T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

4Motion

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby 4Motion » July 24th, 2014, 7:47 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Let's be real. The higher the initial cost of the car the harder a sell of it used afterwards. How many trinis you know would buy a used S5 for 390K? Chances are it's even easier to buy it new. This goes for expensive Japanese cars as well. I don't see used Camrys, Accords or Fugas selling like hot cake anywhere close to their original prices.

Great point! Unless the car is of your dreams you're probably more likely to get a new car.

For me I am also very sceptical of used cars locally with
- possible accidents
- maintenance - - (the amount of ppl I know with cars costing 300k+ and just out of warranty that send their cars to side of the road mechanics and using non-OEM parts etc
- general wear on parts with our roads
Last edited by 4Motion on July 24th, 2014, 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 24th, 2014, 8:56 am

4Motion wrote:....the amount of ppl I know with cars costing 3000k+ ....

Dude... $3,000,000 is a hell of an expensive car :lol:

Personally, I realise the average car costs about $1 for every 1km it is used for so I use that as an average baseline. So if you pay $70k for a tiida with 40000Km on it, you should get it to last at least to 130,000 km before selling.

Applying that to new cars, if you buy a corolla for $210K brand new, then it should last you to 210,000km for me to consider it a good buy from a usability point of view. But I won't expect anyone to really keep a brand new car after 200,000km so I use that as a sort of cut off point and think of any money spent above that as money spent to make the drive more enjoyable.

So a $235,000 jetta is like you paying $35,000 for all the extra performance and luxuries which worth in IMO.

This is just a very very simplified theory I have and I share with people who don't know anything about cars when they thinking about buying one. Never got around to developing the theory to take into account resale value.

mammoo

Postby mammoo » July 24th, 2014, 9:15 am

4Motion wrote:My review on the low spec Jetta

Cruise Control - kinda a waste in Trinidad unless it's adaptive.
Dual Zone A/C - nice comfort feature but I guess the passenger will just suffer as everyone will just have to be my zone. :)
Ipod Cable - doesn't the Jetta have bluetooth Audio streaming?
Center Handrest - poor soul who has to sit in the centre I think the headrest is the least of their problems :D
Parking Sensors - they cost $2000 aftermarket if it is really that important
No fogs - would make me a little upset but then again I'm becoming a little lazy and just use the Auto light function permanently so wouldn't really notice :)

So for its price not a bad deal. I would take it over any competitor.

On car resale...

- I don't want a Nissan b14 or new equivalent
- i don't want a Toyota corolla, Yaris, or Rav 4

So I will take my poor resale value for a more fun drive, nicer interior materials, safety, power etc. But that's me! :)

Yes the Jetta has the Bluetooth Audio as well as SD Card slot AS WELL AS 6 CD (MP3) in dash player. SD card is the favorite among VW owners now

After market Rear Parking Sensors actually costs $600 installed at some outlets now

Also u can get the original fogs installed for $3K by Ecotune

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 24th, 2014, 9:57 am

4Motion wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Centre handrest is a must :smile:

I must take responsibility for my actions as I was being lazy but, I just quoted this... to make my summary :D maybe that is why there was a ? after it. :o

mammoo wrote:
Cruise Control
Dual Zone A/C
Ipod Cable
Center Handrest?

Jus saying...

I read it correctly
... I am saying that the handrest is a must have for me... :-)

Postby cinco » July 24th, 2014, 11:05 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Actually the resale on these new jettes may not be as bad compared to the rest of the euros. It's desirable enough with a low enough price point to begin with. Should be easier to find people willing to pay closer the the value when that time comes

not really u know
the general public will shy away from "dem tobo ting da does gih chubble yunno" and well any car using premium now a days is a hard sell

Postby S_2NR » July 24th, 2014, 12:06 pm

Yea boy. I can't live without that. Car seems incomplete without one

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 24th, 2014, 3:02 pm

cinco wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:Actually the resale on these new jettes may not be as bad compared to the rest of the euros. It's desirable enough with a low enough price point to begin with. Should be easier to find people willing to pay closer the the value when that time comes

not really u know
the general public will shy away from "dem tobo ting da does gih chubble yunno" and well any car using premium now a days is a hard sell

Ahh. Good point.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 24th, 2014, 4:04 pm

Just want to commend BA via mammoo for being this active and answering questions plus updating us with good info. Where the rest of the dealers? We need your voices in here

Jetta uses premium yes but the economy is amazing ... can get over 800 Km on a tank of premium some people here have clocked extremely close to 900 Km. Used to borrow my dad's crv which would cost me around $130 in super a week to work and back but with the jetta, cost close to $270 every 2 weeks. If i decide to drive a little more spirited then we talking a week and a half.

