T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » May 9th, 2012, 7:42 am

Yeah but people don't yawn when they enter a Mazda showroom though :lol:

Postby cinco » May 9th, 2012, 7:45 am

scotty_buttons wrote:But honestly that price still isn't justifiable especially with that engine displacement. Expected at least a 2.something.
Rav4 has all that except the touchscreen niceness, bose system and front parking sensors. :?
And well the 60/40 seat but having 9 airbags sounds better to me.

the rav 4 has ~165 hp

scotty_buttons

NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby scotty_buttons » May 9th, 2012, 8:35 am

Stephon. wrote:Yeah but people don't yawn when they enter a Mazda showroom though :lol:

True :lol:

And cinco is correct. Although for a 2.4 motor I find it's a little underpowered. It's a nice lil thing though. Have the same motor in our 2010 camry (and that car is a bore!)

Anyway, hope the cx5 won't be a let down Stephon.. :D

Postby cinco » May 9th, 2012, 11:44 am

SS subpar sales and service record are a joke poor mazda
did any of you hear about mazdamania that occurred last sunday where they had a cx5 on display?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 9th, 2012, 12:22 pm

I have to consider the TOTAL value proposition (plus consult with the comptroller of accounts **cough cough wife cough**) and 380-440k for a small mazda crossover is too much vs a larger rav4 with more usuable torque for load and hill climbing. Infact the question about resale value, parts and service is of paramount importance in concluding the final decision. The way I also see it, lets say I am buying that lcd tv or the elliptical trainer from a popular dept store, could the cx5 still carry those boxes the way a rav4 can? I am guessing no. The mazda would handle much better and has more features but try telling a woman who does financial audits for a living that..

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » May 9th, 2012, 5:48 pm

is it confirmed that skyactiv engine is in it? also when are skyactiv mazda 3s gonna be available? at least skyactiv = sumn interesting about a mazda engine

allon4

Postby allon4 » May 9th, 2012, 6:52 pm

Yeah it has the skyactiv engine in the cx-5 (from what I saw at mazdamania Sunday).

I was told they weren't planning to bring in any skyactiv mazda 3's, those are the 2l engine models and we have no 2l in the new model of Mazda 3's.

Maybe they will change their mind later on.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 9th, 2012, 10:49 pm

Stephon. wrote:sorry oh goshhhh!!!! I just real happy to get my keys, whenever that may be, I was told next month!

Kinda lol'd when I found out that there are only two in the country and another two would be arriving next month though :lol:

they're lying... I saw at least 4 at the port. Unless they're keeping one each at the POS and Sando showrooms, and selling off the other two :?

Oh btw, the powers that be can update the Nissan list... through a colleague at work who's shopping, I've been reliably informed that the new March (1.2 only) is 133K, and the new Tiida replacement, the Versa (1.5 only), is priced at 155K. In the case of the latter, never did I think I'd see the day when a local price mimics that of the global standard whereby a new model is usually offered at the same price point of the old one. IF only the other stealerships will follow suit and stop raping the motoring public

Postby cinco » May 9th, 2012, 10:53 pm

the 1.2 march has power front and manual rear windows
WHO DOES THAT ANYMORE

Postby Habit7 » May 9th, 2012, 11:32 pm

cinco wrote:the 1.2 march has power front and manual rear windows
WHO DOES THAT ANYMORE

Almost any vehicle with a basic version that sells in Europe

I saw my first Ford Ranger 2012. A black PCU 9***, driven by a woman...go figure

Postby cinco » May 10th, 2012, 8:27 am

Habit7 wrote:
cinco wrote:the 1.2 march has power front and manual rear windows
WHO DOES THAT ANYMORE

Almost any vehicle with a basic version that sells in Europe

I saw my first Ford Ranger 2012. A black PCU 9***, driven by a woman...go figure

for 133k
yeh ok

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2012, 8:31 am

Do you really need power windows in back? I dont.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 10th, 2012, 8:36 am

cinco wrote:SS subpar sales and service record are a joke poor mazda
did any of you hear about mazdamania that occurred last sunday where they had a cx5 on display?

