Wednesday, June 19th, 2013

- It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:05 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 926 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 31  Next
BANzai Rastafarai
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:37 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

its been in th works for nearly one yr....been teteteing from 4 different engines.... finally settling on a power plant that most ppl wd say "naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah man!!! after all of that?"

Here goes. Started off as a 2WD Evo project in 2006. Bought one of the first K20a's to land in the country thru ANP. Paid (hold on to yuh jammies) $12K for it. Yeah KEs....hahahahaa its true. Sold it becuz i wasnt too keen on going the "tried and tested Honda way".....we sold it to a guy in Princess town who put it in a 4 door honda sedan .....then we bought the engine from Sanjay (Spindoc) and proceeded to start work...only to find out (then due to lack of knowledge) that the 2wd mitsu box would not have stood up to the kinda power we was looking at. Then came the Toyota 3SGTE..personally my fave out of all th engines due to its base power and upgrade capacity but............space being the issue..we would have had to cut the Firewall to fit it in....was too close for comfort and we aint even begin to talk bout "engine movement".......pondered on a H22R (yeh EL JEFE.....waaaay b4 you did urs.....had a link i Jamdown to get one) and then we was goign thru the bamboo one day...saw a Pulsar N15 VZR front cut for the amazing price of 10K and that was that........ESSSS ARRRRRR here we come!!

(see's hoardes of ppl leave the room in disgust....some laughing (mostly honda men)).

So here's the build. No secrets being held from anyone. Draw your own conclusions but we'll only know when the dyno charts come up.

Its a "SR-kenstein". SR16 Head with and SR20VE block and using the SR16 pistons. Because of the ratios we want, we keeping the SR16 box. Thats it really. the "tweaks" of it i wll go thru as we build.

decided to take some pics of th progress...these shots are post first install. we did the install but was not satisfied with how th engine was sitting. And even MORE disappointed with how the bone stock SR16 ran. I am yet to understand how Lucino owners say its sooooooo "great"......the engine lacks serious torque.

The issue with the engine bay of th Rover is its space...limited isnt the word i would use. What i specifically wanted was to use the stock rover mounts and make adapter plates/brackets to the engine.

what yu are seeing there is the right side top engine mount. We initially built it using Alen keys for easy mounting and dismounting....but Karl (head engineer) did some stress tests on the Allen Key bolts and found them to be poorly suitable for the application. So we had Arnold (the master behind the Medusa Head build) build the adapter brackets as if it was "from factory"

thats the left side mount. THe battery floor pan has been removed (Location in the trunk) and that area will be the air box area. We going with a different material, and we located a place in FL that does custom Carbon Fiber boxes to order.....and at a good price as well. Again, sturdiness is the name of the game, so Arnold paid detail to the mounting points of the mount.

The Rover is as light (if not lighter) as a EG Hatch. that said, i always found that the handling of the car was in question (even with the 1800VVC lump). Karl did his investiquiring and found that it was necessary to move the front cross member forward and downward to get the tightness of the handling. Remember this is not a straight line project...none of my cars are. i love the maracas run and it must stand up to those rigours.

Thats the bottom Engine mount thats going to connect with the sump pan of the engine.

this is the "contraption" that the guys are building to mate the repositioned cross member which we dropped and moved forward. thats the right side. They doing mock ups before the cutting is done.

the left side....yes that the infamous SR16 Gearbox. really sweet thing. Havent used a box thats so smooth in gear changes as yet.

thats it for now. I'm looking for a good brake upgrade but keep it within budget. I spent 8K on brake upgrades for the VR4....not planning on spending that much on the Rover project.

Last edited by BANzai Rastafarai on Sun Nov 29, 2009 2:21 pm, edited 15 times in total.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

BANzai Rastafarai
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:42 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

oh here's another project thats now finishing up.....they dyno'ed last night....at 9lbs of boost....212HP.....thats a stock Corolla GT that they turbo'ed under AEM management.

intake design again done by Arnold Assing. One of the best machinists that i know period!

car is for sale currently.....owner wants 73K for it.....dam good price for what was done

.:PROZAC:..
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:54 pm 

hoss yuh posting man corolla that currently FS in the Autoparts forum.

Ah love the lights. But i love the prject. I thought you sold the Vi though.

Last edited by .:PROZAC:.. on Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BANzai Rastafarai
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:56 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

^^ i know....permission granted...

Kinday
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:19 pm 

Project set up looks great...can't wait to see her pull. I remember checking Karl for a reset and he hinted on a certain killer Nissan project....glad to know it's yours. You know I got a number and ah waiting in line for when it's done. I would love to get another couple of runs against the green animal...you know...for old times sake :D :D

Good luck with the smooth engines harmonics on the SR-kenstein hybrid. I know Karl does his homework. I'm sure it'll be an ego bruiser when it's done. I can see the WTF?? faces now.

R. Mutt
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:39 am 

Nice to see someone bringing both Rover and Nissan out of the darkness and doubt. What kind of upgrades do you have lined up for the VE? I'm especially interested in your choice of cams and headers.