Saw the new qashqai today, looks really good! we getting the 2.0L version. Should give the RAV 4 and all the other crossover vehicles a good run for their money.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 24th, 2014, 8:25 pm

↑↑ $270 in super or premium??

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » July 24th, 2014, 8:48 pm

So is it a hand rest or a head rest? Because no hand rest is a complete deal breaker, my wife's car has no hand rest I feel like committing suicide when I drive it.

PS

She loves it , says its the perfect place for her handbag

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 24th, 2014, 10:27 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Yea boy. I can't live without that. Car seems incomplete without one

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 25th, 2014, 5:45 am

A centre arm rest is a feature in a car? Mih daddy japanese Datsun 260C did come wid centre arm ress front an bak.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 25th, 2014, 6:13 am

No centre arm rest is a mistake imo.

telfer

Postby telfer » July 25th, 2014, 6:27 am

Saw the new qashqai yesterday very impressive big difference from previous model

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 25th, 2014, 6:28 am

telfer wrote:Saw the new qashqai yesterday very impressive big difference from previous model

question is...does it have a centre arm rest or not?

telfer

Postby telfer » July 25th, 2014, 6:29 am

Uh maybe an option lol

Postby DVSTT » July 25th, 2014, 6:49 am

Its nice but too small inside.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 25th, 2014, 7:36 am

kamakazi wrote:↑↑ $270 in super or premium??

270 in premium.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 25th, 2014, 7:49 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:A centre arm rest is a feature in a car? Mih daddy japanese Datsun 260C did come wid centre arm ress front an bak.

you sound like v8 boys there dan

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 25th, 2014, 7:54 am

a ford sales rep told me that if they get the focus ecoboost all this hype about the jetta will vanish :lol:

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » July 25th, 2014, 8:22 am

What you guys think about the Ford Ranger promotion (as shown in the ad a few pages back)? What model/features are you getting for the 189k option? Is it that you have to finance with Ford?

I may just have to go into Ford to check this out and get more details as it looks like a good deal.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 25th, 2014, 9:08 am

acesinghit wrote:a ford sales rep told me that if they get the focus ecoboost all this hype about the jetta will vanish :lol:

Hopefully he tells his bosses the same thing cuz until then is just ole talk.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 25th, 2014, 9:23 am

Check the truck thread...those rangers giving hell..coming faulty and stuff

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » July 25th, 2014, 9:37 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Check the truck thread...those rangers giving hell..coming faulty and stuff

Noted. I will check the truck thread.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 25th, 2014, 1:07 pm

acesinghit wrote:a ford sales rep told me that if they get the focus ecoboost all this hype about the jetta will vanish :lol:

:| It comin wid ah han ress? Dais de deel braker for mih.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 25th, 2014, 2:03 pm

Hahaha if they bring the Eco boost engines? They are in the kuga and yet the tiguan destroying them. Rep told me they only selling 3 per month. The engines might be good but ford's interior feels cheaper and their info-tainment system sucks balls.

assassin

Postby assassin » July 26th, 2014, 9:13 am

Went to see the Altima yesterday

Most if the features that they advertising only coming in the special order 3.5 for over $500k

The 2.0 for $310 has no sunroof, lane departure warning, auto tilt mirrors. Runs on super though so you could be executive while being thrifty [SMILING FACE WITH OPEN MOUTH AND SMILING EYES]

I was really hoping to see more features for the $310 price. The 2.5 for $389... They not even sure of the features

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 26th, 2014, 9:33 pm

assassin do you really expect to see a sunroof in a basic mid-size sedan? What I noticed is the mr20 is already a dead horse in a sylphy and worse so in a heavier Altima. Would-be buyers should start with the 2.5 (it's a little more powerful than the xtrail version) if they serious in wanting one.

Postby S_2NR » July 26th, 2014, 10:13 pm

Sunroof in Trinidad. No thanks pal

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 26th, 2014, 10:30 pm

So the Dualis and them have no fyahz???

:cry: