T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Habit7 » March 9th, 2012, 9:27 am

The new SSS in kinda ugly in my opinion, its trying to hard to say, "look at me, I am fast." Plus the headlights stand out too much.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 9th, 2012, 4:31 pm

To me, the Bravo is more garish/ungainly than the Swift.

That said, it comes down to personal preference.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 9th, 2012, 4:47 pm

Lifestyle will put an outrageous price on it, wait for sales to be sluggish, and then the next time a SSS is released, bawl that "we have no intention on bringing it in, as there's not a great demand for cars like that in Trinidad." I would LOVE to hear the price that Toyota or N&M calls for the FT86 or BR-Z if they ever decide to bring it down here.
Oh and I was at BMW the other day, IIRC they were calling something close to $400k for the new 116i with ricer package.

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » March 10th, 2012, 2:40 pm

People said the new Mazda 3 was priced too high as well and they're selling lol

Took a test drive.

Mazda 3, 1.6L 4 dr Grade V
$ 191,367.35

Nice, simple, car. The front looks very sporty. Not a fan of the shape of the rear. :twisted:

Was told the higher grade was about $215K.
Meh, nothing special. They could keep both of them.

But I'm not surprised if they sell well because "it's a mazda"...

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » March 10th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Chevrolet Captiva DSL 2.0 AWD LTZ AT
5 door SUV, 7 seater
Some nice features auto headlights when it get dark, auto wiper
2 years service but have to pay for oil and filter???

But have to admit, it drove NICE.
Good acceleration. Handling with good control.

Had to actually restrain myself from trying to see just how hard I could push de people car.

It drove very close to a car and very quiet for a diesel.

Indicator / wipers are "euro" (Opposite to Japanese but small thing)

Concerned about Lifestyle and parts availability.

Has some different driving modes but not sure about Electronic Stability Program.

$325,750.

In the economics of Stealership pricing.. Not bad at all

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » March 10th, 2012, 3:28 pm

Ford Everest.
4 x 2, Ranger with 7 seats.
Fabric interior
2.5 L diesel
$350,000 with 5 years free service.

Good space inside. It's bigger than the captiva / santa fe.

Poor acceleration and handles like a truck. Heavy.
I guess you could take that as sluggish or having a reassuring feel to it.

Noisy for a SUV but average for a truck.

I liked it a lot.
Wonder how the 4x4 3.0 l version with leather would run. But at $475k...is okay.

Postby Stephon. » March 10th, 2012, 6:20 pm

blue9266 wrote:
People said the new Mazda 3 was priced too high as well and they're selling lol

Took a test drive.

Mazda 3, 1.6L 4 dr Grade V
$ 191,367.35

Nice, simple, car. The front looks very sporty. Not a fan of the shape of the rear. :twisted:

Was told the higher grade was about $215K.
Meh, nothing special. They could keep both of them.

But I'm not surprised if they sell well because "it's a mazda"...

Mine was 211k, looks like the price went up to that 215k figure they gave you :shock:
I get bored easily and I'm not bored of it yet, it's actually really comfortable

Question, which sales rep did you take the test drive with? If you don't mind me asking :oops:

Postby Stephon. » March 10th, 2012, 6:22 pm

blue9266 wrote:Chevrolet Captiva DSL 2.0 AWD LTZ AT
5 door SUV, 7 seater
Some nice features auto headlights when it get dark, auto wiper
2 years service but have to pay for oil and filter???

But have to admit, it drove NICE.
Good acceleration. Handling with good control.

Had to actually restrain myself from trying to see just how hard I could push de people car.

It drove very close to a car and very quiet for a diesel.

Indicator / wipers are "euro" (Opposite to Japanese but small thing)

Concerned about Lifestyle and parts availability.

Has some different driving modes but not sure about Electronic Stability Program.

$325,750.

In the economics of Stealership pricing.. Not bad at all

The Mazda 3 too 8-)

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » March 10th, 2012, 11:25 pm

The rep brought the (basic) mazda 3 to show someone else.

I car jacked him for a test drive but wasn't all that interested in the car for myself. :oops:

Trying to decide between the Captiva, Ford Everest and the Santa Fe...battle of the 7 seater suvs.