Fuzz Master
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:51 am 

very very nice

Turbo
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:32 am 

:shock: hoss SR16 yo - BANZAI meh padna have one of dat in dem skoda felicia (hatchback) and ah tell yuh dat damn ting does rel pull boi jeez, never heard about the frankenstein tho - that should b impressive :wink:

Goodluck in completing th project......................awaiting updates :lol: :mrgreen:

Turbo
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:36 am 

oh yea ah 4get 2 tell yuh dem ting like d bottle eh - it does pull like i eh kno wat wen yuh give eet a lil joy juice :mrgreen:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:38 pm 

are u keeping it n/a?

or u'll go boost eventually?

BANzai Rastafarai
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 2:14 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

keeping it n/a....we always wanted to do a good n/a build....and we were spurned on more after Kes' 197 whp run with no tuning done.

Turbo, no joy juice this rounds. The SRkenstien is being done alot, the SR16 head/SR20 block combo. At the end of the day its really a SR20 with a much better flowing head. Plus we may be using bits from other manufacturers (Toyota) during the build.

R. Mutt, once i get to engine build section you'll see all the bits. Its like Dougla all over again boy.

As i was telling Kes..we not out ot beat honda's but we wil ldamm well make them work to prove their salt....and as the project name implies, to "restore hope" that with proper and a WELL thought out processes to produce power. NOt jsut "buy a big HP engine and drop it in a light chassis"

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 2:18 pm 

rawle, i not a nissan man...

but comparing to say a B16 head ona B20 block...

would u also encounter problems gettin to rev as high?

i'm assuming of cousre dat d SR16 has a higher redline dan the SR20

BANzai Rastafarai
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 2:28 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

honda hoe wrote:
rawle, i not a nissan man...

but comparing to say a B16 head ona B20 block...

would u also encounter problems gettin to rev as high?

i'm assuming of cousre dat d SR16 has a higher redline dan the SR20

it does have a higher red line (8700RPM) . But what we noticed is that the power drops off dramatically at 7800rpm....dont know if its to safe guard the stock engine at higher RPM's, but that challenge is to get past that (stand alone tuning or a sensible piggy back are your options).

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:54 pm 

nice build
are you going ITB's on this as it is a n/a build?
could the engine have been put in a little lower in the car or would it be dangerously low?
it just looks like its pretty high up in the bay but that could just be my perception from the pics

BANzai Rastafarai
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 5:20 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

^^ engine bay space....ive spoken to other owners who have doen the SR swap in rovers and they all had to chop th cross memeber to make it fit...only the CA18 does not require choping. The engine bay is not that great as it was compact for th Rover 1.8.

in this pic, the cross memeber is to your left....normall its higher and futher back to where the gearbox housing is right now...most installers chop that member in half to get the engine to fit...

Wher it is now its the same level as the Rover engine would be. It could be an issue of perception

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 5:59 pm 

cool
i have heard people say that the sr20 has problems with the oil squirters if the engine is not installed at a proper angle, does the 16 have the same problem?

BANzai Rastafarai
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 2:58 am 
2NR MILF Hunter

not as far as we know..

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:00 am 

lookin forward to a small run sometime :mrgreen:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 1:01 pm 

i might be asking too much ah yuh business
but you lookin at sr16 axles also?
brakes wise can you use the 300zx brakes then or r32 gtr?

BANzai Rastafarai
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 1:41 pm 
2NR MILF Hunter

^^ im looking around f ro 300Zx brakes....but not finding any....whati realy dont want ot do is to go 5 lug. trying to keep costs down.

nah man yuh ask away.t.hats the point of the ched......sharing of info. We using the SR16 axles as it mates better with the SR16 GB....the postion of the engine also played an important part in that decsision.

Death-Row
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 2:30 pm 

BANzai Rastafarai,nice project. hope everything comes out good. :)

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 2:42 pm 

i guess if you dont want to go with 5 lug then look at the primera brakes
or the nx 2000 brakes
http://www.se-r.net/about/sentra_se-r/s ... /index.htm

Conrad
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:23 pm 

Props to you and your build BANzai.

Local blog MotorEdge™

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 9:25 pm 

whew nice
love the corolla

SlimThug
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:09 pm 

rasta, i want some infor on that corolla, about that engine
can i pm you?

GTi Guy
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:04 pm 

wtf u doin the rover...nice!lol

Dragsta
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:17 pm 

Nice projek ras....

1thing>>> SR16N1CAMS :twisted:

Notorious Scullman
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:51 am 

Nice Project Banzai!!!

Turbo wrote:
:shock: hoss SR16 yo - BANZAI meh padna have one of dat in dem skoda felicia (hatchback) and ah tell yuh dat damn ting does rel pull boi jeez, never heard about the frankenstein tho - that should b impressive :wink:

The SR16 Skoda runs well, but it was fast until the Toyoda blew him out :twisted:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:26 pm 

wtf you still have the moss car...

nice project ...keep de updates comming

robbieg
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 12:48 am 

anything new on this build?

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 926 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 31  Next