now
tell them u go wait
bet you get it in a month

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 5th, 2012, 9:14 am

octavia now 184 and 189k

nes123

Postby nes123 » January 5th, 2012, 10:37 am

aces...wil we be finally getting the 1.4TSI 122ps with DSG?dis should be the next logical step seeing BEST auto bringing same engine higher HP...I asked dem reps in sterling and nobody seems to know as I was told all sold out last yr :?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 5th, 2012, 1:40 pm

octavia no longer has cornering function fog lights and front parking sensors and the price went up so the rep said today. Paying more for less features lol.

nope no TSI DSG models on order either.

nes123

Postby nes123 » January 6th, 2012, 8:39 am

acesinghit wrote:octavia no longer has cornering function fog lights and front parking sensors and the price went up so the rep said today. Paying more for less features lol.

nope no TSI DSG models on order either.

wait they went up from 180k to 184k for sedan and 185k to 189k for estate models???and we getting de same 1.6mpi???smfh...well bess I hold out for the Octy replacement come 2012/13 yes... :?

Postby Habit7 » January 6th, 2012, 9:15 am

they should bring a TDI to really be an alternative

Postby cinco » January 6th, 2012, 1:27 pm

was looking at the navarra and ranger
navarra
4x2 man basic 178
4x2 man chrome grill and mirrors and steps 190
4x2 auto 235
4x4 man fab 214
4x4 man leather 224
4x4 auto fab 248
4x4 auto leather 258

ranger
4x4 auto 3.0 295
4x4 man 2.5 215
4x2 man 2.5 186
4x2 auto 2.5 225

nes123

Postby nes123 » January 6th, 2012, 1:29 pm

Habit7 wrote:they should bring a TDI to really be an alternative

I concur :?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 9th, 2012, 11:53 am

http://www.thecarconnection.com/news/10 ... f-the-year

The winners of the 2012 North American Car and Truck of the Year awards have been announced, as the auto industry kicks off the new year at the annual Detroit auto show.
For this year's awards, the winners are the 2012 Hyundai Elantra for car of the year and the 2012 Land Rover Range Rover Evoque for truck of the year.

In December, a panel of 50 journalists named six finalists for the two awards. On the car side, the NACOTY jurors put the Ford Focus, Hyundai Elantra, and Volkswagen Passat up for top honors. In trucks, which includes vehicles classified as trucks by the EPA, the finalists included the BMW X3, Honda CR-V, and Land Rover Range Rover Evoque.

Last year, the NACOTY jurors, including High Gear Media's Marty Padgett, narrowed down the list from a set of 24 vehicles, including seven trucks and 17 cars.

To be eligible for either award, a vehicle must be substantially changed or new from the prior year.

The North American Car of the Year and Truck of the Year jury includes U.S. and Canadian automotive journalists, with all types of media included, from online to print, to broadcast and radio.

The winners of the awards in 2011 were the Chevrolet Volt and Ford Explorer.

2012 North American Car of the Year Shortlist

Audi A6
Audi A7
Buick Verano
Chevrolet Sonic
Chrysler 300/SRT-8
Fiat 500
Ford Focus
Hyundai Accent
Hyundai Elantra
Hyundai Veloster
Kia Rio/Rio 5
Scion iQ
Subaru Impreza
Toyota Camry
Toyota Prius V
VW Beetle
VW Passat

2012 North American Truck of the Year Shortlist

BMW X3
Honda CR-V
Land Rover Range Rover Evoque
Mercedes-Benz M-Class
Mini Countryman
Nissan Quest
Saab 9-4X

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » January 11th, 2012, 9:35 pm

I hear the Toyota/Subaru GT 86 supposed to be coming down soon? is that true?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 13th, 2012, 8:43 am

Renaldo25 wrote:I hear the Toyota/Subaru GT 86 supposed to be coming down soon? is that true?

"soon" might be 2013. Car supposed to be sold from 3rd quarter this year supposedly. Most likely tttl won't bring it one time so maybe first quarter 2013 at earliest is my guess.

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2012, 6:02 pm

2012 Mazda 3 looking good! When this gonna be here? 40mpg too.

Postby Stephon. » January 14th, 2012, 9:30 am

S_2NR wrote:2012 Mazda 3 looking good! When this gonna be here? 40mpg too.

I don't even know, i hope it doesn't look much different or has much difference from the current model, I only just got mine for Christmas. That's like the new elantra vs the last gen elantras. I could imagine how hurt those older gen elantra owners much have felt when the new elantras came out :lol:

I must say that the Mazda 3 is a very solid car, and I like my smiley face grill :D

Oh and in other news, my cousin got his Jetta after waiting for about 3 months this week. After going for a joyride with him all over the place yesterday, I must say that it was well worth the wait. Up to when we got back home we were discovering even more and new features in the vehicle. VW did good

Postby SUPAstarr » January 14th, 2012, 9:57 am

the new Mazda 3 is a little less ugly but still awful to look at

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 14th, 2012, 12:21 pm

Stephon. wrote:i hope it doesn't look much different or has much difference from the current model

Major difference is with the smiley face grill self. A little less smiley, and the front is a little more aggressive. Prefer the 2012 personally.

Although when SSSL brings the 2012, it may be slightly different for this market.
24-2010-mazda3-first-drive_opt.jpg
2012-mazda3-skyactiv08-opt.jpg

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 14th, 2012, 4:48 pm

test drove the new golf gti today.
Pros
nice power not too much not too little. really responsive engine (in sport mode). I would say it pulls like an sr20DET on 10psi boost.
nice ride a bit firm but not unbearable
nice handling for a FWD
nice steering feel, not too light, not too heavy
I love the sound you get when you downshift(i believe it carries a system where it drops fuel into the exhaust to give a burble when u downshift)
DSG gearbox is really nioce, better than i expected, BUT i would prefer a manual.
Price isnt bad, considering that it is the fastest showroom car you can get currently in that price range approx 340k (i may be subject to correction)
Interior room is damn good for a two door
Cons
Interior build quality isnt as good as i would like for euro(and by extension the vw/ line of cars.), but i guess that could be because we get 3rd world cars here
Not a big fan of the rim style but i know that can change.
The paddle shifter on the left side is a big too close to the indicator stork imo, it was a bit fiddly for me, but can get used to it.

And thats about it really...really good car i would buy one tomorrow if i could in white/black :lol:

Last edited by trini mk5 on January 28th, 2012, 9:29 pm, edited 3 times in total.