Had an invite, salesman tried to convince me it was a "carshow". :|

Postby cinco » May 10th, 2012, 9:01 am

Habit7 wrote:Do you really need power windows in back? I dont.

for that price YES
in the uk the base models sell for small money not the amount we pay for no features

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2012, 9:40 am

The Fiat Punto has only power windows in the front. For $125K why not

Postby cinco » May 10th, 2012, 10:25 am

Habit7 wrote:The Fiat Punto has only power windows in the front. For $125K why not

because it is 2012

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » May 10th, 2012, 11:16 am

any new prices on the FORD 2.5 turbo 4x2 fully powered

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 10th, 2012, 11:28 am

for 133k i expect dual airbags, abs brakes, full power features and at least a 1.5 engine. I rather take that money and buy a roro fielder 1.8 loaded and have more car, more resale value than that half-a-car nonsense nm sellin

Postby S_2NR » May 10th, 2012, 2:47 pm

Stephon. it would be a fcukin shame if u waste ur $$ like that.
Buy a Tiguan or a Rav4 na..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2012, 3:25 pm

S_2NR wrote:Stephon. it would be a fcukin shame if u waste ur $$ like that.
Buy a Tiguan or a Rav4 na..

QFT.
Doh buy it cuz is a mazda. Buy it cuz is good value. Just got my Jetta. You think i will buy eveything VW from now on? Hells naw. Not unless it's the best package at a particular price bracket. In this instance however I'd say get the tiguan over the CX-5 AT THAT PRICE. Or at least test drive d ting before yuh buy.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 10th, 2012, 10:17 pm

after you feel the thrust of clocking 100kmph in less than 8 seconds from standstill effectively blowing the doors off a mazda cx7 2.3t and subaru forester 2.5t, you soon realize the tiguan is a bargain considering the safety and security elements. the cx5 skyactive is fast compared to say the crv and asx and qashqai etc...but the power of the tiguan is amazing especially when you need passing power on tap versus our lesser n/a 4-cylinder friends who require a kick-down and 5500-6000rpms worth to pass a silly compact keeping back traffic on the right lane..the more you keep those 4 pots on the boil, skyactiv or not you will eat your mpg's up.

SoundGod

Postby SoundGod » May 11th, 2012, 9:01 am

Toyota Hilux 4x2 3.0 auto 4dr $254,000.00
Toyota Hilux 4x2 3.0 auto 4dr Pre Runner $318,000.00
Toyota Hilux 4x4 2.5 manual 4dr $220,00.00
Toyota Hilux 4x4 2.5 manual 4dr Hi Spec model $226,500.00
Toyota Hilux 4x4 3.0 manual 4dr $245,500.00

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 11th, 2012, 11:11 am

jesus christ, 250k plus for a freaking hilux. toyota mad in their tail wee

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » May 11th, 2012, 12:32 pm

Audiofreaks wrote:any new prices on the FORD 2.5 turbo 4x2 fully powered

:? ?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 11th, 2012, 1:26 pm

A4 prices went up quite a bit with the new model. I think it's more just price matching to the other cars in the class, i.e. C-class and 3-series.
No base models available yet, but mid and high levels around. From top model the audio, sunroof and something else were dropped and the price went up to 461k(previously 420k). Mid level is now 440k. Base pricing not available yet but judging by the other two I'd say around 400k...big jump from 340k IF the new base models are that high...so I think it's really just a case of "BMW asking 450+k for a base 3-series so lewwe do the same!"
Changes are facelift, 8-sp tranny instead of CVT, 170hp vs 160hp, and some other little stuff.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 11th, 2012, 8:38 pm

$150k for a Tiida, $160k for a Swift/Yaris, $185k for a Lancer?

Maybe I am in a different pay bracket, but spending that much money on those cars at those prices evades logic. I can understand exotic cars and exotic prices, but not those...

Postby Stephon. » May 11th, 2012, 8:42 pm

What prices would you pay on the above vehicles though?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 11th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Rarely has the thought of buying a new car been seriously considered. But when, the then new, Suzuki Swift Sport came out in (I think) 2006 for $135k-ish, I seriously considered it.

I guess the demand is there for those prices to make sense to people.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » May 11th, 2012, 9:46 pm

^Actually, if memory serves, it started off at 145K.

aidan

Postby aidan » May 12th, 2012, 12:29 am

Anyone know the pricing for Ssangyong vehicles?