As for the rep it's not a state secret but I'll PM you the name all the same to stay cool with the mods.

He's better than most as reps go. His style is to give you a verbal ballpark figure (215K) then offer you a discount so it's quite possible $211K may have been offered if I showed any interest in the "loaded" version.

Other reps seem to be more clear and upfront that "this is the price, if you like it, buy it".

And then insist on telling you the tint and car mats are FREE. :roll:

dbhertz

Postby dbhertz » March 11th, 2012, 8:27 am

Before making a decision, please note the following:

- Next generation Santa Fe is due in 2013
- Facelifted Captiva (new front fascia and tail lights) will be available from LSM next month or so (according to sales rep from Gulf View display yesterday)

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » March 11th, 2012, 8:40 pm

My concerns with the santa fe is the maintainance cost esp. going to neal an massy to keep warranty in place.

Anybody have a figure on that?

Most expensive of the bunch... insurance will be too.

I accept you get more car for more money (the $385K version anyway) but it's still some steep coin (for my shallow pocket) :oops:

So unless N&M gonna have a fire sale to clear these out for the 2013 model (err not likely).

I reckon the price will only go higher when the next model comes out.

As for the captiva, kinda running last at the moment... more out of concerns re.: lifestyle motors than styling of car.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 12th, 2012, 1:36 pm

mazda 3 @ 211k vs elantra @ 209k

elantra pros:
-more powerful engine (more HP and torque) and more fuel efficient
-6-speed transmission
-17" rims
-4-wheel mud guards
-leather seats
-electronic driver's seat
-cruise control
-side and curtain airbags
-reverse sensors

mazda pros:
-projector HID lights
-independent rear suspension

choice is clear :|

imagine the corolla 1.5 is even worse than them 2 above and it cost more.

the civic @ 240k means the price-to-ugly ratio is at an all time high

but wait there's more...veloster is cramped inside but at least it have projector lights and 18" rims for 229k :shock:

the rio 1.4 @ 156K is another dissapointment.
the accent 1.4 equivalent is 160k but u get reverse sensors, rear disc brakes, 16" rims and fog lights

the cerato still boasts 2 airbags and rear drum brakes but it fools you with a 6-speed paddle shift tranny all for 180k

the cruze's package is strange..
for 220k you get a body kit and lip spoiler, 1.8 6-speed auto tranny, sunroof, leather and traction control but only 2 airbags and no reverse sensors.

the suzuki swift 1.4 at 155k actually had a more premium feel than the rio sedan but the swift is cramped and the 1.4 engine screems rape when reaching 4000 rpms..

the polo gives u a 1.4 engine with a 7-speed dsg gearbox (interesting) for 165k but a 2.0t audi a6 gives u a cvt multitronic tranny for 575k :lol:

i sorry for people buying new cars now. they give us rubbish but calling big price.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 12th, 2012, 2:11 pm

love the comparisons acesinghit...think you can do one for the SUV market right now?

Postby Habit7 » March 12th, 2012, 2:31 pm

the mazda 3 has projector halogens lights, not HIDs

and the Veloster is just a faster Accent hatchback but in an effort to save money, they just put one rear door.

kkallicharan

Postby kkallicharan » March 12th, 2012, 4:36 pm

I keep track of this forum wen i cud....n so far i still tink the 2012 jetta is d best value 4 money. civic, mazda 3, corolla mite have better resale value buhhhh i tink dey jus too expensive for wat dey giving u. if i had 2 go a little lower in price (vs d jetta) id prob choose d cerato koup

Postby Stephon. » March 12th, 2012, 6:12 pm

kkallicharan wrote:I keep track of this forum wen i cud....n so far i still tink the 2012 jetta is d best value 4 money. civic, mazda 3, corolla mite have better resale value buhhhh i tink dey jus too expensive for wat dey giving u. if i had 2 go a little lower in price (vs d jetta) id prob choose d cerato koup

Anything is better than the Corolla if you wanna talk about value for money :lol:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 12th, 2012, 6:31 pm

worksux101 wrote:love the comparisons acesinghit...think you can do one for the SUV market right now?

lol....things get worse wrt suv's

the best value for money (i can't believe i'm about to type this) are:

tiguan, grand vitara, tucson, sportage, sorento, santa fe and the captiva....everything else is a waste. The markup on a rav4, fortuner, prado, pathfinder, murano, cx7, cx9, forester, tribeca, everest etc etc is very high especially the toyotas.

yet we have no one regulating the prices of these utes and poor middle-class people have to settle for used 100k crv's.

kkallicharan

Postby kkallicharan » March 12th, 2012, 6:46 pm

Anyone knows about that suzuki kizashi? if dey bringin it n waheva specs

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 13th, 2012, 11:14 am

kkallicharan wrote:Anyone knows about that suzuki kizashi? if dey bringin it n waheva specs

Coming in June (non-turbo).

Postby Habit7 » March 13th, 2012, 11:50 am

They need to bring the VW Amarok, they rel selling in Jamaica and I sure they will here too.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 13th, 2012, 7:44 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
kkallicharan wrote:Anyone knows about that suzuki kizashi? if dey bringin it n waheva specs

Coming in June (non-turbo).

there's a non turbo version? i am only aware of the 2.4L?

So what would be the expected price of a 2.4L suzuki 'mid-size' with awd? let me see, a 1.8 cruze @ 220k, 2.0 mazda 6 @ 290k, 2.4 sonata @ 365k....hmmm, i know LSM not greedy like toyota so I'm guessing around 350k special intro price? That is stepping into audi a4 and vw passat territory.

Let's see how much they would sell.

Postby cinco » March 13th, 2012, 7:56 pm

i saw a sportage PCS CRDI badged i thought we didnt get the diesel sportage?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 13th, 2012, 11:48 pm

acesinghit wrote:
worksux101 wrote:love the comparisons acesinghit...think you can do one for the SUV market right now?

lol....things get worse wrt suv's

the best value for money (i can't believe i'm about to type this) are:

tiguan, grand vitara, tucson, sportage, sorento, santa fe and the captiva....everything else is a waste. The markup on a rav4, fortuner, prado, pathfinder, murano, cx7, cx9, forester, tribeca, everest etc etc is very high especially the toyotas.

yet we have no one regulating the prices of these utes and poor middle-class people have to settle for used 100k crv's.

any chance of a breakdown with the pros and cons as before? thanks

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 14th, 2012, 7:48 am

^^in the past, acesinghit's reviews have been good. However, I'vbe found that as of late, his reviews haven't been as unbiased as they used to be.

Consider talking to yuh mod pal Narend...he would have reivewed most of thsoe at some point for Zorce.

Postby Stephon. » March 14th, 2012, 10:01 am

acesinghit wrote:mazda 3 @ 211k vs elantra @ 209k

elantra pros:
-more powerful engine (more HP and torque) and more fuel efficient
-6-speed transmission
-17" rims
-4-wheel mud guards
-leather seats
-electronic driver's seat
-cruise control
-side and curtain airbags
-reverse sensors

mazda pros:
-projector HID lights
-independent rear suspension

choice is clear :|

Is that honestly the ONLY pros about the Mazda 3? :x
And leather seats isn't exactly a pro in this hot ass country we live in, just saying.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 14th, 2012, 11:12 am

Buyer's remorse so soon Stephon?

Postby Stephon. » March 14th, 2012, 11:27 am

Well I didn't pay for the vehicle so I can't really have buyers remorse, but I'm just saying, the Mazda 3 is more than a corolla with nice headlights and independent suspension.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 14th, 2012, 11:44 am

What are the pros of the Mazda 3 vs the Elantra besides looks?

Postby Habit7 » March 14th, 2012, 11:50 am

Stephon. wrote:Well I didn't pay for the vehicle so I can't really have buyers remorse, but I'm just saying, the Mazda 3 is more than a corolla with nice headlights and independent suspension.

I told you that the Octavia would have been better, my wife got one (Mazda 3) before i could stop her, I remind her almost everyday

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 14th, 2012, 7:51 pm

Nah, a Corolla is a separate class of fail there Stephon.......at least the Mazda 3 comes well equipped with a decent interior and ABS :lol: